Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2015
Perfect holiday read. Simple and fun easy read. A few laugh out loud moments and I loved the way it ended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
Enjoyed this book thoroughly, very well told and intriguing to the last page. Definitely recommend!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2014
Loved this book. Really different and the author is incredibly likeable and talented.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
I'd not heard of the author before but I heard an interview with him on the radio and he sounded lovely and the way he described the story piqued my interest. It's a really unusual plot that keeps you entertained and I found the author's use of language really good and very funny. It reminded me a bit of Mark Haddon. I've downloaded some of Danny Wallace's other books to read as a result.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Tom’s girlfriend has left, but she hasn’t left him. At least that’s what the note she leaves behind for him says. Feeling confused and angry, Tom sets out to find out where she’s gone. His path leads him to a Holiday Inn Express and a group of people with an odd way of life.

I’ve loved Danny Wallace’s previous books, including his debut novel Charlotte Street, however I struggled to get into Who is Tom Ditto? There’s lots of wonderful little observations throughout the pages and trademark Wallace charm but the story was slow and maybe a bit too surreal for the realistic setting.

At times, it does sort of feel like something Danny might have done in real life, like his Join Me book. The group of people Tom finds like to follow people, to experience the lives of strangers. Some take it a bit too far, others just spend evenings eating and drinking the same things as their chosen target. It’s a way to break free from the routine of everyday life and add some spontaneity.

Tom’s story is broken up by snippets of what seems like a newspaper interview, with the man behind the following movement. These didn’t add much at all and just slowed the pace down. Tom is also a radio newsreader and a lot of the time is spent in the studio. His job actually provided some of the funnier moments but it just didn’t quite all mesh together.

On a positive note, it’s refreshing to see a character suffering from depression where it’s not the main focus. He gets on with his life, even if he’s not fulfilled, he’s coping. Although it could be argued that the whole following thing was a symptom, a way of deflecting but I don’t think Tom got that into it. The distractions of new people did seem to help him.

Review copy provided by publisher.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
Great easy read. Good idea for the book. Love Danny Wallace!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2015
Funny, witty and all the usual Danny Wallace ingredients.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2015
Excellently written. Great story. Very funny in parts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2015
Loved it as much as all the other Danny Wallace books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
I loved this book.
It makes you wonder....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)