Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
327
4.1 out of 5 stars
Man On The Rocks
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


on 1 June 2017
A "song" album from MO, unusually using the same vocalist throughout -- eerie scandiwegian-style vocals coupled with established instrumental breaks, hugely melodic in a style we're used to from Mike, nothing really astonishing here, but a number of these tracks could easily be thrown out for covers -- Moonshine sounds like something from a Runrig album, and Sailing could have been a major hit for a modern boy band if given a slightly different production. Holds nicely together, unlike MO's earlier "song" albums, which were always very piecemeal with different guest voices. Has a very retro feel when compared to the non-melodic, over-repetitive, off-the-shelf music favoured by today's artists. All your favourite guitar tones, used by MO over the past 40 years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
You hear the me and you think 40 mins plus of multi instrument talent but on this version of the album we are treated to a fully vocal album of great tracks, great voice interspersed with Mike doing what he does best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
A brilliant C-D I'm very pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
I am very satisfied with the product - meets my expectations.
In addition very good communication with the seller and fast shipping
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
I think this is among one of Mike's best albums. The songs are different from his other instrumental work and the lyrics are extremely meaningful. I love to have this blasting out in the background at home.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2017
Brilliant , have played on over and over again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
It is excellent music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Great listening
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
This is really an album of quite straightforward pop-rock songs, albeit very nicely produced and with some occasional stellar guitar contributions from the master himself. It is often difficult to tell that this is an Oldfield production, aside from those brief moments, and this album is more likely to appeal to those who prefer Oldfield albums like Discovery, Earth Moving and Islands, rather than the more progressive releases such as Incantations, Ommadawn, Amarok, Hergest Ridge and TB. I think the vocals are well done but the performances are a little melodramatic at times - perhaps the vocalist was trying to inject some life or emotion into what are often pretty mediocre songs...

The opener 'Sailing' starts the proceedings with a catchy, if rather repetitive and simplistic number and this is followed by 'Moonshine', a song with a great sentiment and some beautiful guitar touches. Then after this we have three really dull tracks, often (as in 'Castaway') with irritating over-the-top vocal performances. 'Dreaming in the Wind' is the first track here that has a classic Oldfield sound almost from the very start and for me it is the best cut. 'Nuclear' is so theatrical it is almost comic. 'Chariots' has good energy and 'Following the Angels' is very heartfelt and genuine, referring to the Olympic Opening event to which Oldfield made such a memorable contribution. This track should have ended the album because the final two tracks tread the line between cliche and dullness and ultimately do not satisfy.

In my view, as a life long Oldfield fan, it would have been better for him to have made a long instrumental (side one) and then used 'Sailing', 'Moonshine', 'Dreaming in the Wind', 'Chariots' and 'Following the Angels' to fill up the songs on side two, in the time-honoured Oldfield fashion.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
If you are a Mike Oldfield fan then buy this, as his latest album is full of new material but with some classic Oldfield guitar. A great buy and well worth the money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Crises
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)