Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 15 January 2018
Beck at his best. My favourite lazy weekend tunes. And has become something I use to chill out my little one since he was a couple of days old :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2017
Whilst Sea Change may be looked on as Beck's Blood On The Tracks, given its subject matter relates to relationship woes, Morning Phase takes the same flavour of gorgeous acoustic melody and moves it on to another level. Although Mr Hansen will arguably be known to a wider audience for earlier work such as Loser and Jack Ass, the sweet aroma of a peaceful daybreak permeates throughout this entire album, which is why it is by far his finest release to date. No wackiness or wordplay, just Beck showcasing his considerable talent as a serious songwriter. Morning, Heart is a Drum and Blue Moon stand out an album that seemingly has no filler. Just beauty and tranquillity.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 24 February 2014
I've had a rather on-off relationship with Beck over the years. His chameleon-like musical abilities mean that somebody unfamiliar with his work could listen to two albums back to back and not even realise that they were listening to the same artist. This means that the prospect of a new Beck album doesn't necessarily fill me with excitement; I have enjoyed plenty of his releases, but I've also positively disliked a couple of his efforts too. One of his most distinctive pieces of work is his 2002 album, "Sea Change", produced by Nigel Godrich, which, up until this point, stood alone as arguably his best record (the hugely creative "Odelay" being the other contender) with a dreamy, expansive, acoustic, shimmering character. Now, with "Morning Phase", his first album in six years, he has released a self-produced record every bit the equal of "Sea Change", the album that many fans consider to be his masterpiece. It wouldn't be inaccurate to describe this as a follow-up album to "Sea Change", such is the similarity between the two bodies of work, but "Morning Phase", importantly, still has a character of its very own and, although it doesn't have advantage of the element of surprise which made its older sibling such a beautifully refreshing listen, it is probably the better album.

There are echoes of Nick Drake, Neil Young, Simon and Garfunkel ("Turn Away", especially) and all of the hallmarks of the late sixties/early seventies folk greats in abundance on this album. I wouldn't want you to think that you were going to hear something stripped down and entirely folk, though, there is definitely something rather sumptuous and grand about "Morning Phase", an impressive vision throughout the set that takes the compositions to a higher level than any simply defined genre. There is also evidence that Beck has learned much from working with Nigel Godrich, as you can almost hear his trademark sound on some tracks and surrounding himself with excellent musicians such as Roger Joseph Manning Jr., Jason Falkner and Joey Waronker as well as a truly wonderful full string section conducted by one of the industry's most accomplished figures, David Richard Campbell (Beck's father) means that this is a magnificently arranged and recorded piece of work, featuring much of the same personnel who made "Sea Change" such a remarkable record. This project has taken him five years to write, record, polish, re-record and develop - it is an intricately-crafted labour of love and the amount of time he has spent on it has paid dividends; it's almost eerily perfect. Quite simply, "Morning Phase" is probably the best album Beck has ever made and, without a doubt, one of the finest pieces of work I am likely to hear this year.
88 Comments| 94 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2015
Just a fantastic piece of modern music. Beautifully crafted and perfectly presented "Morning Phase" is by far Becks greatest collection of songs that transport you into a peaceful and satisfied place. Escape the nightmare that is modern pop music, slap this record on and pour a glass of wine. Evening sorted.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2015
I am not a 'fan' and this was not an instant favourite.
Sure, the gorgeous string arrangements, steel guitar picking and the obvious nods to Nick Drake and Simon and Garfunkel were very welcome. But, the funeral pace of every track made it feel like a relentless downer that failed in its search for dynamics. So, I am surprised to say the least that it has went on to be my most 'played on repeat' album of the last few years. As he says , "just let it go". Give yourself in to its glorious torpor.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 May 2014
I am not a fan of Beck but was intrigued by the reviews on Amazon and comparisons with Nick Drake amongst others. Very impressed and will check out the back catalogue. The opening 4 songs is the strongest opening I have heard in years. Heart is a Drum is a favourite and Say Goodbye is a classic break up song. Shades of CSN and Lauren Canyon in LA with some excellent instrumentation and production.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2016
Atmospheric and lovely acoustic performances. I am not sure that Beck has moved on much with this album, but there are a few great tracks on this album. More of the same with the usual high standard of studio production.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2014
This is the best new album I have bought in many a years and has been added to "hair on the back of the neck" discs, It is beautifully written. I had not listened to or had any interest in Beck since Odelay...This new collection of poems was recommended by a work colleague who has similar tastes, Neil Young, Love, Bob Dylan etc, We were talking about Nick Drake at the time and he said have you heard? So I took a punt and it is now on all of my devices, the disc is in the car. The track "Heart is a Drum" has somehow managed to lift me out of a low period I have been through....The power of good music amazes me. I am grateful that the likes of Beck are able to put into words and melody how I feel,
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2017
classic, everything he does is gold
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2014
A high quality album. For those of us with musical memories stretching back to the 1960s it's no surprise that we look for influences from then onwards as Beck's work effectively invites us to do. For me this album invokes the spirit of the Moody Blues as found in their golden era from 1967 to 1972. Influences there may be but not ones that are of the slavish kind. There is clear progression and immersing oneself in this album is very rewarding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)