Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 7 May 2017
Everybody thinks that they know the Dracula stories from numerous film adaptations. Reading the original work reveals a much more complex, multilayered storyline that is really well written and full of psychological insights.

The same applies to the "Lair of the White Worm". There is a very interesting 1988 film version based on this story by Ken Russell (with a very young Hugh Grant and a fascinating Amanda Donohoe), but Bram Stoker's original version is different and, in many aspects, much deeper.

I have not read the other stories of the book yet, but I am confident to predict that they will provide a lot of pleasure too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2014
Bram Stoker is famous for Dracula but there are other works like Lair of the White Worm ( turned into a movie by Ken Russell) and Jewel of the Seven Stars which later became a Hammer Horror with Valerie Leon as 'Blood from the Mummy's Tomb'. These Megapacks are amazing value for pennies provide hours of reading in various genres. Search on Amazon and then try one - or two!
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2015
Amazing!! For less than the price of a coffee I have enough reading for hundreds of cups of coffee. Needless to say the content of the stories is excellent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2015
I loved this book. Not one bad story. Definaty reccomended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2017
Dated !! ( what did I expect ) sadly put it down having got bored.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2015
When you buy an authors megapack what you get is a mixture - this certainly is - some excellent, some good and I assure you some dreadful.
But for less than a pound it was still good value.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2017
THANKS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2015
If you've read Dracula, catch up on some other classic stories. If you haven't read Dracula you had better start, it builds a basis on which to enjoy horror and ghost stories. Of course ghosts don't exist but neither does Star Trek and probably never will.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 September 2016
Dracula is a good read, as are "The Man" and parts of others, but there are some stories such as "The Lady of the Shroud" where Bram Stoker can be accused of losing the plot. The last section of "The Lady of the Shroud" about the Balkan alliance is dire.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2016
I have read more modern versions of Dracula, so interesting to read the original, it shows how language and values have changed. I had not read the Liar of the White Worm before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse