Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
15
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 June 2014
Until I read the enthusiastic review of this disc in Gramophone I had never heard of the featured artists (he's American, she's Puerto Rican). Looking at some of the accompanying notes and the slightly 'showbiz' photographs, and bearing in mind several of the other reviews here, I thought perhaps this was a case of 'opera-lite' : more than a notch or two above Katharine Jenkins and Russell Watson but somewhat below Angela Gheorghiu and Roberto Alagna. But no : it seems the singers' credentials are quite impressive, including, for example, having sung La Traviata together in a number of major opera houses around the world. Moreover, the disc is 'produced in association with BBC Radio 3 and the BBC Symphony Orchestra', so no dumbing down there. This has, in fact, given me a lot of pleasure and I am rather mystified by some of the adverse comments made by two of the reviewers : is the artists' singing really 'very 'mannered'' and Perez, 'weak and often reedy' ? Not to my ears, although their interpretations may mature as time goes by. The four Broadway numbers are, perhaps, more contentious. The three-minute version of 'If I Loved You' from 'Carousel' is a poor thing compared with the full, 12-minute sequence wonderfully performed by Samuel Ramey and Barbara Cook on an MCA disc; and with 'One Hand, One Heart' from 'West Side Story' we are up against the contention that opera singers, per se, should steer clear of singing roles in which the characters are supposed to be no more than 'tenement teenagers'. The other drawback to this disc is that there are no English translations of the foreign texts - not good. But full marks to the artists for selecting an interesting range of repertoire. And let's hope their marriage doesn't end up like Gheorghiu's and Alagna's.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
I saw Costello & Perez perform at Classic FM Live last week and was blown away by the performance and the chemistry between them - red hot! This disc does not disappoint, as they turn their hand to both opera and show tunes with equal aplomb - it pushes all the right buttons!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
A true delight listening to these two talented singers merge their voices in these selections. I have heard most of the arias live in New York and enjoy having the experience on CD. Patrick Summers' direction an added bonus.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
Very disappointing. Uninspired performances for the most part. The Broadway musical excerpts are by far the best of a hackneyed selection sung much better by others; and the recording is not particularly good, either. I don't see the point of this album at all - the fact that the singers are married is NO reason to issue it and the claim on the back that they are "America's fastest rising husband and wife opera stars" is ludicrously stupid - who cares? And against whom are they competing? The insert contains appalling badly written hack-journalistic notes full of trite quotes from the singers. A shoddy issue. I wish I hadn't bought it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
I was fortunate recently to hear for the first time the soprano Ailyn Perez in Manon at Covent Garden, which prompted me to download this CD as I found her to be the most exciting new voice that I've heard in a long while. It is with Manon that the CD opens and the passion in both voices does not disappoint at all. Most of the duets are from the core repertory of Operas from Manon, La Boheme, Rigoletto, and La Traviata which this husband and wife cover are among their roles. As an added bonus they also tackle songs from Broadway shows giving as much passion as they do in the operatic excerpts. I can only add that for all lovers of music be it from opera or musicals, this CD is a must, and let's hope their success continues both musically and matrimonially longer than another famous operatic duo- Alagna and Georghiou.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Stephen Costello is a competent tenor. If he adheres to the right (lightweight) repertoire, he will do OK. His wife, Ailyn Perez, is not in the same league. Her soprano is weak and often reedy, and she certainly should not be singing the operatic repertoire featured on this disc. Their marriage may well be a very happy one, but the vocal partnership is already under heavy strain. In this field good looks are not of themselves enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
I like the range of arias/songs. I am enjoying it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
For my wife, but she hasn't played it yet
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
What a wonderful new discovery in these young upcoming stars of opera with a faultless debut album of love duets from opera and Broadway. This real-life married couple present a seductive mix of popular duets from Puccini's "La Boheme", Verdi's "La Traviata" and "Rigoletto", coupled with some less obvious but equally thrilling duets from Massenet's "Manon" and Gounod's "Faust". All this counterbalanced with a selection of dreamy Broadway favourites from "West Side Story", "Carousel" and "Guys and Dolls", further showcasing their versatility and talent to the full. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
I got this for my Godmother for her birthday. She loved it very much. It arrived on time and was well packed, I highly recommend this item and seller .A++++
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)