Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
32
3.6 out of 5 stars
Big Bad Wolves [DVD] (2013)
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 April 2015
Interesting cop/killer film that keeps the interest. Although the film is serious there are moments of gentle comedy. It is not easy to see how the ending will turn out and the story is different and holds interest. Well filmed in realistic locations (not always very scenic though). Good acting, well worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2017
What a mental film I don't understand how I missed it when it came out. Watch this it's very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2016
Ordered from this page in December 2015 only to receive the disk and find that the film only has Dutch subtitles, none in English. Deeply annoyed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
The police accuse Bible study teacher Dror (Rotem Keinan) of molesting and killing three young girls. His "questioning-questioning" known as torture gets recorded and uploaded. The suspect is set free, but the consequences disrupts everyone's life. Later the father of one of the daughters captures both the policeman and Dror with his own plans in mind.

One of the big plot holes is what was the CSI evidence? No DNA on the girls? Was Dror's place combed for fibers, hairs, prints? The film is made in Israel and is in subscripts. There are some attempts at humor in this torture drama, but the delivery and timing seemed off. I felt like I was being told a funny story by someone who messes it up.

The film was a big hit at the 2013 Israeli Film Academy winning many awards (not best picture). It is highly rated by critics and fans. The film lacked the big twist and gave us a small, almost obligatory one instead. While it copies some aspect of Tarantino, you can detect it is a knock-off like a fuzzy print DVD.

I think a better twist would have been if the dad was the killer and he got the innocent Dror to confess, the cop then kills Dror, the audience sees that the dad was the killer...then you go to the second twist ending as the cop is arrested for murder.

3 1/2 stars

Parental Guide: No f-bomb, sex, or nudity. Some blood squirt. The torture scenes were either from a distant or showed you the after effects...except for maybe that one thing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
Quentin Tarantino is quoted on the cover of this film calling it "the best film of the year" and after seeing it I guess I can see why he'd say that since he directed Reservoir Dogs which I actually liked--not so this movie. This is a hackneyed-hybrid, revenge/comedy that I just found too gruesome to recommend to anyone. Granted, if you were to interrogate the pedophile who you think killed your little girl like a Father gets to do in this film, almost anything would go. But its too much; too graphic, in my view. The Police who investigate a series of child abductions/killings come off as complete idiots and I found the ending very unsatisfying. Those flaws in the film were 'almost forgivable', but the torture scenes were just too much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
I had seen a couple of adverts and decided to purchase the film almost instantly.

The story is well written and well acted, slightly irritating that it's subtitled but still easy to follow. I feel like this film is the definition of a Thriller, definitely worth watching.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
A superb film. It has a great tone from comedic black comedy to out right torture horror. There will be a USA remake one day. Tarentino loved it. Cant say it enjoyable but its highly original. A story of a suspected peadophile and a vigilante tribe of oddities about to take revenge...... from a father suffering from grief and a policeman whose career is in tatters. Its goes off in places that you dont see coming.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 September 2014
A vigilante cop teams up with the father of a murdered girl and they kidnap and torture the man they think is responsible despite not having any proof of his guilt. This Israeli thriller is a superb, tense thriller with a great cast and moments of hilarious dark humour. While it might be a bit squeamish for some it does leave you guessing all the way up to the end with twists and turns throughout. Every once in a while a foreign film comes along that everyone should watch regardless of whether or not you like subtitles that puts standard Hollywood fare to shame. This is one of those films. An instant classic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
This Israeli film comes with some pedigree - trumpeted by Quentin Tarantino and written/directed by Aharon Keshales and Navot Papushado, the guys who made the excellent "Rabies" which is similar in tone to this. It didn't really hit those heights for me but is certainly an interesting watch with enough to recommend it.

The plot is threadbare - a rogue cop and a grieving father cross paths on the hunt for a suspected child killer. They both want a confession and a certain amount of vengeance. Without giving too much more away, it largely becomes a stagey three hander between these main characters with a slower, steady build up. Not necessarily a problem of course but don't go into it expecting a breakneck pace and action set pieces - it's a more measured piece than that.

It's all well acted, solidly directed, a little violent, pretty intense at times but also shot through with the darkest of dark sense of humour. There's a slight air of mystery about proceedings that may keep you guessing ahead of a bit of a gut punch later on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
If you like humorous torture scenes this could be right up your street. A suspected child-killer is kidnapped. Did he do it or not? A great twist at the end. Dark humour, a point break style chase down back alleys. Recommended
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Rabies [DVD]
£4.00

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)