Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 17 June 2015
If you live frankie, and only frankie. Thus is a must. Very swish and has a nice 80`s style to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2015
Great to hear new mixes all from the original sarm/ztt files - sound like they are mixes from the 80's
a great job by Blank & Jones - cant wait for Volume 2!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2015
Great album. Nice to hear re mixes without modern sounds. All taken from original masters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2014
The reviews are a bit mixed for this album and thats fair enough. The original mixes of these tracks are considered by many as some of the best extended mixes of all time. So any new versions have a tough act to follow and are perhaps always going to fail to improve on the original mixes from back in the day.
So should they have been left alone? There were a lot of remixes of these tracks released some time ago, mixed by Rob Searle amongst others. These were very much of their time created to be played loudly in the nightclubs of that time. These new remixes by Blank & Jones are different as they are very much of their time also, as long as that time is the mid 1980s. Now that is just fine with me. I loved listening to these songs back then and collecting all the different mixes. Over the years unreleased mixes from ZTT have surfaced on various compilations and surely by now the cupboard must have run dry? (or maybe not?!)
Obviously Blank & Jones cannot travel back to the mid 80s and remix these tracks so the next best thing is allowing them to use only the original master multi tracks to create these new/old mixes.
So what are they like? Well because only original tapes were used they sound very faithful to the original mixes and I think sit well along mixes made back in the day. They are not radically different in terms of the sounds/samples used so are immediately familiar to fans of the originals.
So to conclude I think this is a worthwhile project and a pleasure to listen to. I understand some will have issues with parts of the mixes and thats fair enough. There is a lot to like here however and he sound quality is excellent as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2014
unusuall selection but magic
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2014
As expected super nice 80s music in not standard versions, nice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2014
Using original master tapes - how could they go wrong? Yes there's lots of FGTH and other ZTT bands are available, but they could only use the masters what ZTT/Trervor Horn gave them. So that clears that up. I have no complaints about the amount of FGTH on this 2 cd Set as im a massive Frankie fan. Maybe a separate FGTH release would have been better and an EP of the other masters available released separately. Maybe ZTT/Trevor Horn said the release had to be this way, we'll never know. I do hope there will be future releases similar to this one as ZTT has so much more to offer than the 13 Tracks represented here. Frustrating that neither of the 2 discs get over the 70 minute mark - with one only 60 minutes, but again that might be due to what masters were available.

To comment on specific tracks - well if you know the tracks included you will know there were many remixes released and Blank & Jones had access to all parts of each tracks different remixes so really they are all made up of the best parts of each remix. Very well I might add. My only gripe is the use of the spoken words recorded at the time by the likes of Stan boardman & Pamela Anderson. I Do not feel the inclusion of using some of this audio where it was not originally intended works where they have used them. The Stan Boardman audio for example was included as extra unreleased tracks on the recent FGTH 'Liverpool' Deluxe release so were never meant to be used in an actual remix of a son and how they have used it does not work for me.

I would still have given this release 5 stars because of the delicate use of the original masters and trying to use the audio to try and be different as some may feel this adds to the overall remixing and re-editing of the tracks. But I did wonder why the release was given the 'EXPLICIT' tag and when I listened to 'San Jose' I found out why. B & J have used audio from Frankie's drummer at the recording session where he gives his and another memebr of the bands opinion of the song by using foul language that should have been edited out, why on earth they felt this audio was necessary is beyond me, and spoils what is actually a very decent remix of a song that was originally only just over 3 minutes on the album version when it was released back in 1984. Blank & Jones have explained to me via email that they felt it was relevant as some of the band didnt like the track and didnt want to record it and if thats how the band felt at the time the whole world deserved to know. So i have had to edit the song myself so it can be played in the car when my kids are in earshot.

5 out of 5 for the music and remix work (lose 1 star for including Peds vocal displeasure at having to record San Jose. Also price is a tad high so ZTT get their cut as well as Blank & Jones)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2014
It's as if Blank and Jones have unearthed a heap of authentic Frankie and other ZTT 12"s from the 80s.

My advice: Wait until the wife's out, grab a beer or wine and pump this thing through your 5.1 surround system on all channel stereo. You won't look back, believe me! Hell, Blank and Jones have even put in all the text titles for us, knowing a heap of us will do just this.

I can't get over how good this is. Long live Blank and Jones. :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2015
I must admit when I first purchased this, I nearly put it back on the rack after one listen but I have found myself playing it continuously. The issue as others have said is that none of these versions are as good as Horn/Lipson/Morley etc extensions from the halcyon 1983-87 period of ZTT, save for the lovely extension of The Power of Love. The reason I have played it so much though, is that they are all familiar songs mixed in a sympathetic manner (i.e. only using the original masters and no new overdubs) and as such - its virtually a ZTT greatest hits album (save for the omission of Close to the edit and P:Machinery).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2014
Blank and Jones have lovingly recreated your favourite tracks from the ZTT 80s catalogue (Apparently there's no Seal or later stuff as ZTT don't own the rights to this stuff). This is a remix project in a similar vein to The Beatles "Love" collection, or Michael Jackson's "Immortal" collection, in that the tracks have been exclusively remixed from the original sources, only using the original sources, and sounds available at the time of original production. It makes for a very subjective and interesting collection.

There's plenty here to keep the Frankie Goes to Hollywood fan happy, and let's face it, the bulk of ZTT's output from the 80s was FGTH, and certainly the most important so far as the commercial side of the business goes. Highlights for me below:

Starting off with Relax, which is pretty much where it all began, this mix is very good, mixing some elements not normally heard on most of the mixes.

Two Tribes is an excellent mix, combining most of the best bits of the multitudinous mixes from the time, again, bringing new elements to the fore.

Duel sounds completely different to any mixes head from the original sources before. Not as hard as Jewelled or Jewel, but subtle nonetheless.

Dr. Mabuse is sublime, scarier than any of the earlier mixes, which should be point surely with this track.

The Power of Love is brought to new heights of wonderfulness with the string section brought forward for it's own solo, which lasts nigh on 3 minutes, sounding beautiful. Was this Anne Dudley's finest hour?

A Dream Within a Dream is a Propaganda classic once again.

But, subjectively, why oh why go through Welcome to the Pleasuredome (probably the most overrated track here) for 16 minutes.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

So 80's Presents
£9.35

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)