Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2016
This is a convenient and incredibly inexpensive form of obtaining the full works of Lovecraft that have previously been published in magazines, anthologies and short story collections. Overall it contains a more than sizeable sixty-two short stories as well as the five more lengthy novels and novellas written by Lovecraft; most of which were originally published during his lifetime but several posthumously. This includes such famous stories such as ‘The Call of Cthuthlu’, ‘The Dunwich Horror’ and ‘The Colour Out of Space’ but inevitably involves the inclusion of many not so well known and, sometimes, obscure stories. In such a vast array of stories there is bound to be something that will appeal to most readers.

Having the complete works in one volume makes it is easy to see the immense influence Lovecraft has exerted over the genres of fantasy, horror and science fiction, not to mention his contribution to literature itself.

Likewise it is readily apparent that Lovecraft himself is clearly very influenced by Poe. Poe himself is referenced several times and there is actually a story, ‘The Outsider’, that is a direct tribute to him with Lovecraft emulating his style.

The main problem with having the complete works in one volume is that it probably makes it inevitable to read them in such a way. This isn’t, however, perhaps the most beneficial way to read and enjoy them. With them originally being published periodically in various magazines and collections it certainly isn’t the way they were intended to be read.

This is exacerbated by the way this particular collection has been laid out in a way that batches stories of a certain arbitrary type together. Although there are certainly some academic benefits to be able to contrast and compare them this means that the reader is more exposed to the same or similar ideas or concepts being presented in somewhat different ways in quick succession. It gives, perhaps, a false sense of repetition that would never be apparent in their original published format.

There are also a couple of the short stories which were clearly published in an episodic format. Thus you occasionally receive periodic recaps within a story that might only be around twenty minutes long. This can be a little irritating and disruptive but is merely a result of the changing format.

However, this is still a good, and very economical, way of enjoying a hugely influential author that was not truly recognised as such within his own lifetime.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
Like many people I came across Lovecraft stories as parts of "horror" collections. They always stood out from the rest so I indulged in this Complete Collection of his works alone. Glad I did!

For Lovecraft fans, each story gives details of when it was first published and what movies it may have subsequently inspired. An interesting bonus.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
A complete selection of eerie tales by the master of cosmic horror, this book contains all the classics you remember, a good few you probably don't, and a handful of annotations and observations baby the editor. A fine read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Really unusual stories by a relatively unknown writer, but worthwhile getting..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
just love Lovecraft
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
HP Lovecraft's jazz-age weird fiction has influenced decades of writers, filmmakers and even musicians. This volume, though, is really amateurish. The number of spelling errors and formatting blunders completely distracts from the frequently masterful cosmic horror. All of these tales are available free online (since they're in the public domain) or in more expensive annotated collections. Disappointing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
It's difficult to review H.P. Lovecraft. How am I possibly supposed to critique one of the greatest writers to have ever put pen to paper?

I can however, review this specific collection in one word: Magnificent.

For 99p, you get the COMPLETE collection of Lovecraft. His stories are short and wonderfully suited to reading at bed time, provided of course that you can sleep afterwards. This is for the lover of horror films, of poltergeists and ghouls. For those people who love the darker side of life or simply for those who love to be spooked.

It is a fantastic compilation that is one of those collections that I believe should be on everyone's bookshelf or Kindle library - at some point, you WILL have a guest who will pick it up and not be able to put it down. You will have introduced someone to a wonderful world and they will always remember where they first read it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
A spellbinding collection of really imaginative stories with the focus on the unusual, horror, fantasy and the dreamworld which most people will have experienced at some point.

The appended notes make for a greater understanding of how a few have made more of the tales of this much underrated writer and provide some additional material to seek out if, like me, these tales have drawn you in and left you wanting more.

As for value for money, it is a complete no brained - so many good tales for such a small price.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
H P Lovecraft writes the kind of horror story that fuelled a large number of movies that came out in the 1950s and 1960s. Creepy monsters, evil characters, hideous goings-on with all sorts of supernatural influences and ancient devil worship. Whilst I don't particularly like that genre I found his stories well written with plenty of imagination - for me his best one was about a German submarine that stumbles upon Atlantis, although the dialogue in places sounds as if it's written for a comic book. Overall I found this good value for money and reasonably well produced. Yes, there might have been a few typos as other reviewers have commented, but I hardly noticed them and they certainly didn't detract from my enjoyment of this collection of novellas and short stories.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
A great collection, one of the best styles I've ever read, I just can't stop! The facts at the end of each story enhance the stories greatly. Best 77p I ever spent! Well, besides that time in Amsterdam, but I won't go into that
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse