Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
63
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.69


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2015
An awesome first album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
Great album, great Amazon services.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
👍👍👍
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
So refreshing to hear a band playing their instruments and giving that 60's and 70's vibe. Cracking debut album that doesn't disappoint at any level. Track by track review is as follows: A strong opening with single Shelter Song, catchy 60's fender lead throughout and a great Chorus 8/10. Track 2 is the album title Sun Structures with a booming deep beat and music that would hold up well n a Dracular Movie 7/10. The Golden Throne is the most catchy so far and deserves a 9/10. Keep in the Dark has a beat similar to Grahem Goldman's " Never let her slip away ". But for me, a slight drop in class so a 6/10. Mesmerise is another average song so another 6/10 but things dramatically improve from here. Move With The Seasons is the perfect song for me, this is so Tame Impala meets Brian Wilson, perfect harmonic beautiful sound which gets 10/10! Colours Of Life and A Question Isn't Answered are good and both deserve 7/10. Another Album highlight is the great The Guesser , so Sixties in vocals and keys 9/10. Test of Time has a melodic Chorus and deserves an 8/10 and the epic Sand Dance has an Arabian sound with a touch of Tame Impala again 8/10. I like the fact they changed the tempo storm the slow acoustic Fragments Light 7/10. Overall 9/10. Neil from Delta High.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Dynamic melodies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
Right from the start you get hooked by this gem of an album. If the Last Shadow Puppets had babies with The Bees then Temples are the result and what a jolly family it would be. This has been a great little find and was purchased after hearing Shelter Song on BBC 6 Music. The thumping drums, the catchy guitar riffs and the hauntingly beautiful singing will grab you and not let you out of its grip. The first 8 tracks could all be singles as far as I'm concerned which makes this is an 'absolutely must buy' for all (indie) music lovers.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
It grows on you. It catches you with a bit of a hook, you start humming it without noticing, then before you know it you flow from one track to another. Perhaps it's a nostalgia thing, for it sounds as if it's been dragged through a wormhole from the 60s. To the person who commented on the drummer. He looks like the boy in the UK TV series called Saxondale a few years back, which makes me chuckle, but hey 'It's called originality man... it's ALL about the music unless it's pop cr*p you're talking about. He plays drums in an original, and pretty brilliant, way, cut him some slack. Ace stuff!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
Temples is an up-and-coming indie-rock band. They have created quite a buzz with their early singles, in particular their very first single "Shelter Song" in late 2012. After a couple more singles in 2013, now finally comes the highly anticipated full-length debut album. If you are unfamiliar with the band's sound, think early Beatles-meets-the Byrds-meets-BJM, adjusted for the 21st century.

"Sun Structures" (12 tracks; 53 min.) opens with the afore-mentioned "Shelter Song" (1st UK single), with one of the more distinctive (if derivative) opening guitar riffs in a long time. Much has been made of singer-guitarist-producer James Bagshaw's love for the 'simple' song structures of Beatles songs, and it reflects in the opening track more than any other song on here. But in a sense, "Shelter Song" is a bit misleading as the album quickly becomes denser, with lots of reverb and at times a wall of sound, aided by a generous use of Mellotrons (check the title track). "Keep In the Dark" (3rd UK single) is a lighter tune, carried by acoustic guitar (and reminding me of some Oasis songs). "Mesmerise" (4th UK single) comes next, and continues in the same vein. By track 7 we get "Colours to Life" (2nd UK single), another stand-out song, an up-tempo rocker that is just one of several tracks reminding me in spirit, if not more, of Tame Impala's "Lonerism" album from late 2012 (just as Temples were starting, coincidentally). Towards the end of the album, just as the album starts to lag a bit with "The Guesser" (the weakest track on here for me) there are 2 more gems, the up-tempo "Test of Time", which reminds me of Oasis at its best, and the monster 7 min. "Sand Dance", with its Eastern influences and a 3 min. instrumental outro that will blow your mind.

All in all, "Sun Structures" is a fantastic debut album confirming the promise of the early singles, and then some. I know that we are early in the year still, but I'm guessing that this will be a strong contender to make the top of my "Best Albums of 2014" list come later this year. If you loved Tame Impala's "Lonerism", you will absolutely love "Sun Structures" too. Temples will be touring the US in a couple of months and I already have my tickets for when they come here to Ohio in late April. Can't wait for that! Meanwhile, "Sun Structures" is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

*UPDATE* (April '14) I just saw these guys live at a small venue here in Ohio and they brought a blazing 60 min. set, playing mainly from this album, along with 2 songs I didn't recognize (probably B-sides). Their last song before the encore was "Sand Dance", sounding even more epic than on the album. Wow, just wow. If you have a chance to see them, DO NOT MISS THEM!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.96
£7.09

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)