Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
88
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£18.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 June 2017
just as I remembered from my younger days
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2017
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
thank you a great dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Really happy with it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2016
A great film to watch love the story line, can't wait to watch any similar movies to this, if you ever wanna watch this movie watch it alone with no disturbance. It's a shame they don't make movies like this anymore. Brilliant movie, cherry forever haha
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 April 2009
Released four years before I was even born (1981), Porky's is a high school comedy that was directed and written by Bob Clark, and runs for ninety four minutes. The film stars among others Dan Monahan, Mark Herrier, Wyatt Knight, Roger Wilson, Cyril O'Reilly, and Nancy Parsons.

The film is based in Florida in the year 1954, and evolves around a group of high school students. Tommy, Edward, Mickey, Billy, Tim, and Anthony, come to believe (through their quest to lose their virginity) that they can hook up with a prostitute at Porky's which is a notorious bar. Things don't go as planned and after Porky takes their money and throws them out into the swamp, the group decide to get even with Porky and his brother the Sheriff through any means possible, while also continuing with their usual chaotic causing routines in school.

One of the main settings for the film is in a high school, but not the usual perfect lustrous high school you often see in today's movie, it more of a typical down to Earth average sort of place that far closer to reality and therefore creates a certain sense of realism for the viewer. It also address issues that very few teen movies these days would even dream of doing, issues such as racism, intolerance, and corruption, while they do take a back seat to the comedy elements of Porky's they add another dimension to the film.

Porky's laid the foundations for what was to become the standard for teen comedy movies that we are surrounded by today. The film isn't as polished as American Pie, and perhaps that's what makes it better, it's less perfect and is not meant to be taken completely seriously as a film, if you can see past a few errors and not expect too much, you'll see just how funny and at the time original the film was.

There really are some brilliant and unforgettable scenes throughout the movie, a few that come to mind are the snake in the toilet, the hard boiled but raw egg, and the shower scene which most would easily remember. Above all else however, Porky's works very well as a comedy, as while some of the jokes are predictable they are all extremely funny. If there was ever a laugh out loud film this is it.

All things considered I was actually pretty impressed with the acting from the cast, as they all delivered a hilarious but also realistic performance especially Nancy Parsons who played the brilliant 'Balbricker.' Not to forget Kim Cattrall and her role as Miss Honeywell (also known as Lassie for the way she 'howls' during sex.)

The biggest disappointment was in the lack of any special features on the DVD (any would have been nice), and also the fact that it offers only 2.0 Sound, instead of a more enjoyable 5.1 Surround.

I feel that Porky's deserves some credit for its entertainment value, sure it's pretty crude and even demeaning in places, but it is really brilliant at times and I often feel that this is a film that is often overlooked and judged unfairly. Considering it costs less than four pounds it's definitely worth the cost.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2008
My teenage years just wouldnt have been the same without Porkys. It makes me laugh just the same every time i watch it. The eggs, Cherry Forever, the shower scene, the headmasters office, Mike Hunt, Lassie, etc... are possibly some of the funniest in film history. Really! The headmasters scene is brilliant, i wonder if you can get outtakes or interviews with the cast yet? The film is also very grown-up about certain issues and makes you think. Not always going for the laughs it deals with the more sensitive issues expertly well. Brilliant. Classic.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2007
They don't make 'em like this any more. No, really - I'm not just being nostalgic. While this is a funny (and sometimes side-splitting) film, there's a couple of things that set it apart from the teen-sex-comedies of nowadays, American Pie and the like.

Firstly, it's set in a regular American high school - it's set in Florida, but there's a sense that it could be anywhere really - it's not a rich, glossy, place filled with what look like models, just filled with regular guys chasing after regular girls. You identify with these people. Secondly, it's quite open about the downsides of the time and place - the violence, racism and anti-semitism - and this gives it an edge which is completely absent in a film like American Pie.

But the comic setpieces are wonderful and totally memorable - the shower-scene must be every adolescent guy's fantasy, the scene with the black guy terrifying the life out of the guys is genius, the incident with Kim Cattral ("hooooooooowwwwwwwwll!") will have you in stitches, the battle-axe teacher is straight out of Hattie Jacques territory and played with brilliant eyeballing ferocity ("It's got a mole on it!"), while Peewee is a character that's at once completely pathetic and totally engaging.

This isn't sophisticated or witty, but it has a vibrant, lively vibe that's really engaging. Good stuff!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
A group of horny teens are constantly looking for ways to get laid especially Pee Wee Morris who's still a virgin,hilarity ensues as we follow them on a series of misadventures.Porky's is a true classic of it's type,full of many laugh out loud moments and a great script.Standout moments include Cherry Forever,Mike Hunt,Lassie and the legendary principles office I literally have tears of laughter rolling down my cheeks every time that I see this particular scene.Easily the funniest film in this teen sub genre one you'll want to revisit time and time again.Thanks for reading and I hope that you enjoy the film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2016
PORKY'S by U.K. Arrow films is exactly the same content as the U.S. blu-ray version
only difference is the region code which is region B locked &
there's a booklet included about the HD transfer which is by Arrow films
the HD transfer is excellent, much sharper & clearer than the old dvd version, hardly no Grain or Dirt
and the sound quality is only master audio 1.0 mix which again is very Good sound quality but not excellent
a 5.1 mix would've been much better
well the extras are the same as the U.S. blu-ray
and the extras from the U.S. blu-ray are carried over from the old U.S. dvd version anyway
which is Audio commentary with Director Bob clark some of it is worth listening & some of it is boring
PORKY'S THROUGH THE PEEPHOLE which is old retrospective featurette with Director Bob clark
and only few of the actors from the film, tragically Kim cattrall is not interviewed, 16mins
SKIN CLASSIC the actor who plays Mr.skin in the film gives his comments about the film-12mins
there's trailers for Porky's, Porky's II & revenge
plus there's also reversible sleeve artwork either choose the new 2014 artwork or switch around for the original poster artwork
about 3 stars for this new blu-ray based on new HD transfer & tolerable sound mix
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse