Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
28
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
24
4 star
0
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2014
FRETTENING BEHAVIOUR is the best album Albert has released in a long time. And, in these technological times, it also sounds as if it is being played live, with few, if any, computers involved. The song choice is impeccable and the musicianship is well up to the gang's usual standard. Albert has just reached the big 7 0, but you would never know. His fingers are just as nimble as they were back in the nineteen sixties. Well done, mate. Keep it coming.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 March 2014
The name Albert Lee on any album is almost a guarantee of quality musicianship and this album is no exception. The opening and standout track Good Riddance (The Time Of Your Life) gets the album off to a cracking start. My own preference is for the uptempo numbers with excellent support from his regular band Hogan's Heroes, rather than the couple of slower tracks with a string backing - but that's just a personal preference, not a criticism. Overall, this is a great album, with the superb guitar playing always associated with Albert Lee and well delivered and heartfelt vocals.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
Every album Albert releases just seems to get better and better. Every track is a gem, showcasing his superb talents on
whatever instrument he has in front of him. Albert's playing is faultless, and perfectly suited to the song. The ability to play the most suitable notes and do so with a recognisable style is what transforms a guitarist into a virtuoso, and Albert shows with this album that he definitely fits into that category.
Hogan's Heroes' Gavin Povey, apart from being a phenomenal keyboard player, has shown what a great producer he is, too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
a great cd from albert and the band, having seen albert a couple of times before with bill wymans rhythm kings , it was great to see albert and hogans heroes live on stage what a night.he must be the best guitarist in the world. don,t miss him if you get the chance to see him
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
Can't believe any Albert Lee fan wouldn't like this album, we absolutely love it. Saw Albert and Hogans Heroes in a concert a few days ago, brilliant as always, just blew us away, front row seats ! such a fast paced show, some good old stuff and a lot of new stuff from this album, which we bought there and then and can't stop playing, some terrific stuff on it, with a bit of help from one of our other heroes, Dave Edmunds on a couple of tracks. The "Good riddance,Time of your life", "no one can make my sunshine smile" (obviously taken from his days with the Everleys, one of their first ever records and a brilliant version by Albert) and Glen Campbells "Better Place" are outstanding to name just three. When you listen to Alberts old stuff,, and lets face it he's one of the few remaining brilliant "oldies" around now, its great ofcourse but this new album puts him in a whole new dimension. Maybe we love it more as we've just seen him and are still on a high from that, but I'm sure if you're an Albert fan, you'll love it, especially after a few plays
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
I totally agree with the other three star review on here. Frankly, I was expecting more. This album suffers from some (at best) average songwriting, as well as some less than average singing (from drummer Peter Baron and keyboard player Gavin Povey), and feels like Albert's heart wasn't really in it. There are some really great tracks - Rodney Crowell's "A Song For The Life", Glen Campbell's "A Better Place", The Everly's "No One Can Make My Sunshine Smile" and a country take on Green Day's "Good Riddance (The Time Of Your Life)", but the rest are a bit below par. Albert's playing is always wonderful, and Hogan's Heroes are a great band, but both struggle to shine here. Personally, I think this album is missing the infectious energy of previous keyboard player Elio Pace. If you've yet to buy an album by AL and HH, a better option would be either "Tear It Up" or "LIke This".
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Latest offering from the most unsung of performers. Rated by all his contemporaries as amongst the greatest of guitar players, Albert has never disappointed. Wonderfully talented musicians of Hogan's Heroes make this a joy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
Albert Lee is one of the best guitarists in the world and can still blow anyone away, even at 70 years of age. OK, so this latest album doesn't break any new ground, but it's still a joy. Anyone who fancies themselves a guitarist should listen and learn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
I'm a great Albert Lee fan, so I am sorry to say that this album disappointed me. Albert's playing is amazing (as always!), but I thought several of the numbers were pedestrian; they wouldn't justify inclusion on an album by a lesser artist. Hogan's Heroes are one of the best support bands around, but here they seemed unusually uninspiring.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
Went to see Albert and Hogan's Heroes live a couple of days ago and they played most of these tracks superbly, have followed Albert since his Chris Farlow days and he just gets better including this album which I regard as one of his finest and for Albert Lee that say's a lot.
Ron Williams
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.49
£6.99
£7.49

Need customer service? Click here