Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
129
4.3 out of 5 stars
Dream Theater (CD+DVD-Audio Special Ver)
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£23.97+ £1.26 shipping


on 27 April 2017
Brilliant Metal Group
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2017
They Progressively Rock!::!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2017
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
cd are been mastered so not original. all songs stopped after 1 or 2 mins playing. cds were without case and booklet is been fotocopied. Very dissapointed for the money spent. I will never buy anything else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
Musically brilliant, fabulous riffs and melodies all delivered with power and drama in a musically theatrical style with each member of the band pushing the boundaries of their formidable talents..... my only gripe would be that it doesn't go over 70mins. I'm sure there was room for one more song, but maybe I am just too greedy for more.
I love it though, as I have done with any Dream Theater release, but even if this had been my first experience of the great quintet it would inspire me to start buying the rest....... Enjoy and crank it up.....
33 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 September 2013
I'll cut to the chase,i've got all the albums but i wouldnt class myself as an 'uber 'fan,i dont spend hours analysing one album against another ,to see where they've repeated themselves etc,if i like it then great if not tough.

Its not a classic but its a decent release,in my humble opinion,the most immmediately likeable release since 'Awake' (1994) and 'Scenes from a Memory' (1999),to these ears its a vibrant upbeat release and it's a pleasurable aural experience from the first listen.

Both Portnoy and Mangini are excellent drummers so its business as usual on the drumming front,with Portnoy's lyrical input missing,i felt this and ,indeed ,the previous album were less 'dark',i like both experiences,so again no worries.

Star of the show definitely Petrucci,superb soloing,here there and everywhere,it would be fair to say ,occasionally La Brie's vocals ,waver and he does sound ever so slightly less than convincing,it happens.

Star moments,for me,plenty, the opening trio perfect,'False Awakening Suite' is big bold and cinematic,"The Enemy Inside" is an excellent rocker with stun guitar, whilst 'The Looking Glass' has a perfect commercial sheen,harking back to the early days.

Follow that if you will,well they do,with a superb instrumental 'Enigma Machine', its round about now that a couple of tracks dont quite hit the spot,namely
'The Bigger Picture' and 'Behind The Veil',thankfully they have another modern day classic in 'Surrender to Reason",next up another decent if not outstanding track 'Along for the Ride'.
'
So that just leaves the 'epic', well for the first 18 mins or so 'Illumination Theory' is excellent,possibly one of the best epic's they've done,then its just stops,the last couple of minutes at odds with the rest,it may grow on me,i'm not sure.

All in all its a pretty good release,far more immedate than the previous album 'A Dramatic Turn Of Events',although i suspect in the long run the former will be held in higher esteem,me? i like both. 4 stars
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
With their 12th release, Dream Theater finally make a self-titled album. This is the second album to feature drummer Mike Mangini, but this time he gets writing credits. The production is very polished which makes a change from the rougher approach on their previous 3 albums. An epic but short instrumental ("False Awakening Suite") opens the album which shows their intent; their most accessible yet. The tracks that follow are also short compared to Dream Theater’s usual standard (4-7 minutes). However the album’s closer, “Illumination Theory” is extremely long (22 minutes! Although there’s 30 seconds of silence on here with a hidden track at the end) which makes up for the shorter songs earlier on which takes the running time to 68 minutes. Just like previous album “A Dramatic Turn Of Events”, the album slows down towards the end with mellow songs; “Behind The Veil”, “Surrender To Reason”, and “Along For The Ride”. Overall, this is a brilliant album and a good starting choice for a newcomer to the band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
Very dense sound and rather cluttered to these ears. Memorable songs thin on the ground. Yes its Dream Theater but without Portnoys influence I just get the impression they are losing their way slightly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
Like any good prog album , you have to take your time and let DT get into you and then you will reap all the benefits of this well crafted delight.You can't make a snap judgment of this cd on just one or two listens and if you do then you cannot be a proper DT fan and I would view with some suspicion the reviews and reviewers that do.

