Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
180
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£21.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2005
The idea of the child in an adult's body (or adult in a child's body even) has been done in films before this, in films after this and will probably be done again in the future.
Whether "Big" is the best of the bunch is a pretty subjective matter but in my humble opinion it simply has to be.
Tom Hanks is simply wonderful as the 13 year old Josh Baskin and was quite worthy of his Oscar nomination. He brings an innocence to the role that is absolutely perfect, he never goes childishly silly and he never acts like a young boy pretending to be grown up, he simply acts like a 12 year old and the performance is incredibly realistic.
I think this is where this film scores over some of the other of this ilk, in that it concentrates on the golden times of childhood and doesn't become just a situation comedy. It reminds you of how wonderful it was to be 12, when the summer days seemed endless. It reminds you of how central your family was when you were young and how "best friends" really were the best.
Apart from Hanks there isn't really much room for anyone else. Robert Loggia as the kindly toy company boss is good value and Elizabeth Perkins as Hank's love interest performs with sensitivity. Special mention though for two fantastic child performers in both David Moscow as the young Josh but especially to Jared Rushton as Josh's best friend Billy.
It is sentimental, make no mistake about that, but I don't think it can be accused of being sloppy and I'm sure it will delight watchers both young and old.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2005
A wonderful mix of humour and sensitivity. Tom Hanks is undeniably great as the 12 year old in an adult body, with little peculiarities that you would expect a 12 year old to have in the adult world. The way he is oblivious to certain subtleties in how we interact like flirting. Although the progression of the story is not all that believable it is, of course, not supposed to be taken seriously under those terms. All of this film makes for good humour, and in some ways fulfils our childish desires, like running round the toy store playing with the laser guns, having a trampoline in our apartment.
It also of course tackles bigger issues and also questions certain concepts, like marketing. Does it really work with children, of course our man Josh has all these great ideas (he is a child) and he challenges all the ideas of the Right Hand Man McMillan, who represents the competitive, arrogant businessman who appears never to have had a childhood and understands nothing but what the figures and statistics say. In all of this Big Bad World Josh still manages to woo the woman with his childish charm and his reactions to sex, before and after, are the clichéd reactions of a child.
But the underlying story while he is having all this fun is his longing to return home, and despite a child's wishes he still cares about his mother who is desperately seeking the return of her son, believing him kidnapped by the adult Josh. The whole film is a build up to make us fall deep into Josh's world appealing to our child inside, and then suddenly he has to make the choice between his love and his family (his real life). Hanks' performance is touching, and an early indication of his strength in a lead role. A superb film and one I'll never forget from my childhood.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
One of Tom Hank's classic 80's films BIG now on Blu-ray with lots & lots of special features
scrap the old 2 Disc dvd set
get this all new Blu-ray version, which has both versions in new 1:85:1 High definition transfers with new 5.1 Master audio mixes
the new Extended cut which runs for 130mins total
has all the Deleted scenes & some outtake scenes inserted back in the Theatrical cut
apparently when Penny marshal when to check out the outtakes the quality were in excellent condition
Good enough for them to be given new HD transfers to be included with the Deleted scenes back in the film
so both Deleted & outtake scenes have been given new HD transfers to match the Theatrical cut of course
the Theatrical is only about 104mins
i don't mind the Extended cut personally i think it's slightly better version in regards to the storyline
the usual Theatrical cut is also Good, but it is matter of opinion of course
choose which version you want to watch
but nethertheless 20th century fox made a Huge effort with the HD transfers for both films
both versions have excellent sharp & clear picture quality for sure, No grain or Dirt much better than the old dvd
and the new 5.1 mix sounds excellent aswell
lots & lots of new special features
BIG BEGINNINGS- interviews with writers Annie spielberg & Gary ross talking about the script- 16mins
CHEMISTRY OF A CLASSIC which is about the casting of the film most of the cast & crew have been interviewed
Director Penny marshall, Producer James Brooks, aswell as Elizabeth perkins, John Heard, Robert Loggia
and David moscow (young Josh baskin) no new interview with Tom Hanks unfortunately - 24mins
HOLLYWOOD BACKSTORY:BIG which is 21min TV broadcast about the film
again all of the cast & crew from the Chemistry of a classic featurette are interviewed except for Tom Hanks
only an archive Tom hanks interview from 1988 is shown here
THE WORK OF PLAY- which is about the Toys in the film
DELETED SCENES with optional intros by Penny marshall, these Deleted scenes are in the extended cut of the film
and of course Audio commentary by Gary ross & Annie spielberg, it's the commentary from the old dvd version
plus the usual Theatrical trailer's & TV spots
incredible all this on 1 Blu-ray Disc, time to upgrade for sure
5 stars for the film, 5 stars for this new blu-ray worth the money
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2016
What a lovely film! We enjoyed every minute. Really different, beautifully done and so much fun. We rented it but will probably buy it as its a movie we would watch over and over again! Tom Hanks is brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a timeless film about a boy who wants to be big, or so he tells a fairground fortune-teller arcade game one night. The next day, he wakes up another ten years older, and thus starts a fun -- and funny -- mad-cap adventure as the now-older Josh brings his boyish enthusiasm into the realm of toy manufacturing.

His 9th film appearance after a string a pretty good hits, "Big" sees Hanks playing one of his most endearing roles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
Good dvd for a bit of light hearted entertainment. Funny and ideal for a pick me up on a Friday night. Although came out a number of years ago, it's a classic that'll make you laugh! Alternatively, a good Christmas/birthday present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
In my mind another classic. Love all Tom Hanks movies. Buy it, if by some reason you haven't seen it already. And if you have, buy it anyways so you got it in your collection. Great service and seller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
This film is just about joy. It was probably the first time I had paid much attention to Tom Hanks, and though I had seen Splash I thought he was obviously more part of an ensemble. This film really lifts the spirits and I don't think Tom Hanks was ever better. He was Oscar nominated but did not win but was beaten by Dustin Hoffman in Rain Man. Hmm. The best sequence is when Tom Hanks and Robert Loggia play a giant keyboard with their feet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
Tom Hanks is a fantastic actor. To take on a role where you have to play a 13 year old kid must be tough, but he is convincing in the role, and who can forget the giant keyboard scene? Would recommend for any family dvd collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2010
This is a great family film for all ages. A story about a boy who wishes to be big and finds that his wish has been granted overnight.

Tom Hanks plays a 13 year old child in a 30 year old body as he makes a wish on a fortune telling machine. From there, he has to put up with new challenges set before him in the adult world until he finds the machine again. Now I think that is a well written story with a nice combination of comedy, romance and a few memorable scenes. Very good performances from the main actors too, especially Tom Hanks and Elizabeth Perkins. If you're over 30 years of age, you trying acting like a 13 year old. I'm sure it's no easy task.

This 2 disc special edition contains deleted scenes, commentaries and two versions of the movie, the theatrical version and the extended version (which contains all the deleted scenes.) Mind you, the extended version, I think has some scenes that may slow the plot of the movie down or are irrelevant to the story but other than that, I like both versions.
So I recommend this film to all those who are fans of Tom Hanks and those who like sweet romantic comedies. In my opinion, this is really a one of a kind movie.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)