Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
72
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2017
Besides certain details on the characters that made me a lil uncomfortable at time, a lovely story, very funny and cute, yet sad at the same time, lovable characters, great quality, lots of good effort put into it, even for non-Studio Ghibli lovers I'd recommend it, a lovely film! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Another good Studio Ghibli Film. Worth reading the backgound to the film to put it into context.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2017
So cool, very good for the Japanese culture understanding, funny and addictive... watched it three times already :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
The DVD arrived well packaged & within the time. I thoroughly enjoyed this Gibhli classic, it is funny & informative!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
I love Pom Poko. It's not really famous, but I discovered it a couple of years ago. I thought it was for kids, but it's a very well done animation movie about the struggle between nature and men, destroying forests and making wild life difficult to survive. I bought it as gift for a friend, and he really appreciated it as well!
Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2008
`Pom Poko' was one of those Studio Ghibli films I decided to leave to last in my purchase of the entire collection on DVD, mainly due to the majority of reviews here on Amazon, which generally consist of less enthusiastic comments in comparison to other more commercially succesful features released by this renowned Japanese studio. But having finally watched the film for myself I'm even more surprised by the uncomplimentary reviews, because in both style and story I found `Pom Poko' to be absolutely flawless.

The film has magic galore and an original ecological morality tale at its heart, which is in the same vein as `Nausicaa: Valley of the Wind' and `Princess Mononoke' with their man versus nature overtones, but `Pom Poko' is a very different animal in its own right- a raccoon in fact! There's also a real intelligence to the script, which is aided enormously by its boundlessly playful and at times poignant sense of humour.

The story is also extremely well plotted and has a sublime narration throughout that helps to make `Pom Poko' one of the most engaging Ghibli films I've yet seen. The narrator's voice and a couple of the other characters are recognisable as being provided by American actors, albeit lesser known ones than the customary band of A-list celebrities Studio Ghibli usually employs. But the characterization never suffers and being an ensemble piece I'd have to say that I think it's actually preferable, so that the audience sympathises with all of raccoon-kind, as they band together to thwart humanity's encroachment into their forest with increasingly inventive plans of attack.

Once again I'm moved to award five stars to this uniquely enjoyable Studio Ghibli release, not because it's as accomplished as the very best that Ghibli has to offer, but because in its own right `Pom Poko' succeeds and then some! Superb.
0Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
About the film.
The movie by itself is based on popular Japanese folklore about Tanuki (raccoon dogs) as they struggle against the urbanisation of countryside regions of Japan, especially Tama Hills. The director Isao Takahata is famous by his unusual approach to animation, he always experiments with something new in his films. In "Pom Poko" he uses at least three different styles of animation according to situation on the screen: realistic portrayal of animals in their real life, animated humans traditional to anime, and comical representation of emotions more inherent to manga. Nevertheless this strange blending of different styles brings unforgettable feelings of tragicomedy.
About the European Blu-ray ediion.
It's just the movie. Nothing more (we not count the trailer reel and Storyboards). It's a shame it does not feature the original Extra from Japanese edition - Rakugo about the Tanuki, on which this movie is partially based. Rakugo is a Japanese "one man theatre" where one actor on scene tells and shows long anecdotes about different comical situations.
Overall it's a "must see" for all fans of Studio Ghibli and Isao Takahata, it's one of his best works. Moreover visual design for this movie was created by Kazuo Oga, the man who established visual look for all Ghibli films starting from "My Neighbor Totoro" in 1988. You definitely will n otforget its stunning backgrounds and fanciful animation approach.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2009
Having the complete Ghibli collection people may be surprised to discover that "Pom Poko" is one of my all time favourite films. Although it has been deemed as a "let down" by some of the other reviewers, who quite rightly so have their expectations raised extremely high by masterpieces such as Howls Moving Castle, Spirited Away and of course Princess Mononoke.

However i have to disagree with many of there opinions. The film is both deeply affecting and visually mesmerizing, portraying the environmental issues we face in this modern society in a different way to the sinister and disturbing way that Princess Mononoke, for example, so clearly does.

I believe in order to understand this film, you have to leave all your expectations behind and approach this film with an open mind.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2006
It's not Spirited Away, but for likers of Ahime it's a good choice. Beautifully drawn with some absolutely breathtaking, wonderful scenes of glittering colour it's very watchable to any anime fan and many others too; children in particular will enjoy this. Moreover it's largely free of Disneyfication;it's cheesy but more original than most Hollywood cartoons and has a freshness about it that makes it accessible to more than just kids. The issues are often adult-I won't list them because such breakdown of this kind of film defies the entire point of it, and the characters are sympathetic and engaging, often humorous, while the plot is at times playful, at times sad and at times bleak and dark in a way that Hollywood just isn't. On the other hand, its greatest attribute is its ability to make one believe and hope that there is more to this world than meets the eye and that our lives may be touched by something outside our senses, by different experiences and by things beyond the realms of the physical.

All in all, a beautiful experience, albeit one that is full of gaping plot holes where the director's message about environmentalism isn't all that clear, and very worth watching, particularly if you can get it in Japanese with subtitles.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2006
For fans of Studio Ghibli's films, this is probably worth seeing. It's a wonderful piece of animation, and it has several memorable scenes by any film's standard.
But... it's long, and it feels longer. The creators have not made concessions to their audience's patience, nor do they keep a close eye on developing the plot at an even pace. This veers all over and left my initial enthusiasm unrequited by the end. The film is packed with cultural references which might make limited sense to western viewers.
If you found the narrative pace and odd-ball parts of Spirited Away or Howl's Moving Castle to your taste, you still might find this goes off the deep end a little. If you're looking for an introduction to Japanese anime, or Studio Ghibli, there are a half dozen other films in the 'collection' I'd watch first. Save this for when you know you've got the Ghibli bug...
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)