Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
21
4.2 out of 5 stars
Barbara's War - The Middle Years
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.99


on 25 September 2017
I wasnt aware that a spitfire had a star board engine, the pilot referred to this in the crash close to the hall, Spitfires are single engined.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
Not a good read. The plot was boring and unbelievable and the characters lacking depth. Didn't even finish the half way stage as is definitely one of those books that the more you read the more you get cross with yourself for even bothering! Not for me I am afraid. It did not transport you back to 1939 as it should do, you could have been in any era except for the odd reference here and there to the blackout, food rationing etc. The main character in the book is silly and lacks any backbone and you find yourself actually disliking her and far from feeling sorry for her, which I think we are supposed to, she just makes you very annoyed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
This is the second in a series of three books. The war has begun and Barbara’s life, apparently settled following her disrupted beginnings, follows a new journey. Having promised to marry John, Barbara finds that fate has chosen a different path for her.

This book was a delight to read, as it is well written and easy to follow. I found myself wanting to read on and was engaged by the individuals portrayed in the story. I had not read the first book in the series, but the references made to the previous story were understandable and provided insight into Barbara’s background.

Although it was thoroughly enjoyable, the story was slightly predictable and would have perhaps benefited from some surprises – the ‘twists and turns’ of a story that keep a reader riveted to find out what happens next. I wonder if there might be more to the final book in the series, and if the story will be meatier towards its conclusion? That said, for those who enjoy an easy, relaxing and entertaining read, this is ideal.

The cover and quality of the publication are professional and attractive, although, there were occasional typographical errors, which is always a shame, but this would not prevent me from recommending this book as a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
flowed seamlessly from the previous book. the characters have been well developed and the change in narration throughout allows real depth and emotion. great ending can't wait for the next instalment
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
I really enjoyed this second book on Barbara's war.Would recommend it to others who enjoy reading about world war two.Can't wait for the final part coming out in September
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
The second installment of a gripping wartime family saga. Well-researched and fast-paced, Barbara must try to put her abusive childhood behind her as she struggles to make a home for her young brothers, embraces married life and the dreaded rationing, and looks forward to the birth of her own child. Her new husband is a spitfire pilot, risking his life each time he climbs into the cockpit, which adds to the tension.

A realistic portrayal of wartime Britain and well worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
First time I have read books by this author - cant wait for the last book in this series to be published - really enjoyed the books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
On going saga and I am really enjoying it. Looking forward to the final instalment coming out in the autumn
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
Yes loved this book something always going on. Good
for Barbara and Alex .glad of a good ending shame about Clarisa. But the story was mainly about .Barbara
And it turned out well for her in the end .
She survived the air raid and had there Baby can.t wait
to read the next book. I give this Book five stars well done.Fenella Miller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
This is the second book of this series it is a improvement on the last one regarding the grammar. The actual plot seemed hurried and false and too good to be true . Will see if the next book is any better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Barbara's War
£1.99
Hannah's War
£1.99

Need customer service? Click here