Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
45
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The film sets the 'Tone' from the out-set with a high-speed car-chase as 'Brent Magna'
follows instructions from those that have kidnapped his wife.
He is told to switch cars, the 'Ford Shelby' G.T. 500 Super-Snake' has been wired so
'The mystery Voice' can give instructions, and internal and external camera's so that
he can be watched at all times.
Being a former racing driver, driving this high-Powered Machine should be a piece of
cake for 'Brent'
He is joined by a reluctant passenger who just so happens to own the car, 'The Voice'
has decided 'The Kid' stays on-board.
They are given a series of timed tests, fail, 'Brent's' wife dies, the tests are high-speed,
a danger to both those on-board as well as innocent bystanders as police cars are
constantly in pursuit.
The streets of 'Bulgaria' become a scene of carnage as chase after chase occurs, it
seems as though the whole of 'Bulgaria's' police are on their case.
What is it that the anonymous 'Voice' wants in return for 'Brent's' wife ? hopefully alive.
Car-Chases, and Car Smashes Galore in this High-Speed, High Octane tense and exciting
Non-Stop Thrill-Ride.
(The film does not deserve all the negativity the press gave it in my opinion, I found it
most enjoyable, if a little far-fetched perhaps)
Great Picture and Sound Quality throughout.
(HIGH OCTAINE) Special Features include :
* Crash Cams.
* Destroying and Custom Shelby.
* Metal and Asphalt.
* 'Selena Gomez' on set.
* The Train Station.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
Ethan Hawke! Selena Gomez! Together at last! o_O

Short and sweet for this one. Just a shame that doesn't apply to this movie. An absolute car crash (pun intended) of a movie as former race car driver (Hawke) is blackmailed into causing general carnage in an admittedly nice, 'souped up' Mustang. I won't bother any more with the story, because there isn't one. It's just car chase. And repeat. And repeat. You get the idea.
Dialogue is truly risible here too. I wouldn't even go so far as to call it a script.
Absolutely mind numbing.

2/10 The two points are solely for some of the stunt work. Avoid. Avoid. Avoid.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
If only I'd read this review before renting... definately a movie to steer clear of! Switched it off after 15mins of terrible photography and terrible plot...
When I say terrible photography, I mean there are cuts every few seconds to differing angles making it a headache to watch.
ABYSMAL
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
The opening of film gives you "12 Rounds Reloaded" deja vu. Former race car driver Brent (Ethan Hawke) must perform tasks from the voice of Jon Voight or else his wife will die. He is reluctantly aided by Selena Gomez, our pudgy faced Mila Kunis. Her attitude is perhaps the only highlight of a film consumed with Bulgarian car wreaks. Brent drives a custom Mustang Cobra. They are classically low to the ground and after he bounced over the first curb, the oil pan should have been toast.

Brent is a box of rocks and only the smart talking Selena can save the day, and maybe her car that he stole. Most of the film takes place in the car, making the film a bad combination of "12 Rounds Reloaded", "The Chase", and "Vehicle 19." If fast driving, car wreaks, and chase scenes is what you crave, the film has it all at the sacrifice of just about everything else. Brent has flashbacks of his wife being kidnapped, although he wasn't there. The bruise on his wife's head comes and goes. The Shelby has bullet holes in the side, before shots are fired at it. Like the bruise, the passenger's side mirror comes and goes on its own too. In the final chase scene it sounds like he up shifts the car about 12 times. It had me laughing. And if you didn't catch any of that, the final phone call, i.e. the reason why Brent was selected should have you shaking your head.

This film is action driven "new school" style of entertainment. People who like plot, character, drama, or a shower scene can avoid this film. Might make a decent arcade game.

Parental Guide: 1 near f-bomb. No sex of nudity.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
Garbage is what this should of been called. Ethan Hawke is a great actor and the reason I saw this crapfest, the action is overshadowed by clunky editing, the story is overshadowed by the action. The acting is crape, even Ethan Hawke couldn't pull his character through in this. Jon Voigt is WASTED. Selina Gómez....NO NO NO!
So bad
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
'Getaway' is a car chase action film that released in 2013 to widespread panning by critics and flopped at the box-office.

The plot revolves around Brent Magna (Ethan Hawke) who in order to save his kidnapped wife must follow instructions from a mysterious voice (not that mysterious actually). He is involved in a car chase during the process.

The main problem with the movie is its main weapon, the car chase scenes, which are exhausting and boring. Yes, the customized Shelby Mustang car is cool, Ethan Hawke is more than watchable and the final twenty minutes are not that bad. These things apart, there isn't much. The plot is ridiculous and boring.

Selena Gomez (deservedly nominated for a Golden Raspberry Award for worst actress) is annoying and so is the mysterious voice of Jon Voight.

Courtney Solomon is a director who has made pointless cinema with a dull script.

My advice, Run Away from this Getaway!
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
Reviews stating that this is 2013's worst film almost put me off from watching this. But I still watched it, and I'm glad I did. I wasn't great, but certainly not as bad as other people are saying. The plot is a bit too silly, but the rest of the movie works well as a middle of the road action movie. Recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
That's about it really. Relentless car chases and very little story made even more disappointing by a very irritating leading lady (or rather precocious teenager) who was super-rich for some unannounced reason.
I was bored by the endless crashing cars after the first hour.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
Getaway is a really fast paced, action packed car chase movie. The 360 camera angles and first person driving scenes make for some stomach churning crashes that make you feel like you are in the car. Selena Gomez is absolutely brilliant as the brainy 'Kid' who unwittingly ends up in the care with Ethan Hawke's character where they have to follow an anonymous persons dangerous orders or else he will kill Ethan's wife. The chemistry between Ethan and Selena is very good and the dialogue is brilliant. Getaway is a brilliant heart-racing film you won't want to miss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
Former race car driver Brent Magna is pitted against the clock as he commandeers a custom Shelby Super Snake Mustang.

Taking it and its unwitting owner on a high-speed adventure at the command of a mysterious villain, he is racing against the clock to save the life of his kidnapped wife....

Having heard some really bad things about this movie, and it's devastatingly poor box office, I was looking forward to seeing a really bad movie, with a lot to laugh at.

Imagine my disappointment, when I found myself really enjoying it for all the right reasons.Yes the script and the story is rubbish, ripping off Gone in 60 seconds, Stolen, and Taken, and then getting Silvers Dark Castle company to produce it on the cheap, but its so watchable in a Mcdonalds kind of way.

Hawke must drive around aimlessly with Selena Gomez, because Jon Voight wants him to, and then finally it turns out that Voight wants a glowing box (much like the one from Raiders) from Gomez''s dad's bank.

That's the story.

The rest of the film consists of Gomez being the whiny sidekick you would expect from this type of film, Hawke telling Gomez to shut up numerous times and getting random video clips of his wife in peril.

And then the two bonding, and Hawke turning the tables on Voight, blah, blah ,blah. This ain't a spoiler because it happens in all generic action movies like this, see the similar 'The Call'.

But the chases are fantastic, and this is the reason why most people will see this, and there are plenty to choose from, especially the point of view chase near the end.

It's instantly forgettable, but like the Mcdonalds already mentioned, it was fun while it lasted.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)