Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2014
Despite many typos, misspellings, and grammatical errors, this book held me all the way through. The story, set in the near future, concerns Russia's aim to re-create the Soviet Union and include in it the whole of Western Europe. NATO has collapsed due to in-fighting between the EU and USA, British-US relationships are at an all-time low, and the bloated EU administration has continued to waste money on self-serving projects and ridiculous pipe-dreams while letting the European military run down to incapability. The story, told from several different viewpoints, describes how the Russians launch surprise attacks and steamroller across Europe, and then attempt to invade Britain. The ending was unexpected (not going to give it away), but realistic, and in the words of the old saying, there are no "old bold heroes". All in all, a good read which worryingly may not be too far from the truth given the current political situation in Crimea and the domestic issues mentioned in the book's Amazon description. I don't know whether the author plans a sequel, but if so, it should be worth reading.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
Christopher Nuttall has written a major tour-de-force about a Russian invasion of Europe in the near future. The scenarios he presents are very believable, even to the point of perhaps being prophetic. Given what has just happened in Crimea with its annexation by Putin, an ascendant Russia is something that we should be aware of, and perhaps a little fearful of. "The Fall Of Night" is a cracking read and definitely food for thought. Well recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
I am quite a fan of this author, Mr Nuttall is taking over my Kindle. This particular story was a free one on Amazon. I would gladly have paid for it. It is a good quality work of military and political fiction (though it is scarily believable)
Set in the near future it concerns Russia invading Europe in a massive bid to take territory. With all that has happened recently in Ukraine I hope that this book doesn't prove to be a clairvoyants work!
The characters are likeable and clearly human and nothing is over the top, Mr Nuttall clearly understands geopolitics and the limits on what can be achieved by nations in the modern world. The story is fluid and flows well, it is not too graphic in the depiction of combat and does not glorify fighting.
It is gritty and engaging and certainly gives the reader food for thought. I recommend this story completely.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
....and for me a real taste of the future possibilities based on where we are and where we are going......

The premise of a Russia which has not changed its inner belief from the soviet times, and a europe grown soft and far too liberal for its on good (coupled to the west's failure to understand exactly what is currently happening with the global war on terror).....made the story uncomfortable for its closeness to what is happening in our time.....

An uncomfortable read - but also entertaining....

One note regarding the postscript - NATO was not obliged to assist the UK in the Falklands as the Islands fall outside of the Treaty boundries.....Article 5 states the attack must be in Europe or North America....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2016
A good book. The names chosen for the various Polish characters are odd though - none of them are in any way Polish. Two minutes on google would have brought up some more realistic ones.

Still a good book though, very worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
Briiliant book. Is this a foretaste of the future ? Putin is in Ukraine right now. The EU and the Euro Zone is falling apart. Massive defence cuts all round especially in UK . Mr Nuttall has hit the nail on the head for sure. Look forward to reading more of his books. Definitely a book I would recommend to everybody to reads.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2016
yet another disappointing novel from Mr Nuttall. The concept is brilliant, the plot is thrilling but as always rushed and sadly lacking a good ending. so very disappointed, i thought this would be better that invasion 1950. But again poor ending
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
This is, without doubt, the worst fiction book I've ever read. The plot has some value but is frequently detracted from by the author's apparent obsession with rape (which is mentioned countless times whether relevant to the plot or not).

But the grammar and general accuracy is appalling. Tortured sentence structures, many typos, and far more incorrect usage of words than one would ever expect in a published novel. I was particularly amused to read of the 'Arabic men' escorted from the city "to the laminations of their women." Lamentations, perhaps? Rather than smothering them in plastic?!

The premise of the novel and the plot both have real promise. It was just the execution of it that was so disappointing, and I won't be reading another of this author's novels.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
Ok weak liberal europeans, crafty Ivan the naughty red who stayed under your bed, but is now taking over, and the odd reference to dole scum. I actually like Christopher Nuttall , but he can be a bit schizo. His invasion set in 1950s britain by Nazi German, i reread it at least once a month, and very much reccomend it i hope for a sequal. His outside context problem, pure genius, and am eagerly awaiting his darkest hour sequel detailing alien invasion and occupation of Britain.

But then we have the other books, a reality of weak liberals, scheming lefties, a soft bloated civilain population, think Daily Mail headline generator all wrapped up in rather a very weak plot. Russian once again becoming the Mighty Soviet Union, look crimea is of proof that, ignoring the rather long i dare say boring story of the Crimea Ukraine and Russia. And to get to us, we have a Russian Military a lot of bark with still not that much bite carving through the Ukraine, Poland, Hungry Romania, Germany France and so on.

Its a pity because he is my favorite author when he gets of his soap box and puts his great talents to use.
But yes I hear you shout but they are europeans weak and as bloated as your good self after that Friday pub lunch.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Christopher Nuttall is an excellent story teller. This one is even more current than when it was written in 2009 with recent events in Ukraine. With the way the UK and Europe are going - human rights, left wing movements on the rise, hatred of the USA, defence cut backs etc it is so easy to see the scenario in this book becoming reality.
It drops one star because of the numerous typos - many not even typos but completely wrong words used . It seems that the book has not been proof read at all. Pity cos the typos detract from the reader's involvement.
But we'll worth a read - and far too cheap!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here