Every song is strong,' Along For The Ride' is a beauty and 'Illumination Theory' is as the longest piece exactly what the band does best , produce a song that is epic in name and sound.

If you are quick to judge then you are in the wrong game and either haven't a clue about the band or should spend your time listening to Bon Jovi ! This is as ever a really good album, not a classic yet but over time (which DT are good at)it may well prove to be. One thing is for sure, this will sound great live, can't wait!
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
This is an excellent album from the Dream Theater jugger-naught and a more than welcome addition to their discography. It's been three years since the "volcanic departure" of Mike Portnoy in 2010. The last transitional album "A dramatic turn of events" boasted a great centre piece of revitalization in the band, and this latest "Dream Theater" S/T CD largely follows a similar line close behind it. Whilst here on D/T there are noticeably much fewer big epic-suites as a-comparison to previous albums, for the most part, the strength of the songwriting and dynamism of the musical components seem to be all there, so no complaints from me here in that respect.

The album starts strongly with a quality atmospheric theme in "False Awakening Suite" and the successive rocker "The enemy inside" which is a good enough one. "The looking glass" is definitely one of the best highlights on the album with a good sound, depth and dynamism surrounding it's many preludes and musical angles. The following "Enigma machine" perhaps falls a little short of the standard of the rest as the music abruptly switches quite wildly in places and perhaps slightly un-cohesively. "The bigger picture" (as of late) is another decent and OK part/ballad/metal song in-which overwhelmingly reaches a high mark, and "Behind the veil" is another fluid and organic contribution with a solid line and chorus; while "Surrender to reason" is another pleasing, unpredictable and enjoyable inter-ester. Finally, "Along for the ride" arrives and is perhaps a slightly un-spectacular, forced, and forgettable ballad, but it would probably pass the mark as it isn't a bad song.

"Illumination Theory" is the epic-suite mantle-piece of "Dream Theater" and is the last song present on the album. The start is anticipatory, smooth and inspired. Going further in, there are plenty of interesting ideas thrown about the place and are unified with strong transitional links and cohesion as we enter the middle part of the song. There are some touching atmospheric and tuneful passages to go through once we get to this stage. A heavier and compelling riff sub-section further-in is convincing and enjoyable with lots of extreme and unpredictable time-changes. Excellent lines, melodic corridors and solos punctuate the next few minutes of the omnibus. The grand sounding final minutes lead us into the closing stages of the CD where things evidently quieten down with a nice and beautifully touching piano prelude; though ending a throughly intoxicating and commanding affair.

Production, sound and musicianship is demonstratively good quality on "Dream Theater" and the band proves it, by a well gelled collection of very solid compositions, organic sound, and a nicely distributed input from all the band members:- which is pleasing. Occasionally, Jordan Rudess gets a-bit to self-indulgent with himself, (again) as he tends to from time to time, with the keyboard solos, and this could definitely do with a reign-in from time-to-time. (The unnecessary noodling however, has been considerably reduced so that's a great improvement!); but again good marks here in these areas too.

Overall, I have a positive feel about "Dream Theater", and likewise to it's predecessor, it is probably the most consistent album since "Six degrees of turbulence". The flab and excess twiddling has been largely (albeit not entirely), brought under control in "Dream Theater" and I believe a newly found focus-of-return to the songwriting is definitely something to be hailed. However, there are still a few patches of poor quality control and clunky musical transitions on the CD, which-in some areas for me works against it as one of the few set-backs on the entire album., The songwriting impression however, while still a-way off from their 90's stuff, is still quite a marked improvement on "Dream Theater" and I thoroughly commend it.

D/T ultimately sounds like DT, It feels like DT and, (in my opinion) works as a DT album could be expected to; and for it, suitably merits the self-titled name, even if it isn't truly good enough to challenge some of their other widely-acknowledged masterpieces.
66 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)