Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Sparks [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 23 October 2017
Low budget showed but still enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2014
This is a cheap comic book movie in that its low budget but its actually rather fun to watch, it takes various things from other films and mashes them up into something different and unique, the cast is pretty good as it was Ashley bell that attracted me to the film in the first place she is a great actress and should be in more big movies, the film has some pretty decent green screen effects and some occasional cheesy ones, its a bit of a cross between sin city and watchmen in its style but on a lower scale of course, the music is good and the cool end credits sequence, its certainly entertaining and enjoyable and is well paced out with some mild violence, for a low budget its done well and is worth checking out!
Good Blu-ray picture and there is a commentary and behind the scenes too.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2014
Ian Sparks (Chase Williamson) joins with mutants to avenge the death of his parents. He discovers that not everyone is honest in this age of vigilante super heroes. The complex plot takes some nice twists in this comic book adventure set in 1948.

The film reminded me a little of the Warren Beatty "Dick Tracy" film. I would say if you couldn't stomach those sets, skip this one.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs. No nudity. Sex scenes and prostitution theme. 3 1/2 STARS, 23 May 2014
By
The Movie Guy

This review is from: Sparks [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ian Sparks (Chase Williamson) joins with mutants to avenge the death of his parents. He discovers that not everyone is honest in this age of vigilante super heroes. The complex plot takes some nice twists in this comic book adventure set in 1948.

The film reminded me a little of the Warren Beatty "Dick Tracy" film. I would say if you couldn't stomach those sets, skip this one.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs. No nudity. Sex scenes and prostitution theme. 3 1/2 STARS
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2014
I had relatively low expectations heading into this one and it pleasantly exceeded them. It's a low budget production and won't be to everybody's taste but it has high aspirations and I thought it was enjoyable enough to make it worth a crack.

The film is set in 40's America and the plot is nicely convoluted, springing the odd surprise. Essentially we follow our main protagonist , Tom Sparks (played by Chase Williamson) as he attempts a superhero career, he has the tragic backstory in place but a seeming lack of actual powers. He soon lands face first in the case of a brutal serial killer and the subsequent chase sees him encounter various other heroes and villains in a noirish, hard boiled, detective/superhero flick.

You could argue that the film aims for the likes of Sin City or Watchmen and whilst it falls way short of those lofty heights, taken on its own merits I think it succeeds. The 40's setting and the retro vibe help to excuse some of the dodgier costumes and effects. There's the odd bit of ropey acting but on the whole it's decent enough to carry things through - there's a few familiar faces you'll spot along the way. It's got a relatively intricate plot come the end and a decent amount of action to keep things ticking over to that point.

Overall, if you're not expecting too much then I think this is good stuff, cautiously recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 24 May 2014
This is a film that people seem to really love or absolutely detest; I actually thought it had some very strong points and fell a bit flat elsewhere. It is a `superhero' tale and based on the graphic novel which tells the story of a meteor crashing to earth causing a genetically mutated group of people who become known as `the Rochester 13'. Then we have the story of the hero or rather `superhero' Ian Sparks (Chase Wiliamson - `John Dies at the End') whose parents are killed in an exploding car incident that was partially caused by the cops.

We jump ahead a number of years and Sparks has decided to go out righting wrongs and in the end teams up with Lady Heavenly played by Ashley Bell (`The Day') then they come up against a super villain and the rules of the game change forever... type thing.

Well all of that is pretty predictable and I quite liked the suspending belief as you swallowed their stories of woe. It unashamedly plays for the `noir' feeling and in many ways copies `Sin City' with its use of graphics and live action. However, it lacks the pathos of that film and is never consistent with the noir feeling, so at times it feels like we got only half the film that the makers wanted us to see - that may have been down to budget. The action is ok at best and sporadic and you will be amazed at a shotgun that causes no damage to the moving vehicle it is fired at, whilst killing the passenger.

Some have criticised the acting, but I think they had to play it in a kind of cheesy tongue in cheek way as the whole thing is quite unbelievable and some would argue that is as it should be. If you are a fan of super hero type films this will tick some of your boxes, if you are hankering for a noir then look elsewhere - if you just want some not too sensible viewing fun then this more than passes muster.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2014
Some good action sequences and a good plot twist ( also good visuals on blu-ray ) . But still underwhelming , this film seems to have gained some inspiration from other superhero films I.e the spirit , sin city and the watchmen . Not plot wise but the way it is filmed .
I did watch it all the way through so it wasn't terrible but at the same time it wasn't amazing
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2016
I knew this was a low-budget movie, so I wasn't expecting Marvel or DC style special effects or anything, but there were a few decent reviews on here and I'm a big fan of all things super hero, so I thought it was worth a punt. Sadly, I was disappointed. The front sleeve has the audacity to describe Sparks as a mix of Sin City and Watchmen, and anyone who has seen either of those movies is going to feel somewhat let down. The rear sleeve has one quote "Outstanding super hero thriller" and 5 stars. What!!! did whoever wrote that actually see it? Frankly, it was so bad I hardly know where to start. Confusing story line, poor acting, special effects that look like they were made on a Sinclair Spectrum. My son described it as borderline unwatchable, my wife fell asleep, my daughter said nothing, and I barely managed to keep me eyes open for the length of the movie. The one saving grace is that it's only about 1 1/2 hours long.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2014
Christopher Folino directs this film based on his own comic series of the same name. What's truly amazing about this effort is not that "It's good for an independent film" but that "It's good," period. Watching SPARKS, you don't realize it was made on a shoestring budget (Folino believed in the project so much that he mortgaged his house to make the movie), because it's as good as many big budget super hero films put there. I'd knock off a star because, like many films based on comic series, this one takes a few detours through multiple story lines, but the overall film is fun, sincere, and deeply entertaining. They don't make enough films like SPARKS anymore, so don't miss the opportunity to see this one!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2016
An odd one this. But still a good watch
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2014
The movie overall was OK, I agree with other reviews it is a little of a mix between the Watchmen and Sin City. Do not expect anything in the vein of the Marvel type comic hero's though. I would say that it is just about worth the purchase if you have not seen it before, but do not expect to much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Spark [DVD]
£4.99
Continuum [DVD]
£4.85

Need customer service? Click here