Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
72
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.11


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2014
Despite many typos, misspellings, and grammatical errors, this book held me all the way through. The story, set in the near future, concerns Russia's aim to re-create the Soviet Union and include in it the whole of Western Europe. NATO has collapsed due to in-fighting between the EU and USA, British-US relationships are at an all-time low, and the bloated EU administration has continued to waste money on self-serving projects and ridiculous pipe-dreams while letting the European military run down to incapability. The story, told from several different viewpoints, describes how the Russians launch surprise attacks and steamroller across Europe, and then attempt to invade Britain. The ending was unexpected (not going to give it away), but realistic, and in the words of the old saying, there are no "old bold heroes". All in all, a good read which worryingly may not be too far from the truth given the current political situation in Crimea and the domestic issues mentioned in the book's Amazon description. I don't know whether the author plans a sequel, but if so, it should be worth reading.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2016
A good book. The names chosen for the various Polish characters are odd though - none of them are in any way Polish. Two minutes on google would have brought up some more realistic ones.

Still a good book though, very worth reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
If you served in HM Armed forces, this tale will be singing to the choir.
If not,it's a terrifying and hopefully timely call to arms to sensible Brits everywhere!
Of course,you could ignore the message of this book,but then you'd best buy a Russian phrase book too....
This work is also a page turner and a ripping good read to boot!
I recommend it heartily.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
Enjoyed this novel from beginning to end, well recommended. Fast paced and well thought out. Can you write sequel please.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Doom stories have been the mainstay of story tellers forever. Whatif invasion stories are just the latest incarnation of this genre. To be good they need to be believable. This book fails on this count. Reducing the world to a simple computer game always looks weak due to the variables needing to be reduced as well.
Basing the story on a Daily Mail/Express/UKIP view of the world does not work. As for Russia. A country that really has promise, but has always been ruled by cliques that never deliver.
The author should stick to the far future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2016
I read and quite enjoyed Christopher Nuttalls Ark Royal series. In these books while it was obvious he had groups of people he didn't care for I found it didn't detract from what was an enjoyable yarn. As he is also a fellow Scot I thought that when I saw "The fall of night" I would give it a go.
Firstly this book is set nine years in the future and relies on existing technologies so, it’s more of a war novel than a science fiction story. Secondly Mr Nuttalls dislike of journalists, Muslims, liberals, European governments, benefit claimants and ethnic minorities in general dominates the book. Personally I’m not much of a fan of 'right on' values, red tape or malingering but even I found some of his rants distasteful. If the book had been a good read I would probably have ignored this (it wouldn't be the first book I've enjoyed where characters express unpleasant opinions). However when, what amounts to fascist comments are repeated, literally, on every fifth page it becomes both nasty and boring. Some of the writing about women is also a bit iffy.
Ignoring Mr Nuttalls political views I found the pace of the book plodding and the contents unrelentingly depressing. I feel he has used over four hundred pages to set us up for a new series. I hope the sequels have more action and less venting of spleen.

If you are a Donald Trump fan with a dislike of Russians this book is for you, otherwise you may want to give it a miss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
I am quite a fan of this author, Mr Nuttall is taking over my Kindle. This particular story was a free one on Amazon. I would gladly have paid for it. It is a good quality work of military and political fiction (though it is scarily believable)
Set in the near future it concerns Russia invading Europe in a massive bid to take territory. With all that has happened recently in Ukraine I hope that this book doesn't prove to be a clairvoyants work!
The characters are likeable and clearly human and nothing is over the top, Mr Nuttall clearly understands geopolitics and the limits on what can be achieved by nations in the modern world. The story is fluid and flows well, it is not too graphic in the depiction of combat and does not glorify fighting.
It is gritty and engaging and certainly gives the reader food for thought. I recommend this story completely.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
....and for me a real taste of the future possibilities based on where we are and where we are going......

The premise of a Russia which has not changed its inner belief from the soviet times, and a europe grown soft and far too liberal for its on good (coupled to the west's failure to understand exactly what is currently happening with the global war on terror).....made the story uncomfortable for its closeness to what is happening in our time.....

An uncomfortable read - but also entertaining....

One note regarding the postscript - NATO was not obliged to assist the UK in the Falklands as the Islands fall outside of the Treaty boundries.....Article 5 states the attack must be in Europe or North America....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
Briiliant book. Is this a foretaste of the future ? Putin is in Ukraine right now. The EU and the Euro Zone is falling apart. Massive defence cuts all round especially in UK . Mr Nuttall has hit the nail on the head for sure. Look forward to reading more of his books. Definitely a book I would recommend to everybody to reads.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
Christopher Nuttall has written a major tour-de-force about a Russian invasion of Europe in the near future. The scenarios he presents are very believable, even to the point of perhaps being prophetic. Given what has just happened in Crimea with its annexation by Putin, an ascendant Russia is something that we should be aware of, and perhaps a little fearful of. "The Fall Of Night" is a cracking read and definitely food for thought. Well recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.73
£2.24
£2.17

Need customer service? Click here