Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
14


VINE VOICEon 20 October 2013
Coming out of post-war jump blues, jazz, and swing (Louis Jordan is here) is a collection of good time tracks running from 1947-1962. The inimitable Lightning Hopkins is in there too along with the more sophisticated Lowell Fulson holding up the Blues end which also includes the supper club Blues of Charles Brown. But mostly it's the West coast Black citified slick version of rock'n'roll with, as the compiler states, an emphasis on the the roll. And it's a whole very varied jumpin' load of fun. It's just good period pop that puts a smile on your face. Interesting to compare it to the radically different Rockabilly. Me, I find its aesthetic much more appealing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2014
Fantastic collection of great music you may enjoy either at home or while driving a round i personally enjoy while i drive around to verious parts of the country,Buy and you can enjoy the great collection also
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2017
It's ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2014
A very good collection of oldies, which is good to reminisce with. Good value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2015
Not what I was expecting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2015
GREAT FOR MY ROCK 'N' ROLL DISCO
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2013
A nice collection of 50 tracks from the American Aladdin label. Some well known artists such as Crystals, Thurston Harris, Lightnin' Hopkins and the 5 Keys. My favourite track, "Let me dream" Jessie Belvin. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2013
A definate Goodie if you dig Jumpin' R'n'B jivers, Boppers, Doo Woppers and even ballads, this is a great starter for all your likes and contains some outstanding Rarities too guaranteed to have your house jumpin' around. Roll back the rug and party to these classic sounds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2013
I enjoyed this one also, great blues double album, you could sense the glasses rattling behind the bar, the rising infusion of cigarette smoke and cheap perfume, the throbbing of cool music set against the glistening skins of dancers,
trying to forget the misery of derelict housing, high unemployment, the scurge of poverty, so they escape for a short while, away from the hot southern summer heat, and immerse themselves in the cooling waters that they call the blues.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)