Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
326
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2017
A "song" album from MO, unusually using the same vocalist throughout -- eerie scandiwegian-style vocals coupled with established instrumental breaks, hugely melodic in a style we're used to from Mike, nothing really astonishing here, but a number of these tracks could easily be thrown out for covers -- Moonshine sounds like something from a Runrig album, and Sailing could have been a major hit for a modern boy band if given a slightly different production. Holds nicely together, unlike MO's earlier "song" albums, which were always very piecemeal with different guest voices. Has a very retro feel when compared to the non-melodic, over-repetitive, off-the-shelf music favoured by today's artists. All your favourite guitar tones, used by MO over the past 40 years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
You hear the me and you think 40 mins plus of multi instrument talent but on this version of the album we are treated to a fully vocal album of great tracks, great voice interspersed with Mike doing what he does best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
A brilliant C-D I'm very pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
I am very satisfied with the product - meets my expectations.
In addition very good communication with the seller and fast shipping
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
I think this is among one of Mike's best albums. The songs are different from his other instrumental work and the lyrics are extremely meaningful. I love to have this blasting out in the background at home.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
Definitely not one of Mike's best albums.
Thought material was weak although Luke's voice is amazing.
Instrumental disc was boring waste of time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
It is excellent music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Great listening
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
This is really an album of quite straightforward pop-rock songs, albeit very nicely produced and with some occasional stellar guitar contributions from the master himself. It is often difficult to tell that this is an Oldfield production, aside from those brief moments, and this album is more likely to appeal to those who prefer Oldfield albums like Discovery, Earth Moving and Islands, rather than the more progressive releases such as Incantations, Ommadawn, Amarok, Hergest Ridge and TB. I think the vocals are well done but the performances are a little melodramatic at times - perhaps the vocalist was trying to inject some life or emotion into what are often pretty mediocre songs...

The opener 'Sailing' starts the proceedings with a catchy, if rather repetitive and simplistic number and this is followed by 'Moonshine', a song with a great sentiment and some beautiful guitar touches. Then after this we have three really dull tracks, often (as in 'Castaway') with irritating over-the-top vocal performances. 'Dreaming in the Wind' is the first track here that has a classic Oldfield sound almost from the very start and for me it is the best cut. 'Nuclear' is so theatrical it is almost comic. 'Chariots' has good energy and 'Following the Angels' is very heartfelt and genuine, referring to the Olympic Opening event to which Oldfield made such a memorable contribution. This track should have ended the album because the final two tracks tread the line between cliche and dullness and ultimately do not satisfy.

In my view, as a life long Oldfield fan, it would have been better for him to have made a long instrumental (side one) and then used 'Sailing', 'Moonshine', 'Dreaming in the Wind', 'Chariots' and 'Following the Angels' to fill up the songs on side two, in the time-honoured Oldfield fashion.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
What a huge disappointment. Would i buy and listen to this kind of music if it was not Mike Oldfield? NO i would NOT.
Like other people have said, its dull, boring and quite simplistic. Chris De Burgh can write better songs than this!!! The Instrumental CD is even worse. The only reason i can think this was added was to pull in true Oldfield fans who love his instrumental work because how many other song writers create a 'karaoke' CD, to go with their album.
I can't deny that MO has written some great vocal songs in the distant past but he should stick to doing what he does best. He played Tubular Bells at the opening ceremony for the Olympics not 'Make Make' from 'Heavens Open'
For me i believe, Mike Oldfield, like most talented musicians, have gone through different phases. He has done fantastic music up to and including 'The Killing Fields' then going up and down hill. It would not have been so bad if he had done an album like 'Islands' where it's half vocal half intrumental.
I believe that 'Music of the Spheres' & 'Tubular Bells III' were very good albums but the last decent album was 'The Songs of Distant Earth' For me that album just feels complete, where it all seems to come together. But sadly 'Man on the Rocks' is very distant indeed.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)