Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
55
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£34.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 January 2015
The first time i had this the clips on one of the cases had broken so the case wouldn't close. I have since sold this and ordered another set to replace the damaged ones.
AIRWOLF is probably one of the best 80's programs and it is great for anybody to own on a Blu-Ray collection
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
Another old fave from my teen years. The show has never looked so good. However, due to the inclusion of the edited ep and the lack of booklet for Series 3, Airwolf gets 4 out of 5.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2017
4.9 Stars, It's totally cool, but it lacks English subtitles.
The quality of the video and audio is quite good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2017
Remember this series very well when I was a child and my fiance bought it for me, so I could reminess. I have watched it and it took me back to my younger days. Any fans of the program back in the day, should buy and nd watch, will take you back on a journey of your youth.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2015
They don't make them like they used to. A big slice of 80's entertainment, straight from Mr Belisario. This is absolute escapism of the finest variety. Every episode is superb. Some sets look slightly dated, but the concept is timeless and it was a masterstroke to get Mr Borgnine on board. The theme tune is still, to this day, one of the best tv themes of all time. I know people say this is not the complete set, but season 4 does not really count, does it ? Not in my eyes. Buy, watch and enjoy !!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
Wash away your worst fears, based upon that rubbish Airwolf the Movie Blu ray release with this box set. Ok, it's not up to the standards that a modern audience expects if they've just watched the latest blockbuster action movie, but for Airwolf fans, it'll be the best you'll see it on release. It is not an upscale release from the previous Universal DVDs, it's a clear 4:3 picture with sharp high quality audio. Treat yourself and buy the Airwolf Extended Themes 2-CD and have an Airwolf marathon!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
As I write this I've only watched the first disc of season one but I feel that the quality of this disc is bound to be representative enough of the entire set as to be able to offer an opinion.

Well, it's certainly a good upgrade from Universal's previous DVD releases (all of which I own). Firstly, picture quality (viewed on a 47" full HD LED TV) is generally excellent, these new HD transfers, produced using the original 35mm film, are consistently sharp, relatively clean (there are still marks/spots here and there and some scenes are grainier than others, which is to be expected given the age of the material) with strong colour saturation - Airwolf has certainly never looked better.

The biggest let down for me though is not the lack of extras (I love extras but would rather the budget was spent on the HD restorations) but the sound - only 2.0 stereo! It simply lacks punch and I really wish a similar level of care was taken with the audio and we'd gotten (at least) newly restored 5.1 tracks.

But, should you buy it? If you LOVE Airwolf then most definitely, it's well worth upgrading and selling the original DVD releases (despite the disappointing audio). Although it may be worth waiting for a drop in price (it was £73 when i pro-ordered in March) If you're less of a high-flying fanatic and already own the DVDs then it won't necessarily add more to your Airwolf experience other than improved picture quality.

Now, as for the lack of season four - it's no huge loss. FF have already said they will be releasing it separately if you really must have it!

Hope this review is of help to those on the fence!
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
It's been a while since I've seen a complete Airwolf episode - probably over 25 years! This set brings it all back...and in glorious high definition! The picture quality is great - admittedly it can't compete against modern titles, but it looks for the most part crisp with varying amounts of grain and vivid colours. Much, much better than I could have hoped for.

Sound quality is average to good. The opening theme certainly packs a hefty punch (I've never heard it sound this good!), but dialogue can sound a little muffled or unintelligable in places (especially in the pilot episode). Given that the Blu-ray is encoded at 24 fps, at least there's no horrible PAL speedup to contend with.

Some people will bemoan the fact that it's framed in 4:3 and has only stereo sound. If that's an issue, then maybe 80s TV shows are not for you. For the rest who have fond memories of the 80s, there's no logical reason not to pick this one up!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2016
It's Airwolf. In HD. And therefore awesome. Even if it's 1985 4:3 aspect.

Of course, Airwolf was only recorded in mono, because back in the bad old days before anyone had a stereo TV, there was no point recording multi-channel audio, so don't buy this expecting to hear the music as never before, you will be disappointed if that is your intention - go looking for Airwolf Extended Themes by Jan Michal Szulew to get your music fix and you will most definitely not be disappointed there.

If you want to *see* The Lady in better quality than you've ever seen it before, this is the box set to buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)