Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
357
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:£2.49


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 December 2015
Excellent movie. I'm not going to give any details away, except to say it slightly reminded me of Silence of the Lambs. NOTE TO SELF - Must remember not to read all the way through reviews in future - its soooo annoying when people write a review and actually tell you the whole plot.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
This movie has one of the most exciting, tense and terrifying stories you could hope to watch. The acting and plot are superb.
You were in for a real treat here. .......until the last 20 minutes where the movie takes a nose dive into the ground. The movie becomes totally unbelievable. So far fetched and ridiculous it hurts to watch..
Who ever wrote the last 20 minutes destroyed all the greatness of the beginning and you feel well cheated at the end.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The finale of this film was a little predictable (though not entirely), but I really thought that it mainly highlighted the usually overlooked skills of an emergency telephone operator very well.

Halle Berry plays Jordan Turner, an emergency telephone operator with plenty of experience. She knows that she cannot help directly, she can only give advice and send assistance.
But the job is very frustrating, because the operators rarely know how the story ends.

Jordan is particularly struck by knowing that a call from a teenage girl being kidnapped ended in tragedy. So she is very keen to ensure that it doesn’t happen again when she receives a distress call from another girl, Casey Welson (played by Abigail Breslin) who has been kidnapped by the same psychopath Michael Foster (played by Michael Eklund).

The film takes you through the difficult job of keeping a panicking victim calm, giving advice to aid them being found, and dealing with other, well-meaning people who actually hamper the rescue.

Jordan does her own detective work in the end, but (in a not entirely surprising ‘oops’!) can’t call for back-up on her phone, so she and Casey have to deal with the psychopath alone.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2016
Good film, starring Halle Berry and Abigail Breslin.

Over the years there have been so much drama and fiction about crime, whether from the point of view of detective, criminal, victim, lawyer, forensic scientist, judge, jury etc. that I would have thought it impossible to come up with a new angle by now. Yet, ‘The Call’ does so, by expanding what is normally only a few seconds of the story, in which someone dials an emergency number and speaks to an operator who summons the police and/or ambulance.

In other crime dramas we hear the emergency call operator’s voice for a few seconds, but we never know anything about the operator, nor presumably, do they ever know what happened after they took the details to summon appropriate help.

In ‘The Call’ Halle Berry’s character works in an emergency call centre. It is a revelation to see the vast hall in which she works full of operators whose normal working days and nights involve taking calls about the most traumatic events, interspersed with having to deal politely with trivial enquiries.

That is quite something in itself, but to create a film-length drama ‘The Call’s plot has to go beyond what most call centre operators would ever experience. Some reviewers object to this as unlikely, but actually, most drama and fiction must tweak reality to make a satisfying story. It does not pretend that everything Halle Berry’s character experiences is typical for a call centre operator

Early in the film, Halle B takes a call from a frightened girl reporting an intruder in her house. Various things happen before an unknown man’s voice comes on the line to taunt Halle that she is too late to save the girl. Halle later sees on the news that police have found the unfortunate girl’s dead body, but not identified or caught her killer.

A few days later, Halle takes an emergency call from a kidnap victim, played by Abigail Breslin, who is locked in the trunk of her abductor’s car, where she has found a mobile telephone, not knowing where he is taking her. Halle comes to believe that the kidnapper is the same man who murdered the previous victim. She desperately wants to prevent him claiming another. Going way beyond what an operator normally does, she follows up an idea of her own that brings her face to face with the villain. The dramatic last few scenes of the film I shall not describe so as not to give things away.

Good acting from Abigail Breslin.

As for Halle Berry, I do not think she is a born actress, but she does not need to be, because she is a born film star. Don’t expect Meryl Streep-class acting but do expect perfectly good acting lifted out of the ordinary by her screen presence and natural glamour (despite her questionable hairstyle in this film).

I give this 4 stars rather than 5 partly because, while definitely worth seeing once, unlike some films I have liked, it does not really stand up to a second viewing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2015
a superb and tense, fast-moving drama with the unusual angle of the emergency services seen from the point of view of the call centre - presenting the unexpected dilemmas that come from being the person on the phone as go-between with huge responsibility for the potential victim of crime but only too aware of the limitations that circumstances force on them as a crime progresses on the other end of the line.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2016
This tense thriller is all about hair and lack of it. Listen girls, if you are a police operator you can't afford an expensive hair-cut, only a home-style 1980s retro perm but Halle Berry, with her stunning figure, wears it well. Whatever you do, never leave your best friend in a strange shopping mall by herself and don't park you car in an underground car-park without at least carrying a small pair of scissors in your jean pocket. Braids and beads may look pretty but they are damn useless in an emergency and learning self defence is always a good idea as the dead man with the foppish hair-cut and expensive suit will tell you.
Nail biting, tense thriller which keeps you on the edge of your sofa from start to finish. A happy ending though so no nightmares, just check the front and back doors, the windows and that your phone is by the bed and fully charged. (AH, AH, AH ...)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
I like to have some background noise when cleaning the house or doing other things so i always put random films on to half watch but this persevered my full attention.
its got a great story line and the acting is really good as you would expect from Halle Berry, but it is also well researched so you can believe that the 911 call actually happened.
needless to say my housework did not get done today as i was transfixed. Realistically watch it with popcorn and on a sofa!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2016
Never before have my wife and I been so glued to a TV set. We didn't dare miss a single word of this gripping film.
OK, the ending was slightly less believable than the rest of the film, which was all too believable. Forget your CGI, car chases, gun fights and gratuitous sex; a good plot, with brilliant dialogue, extremely well acted and shot wins hands down for us.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
Ace! :)
review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
Very intense and worth a watch at least once. One of the best thrillers out there that i have seen to date. If you like 'find the killer' dramas then this is for you. Halle Berry does an amazing job in this one and has you tearful at parts.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.49
£3.49
£3.49
£3.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)