Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 26 August 2014
O love Sarah McLaclan's albums and have them all. Shine On sustains her craft as a gentle observer of love and life yet this album brings some more up tempo tracks which really suit her. Maybe she should some more like them.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2015
Im a big fan of sarah mclaclan, but this album just felt complacent and unimaginative...nondescript even :( hope for the next album that she stretches herself a bit more and creates a more contemporary sound that has depth and a little more edge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2017
excellent product arrived on time one happy customer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2015
It's OK. Not her best, nor her worst, and small price to pay for good music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2015
Excellent album, but slow delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2015
Another brilliat album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2014
Loving the new album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2014
I've been a big fan of Sarah McLachlan for, it seems, forever, so to get a new CD full to the brim with brand new songs makes it feel like it's my birthday. Again.

Wonderful, and a little more upbeat in places to some of her other material. We've not got the somewhat sombre but hauntingly beautiful "Angel" (my all time favourite - that might be because of "City of Angels") or "Fallen", both of which are well at the top of my all time played tracks, but all this new stuff makes the price worthwhile. This current truckload of tracks are very easy to listen to, and if you've not been exposed to Sarah before, then you'd not go far wrong to start here.

There's a new (to me, it seems) voice use in, for example, "Flesh And Blood", the second track which starts off somewhat rock and upbeat but then goes off at a tangent all of its own with Sarah's unmistakeable voice doing the high leaps and low dives.

The rest is really good, but, up until now, my favourites are "Surrender And Uncertainty" and a close second, Song For My Father" which ties with "Flesh And Blood".

As with all her material, there's a crisp, uncomplicated piano ever-present, and throw in the great lyrics you always get from this star, this is well worth buying.

(I almost bought this on iTunes, but Amazon's CD was cheaper by far.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2014
This album is largely in memory of her father and it shows. The lyrics on several of the tracks are very moving. Whilst I agree that nothing can match "Fumbling towards Ecstasy", the quality of the writing is still extremely good - most artists after 20 years produce average albums - not Sarah. Afterglow was, for me, the only dip in her collection, at a time when she was extremely happy, by all accounts. I am not sure artists can produce their best unless they have some angst to move them. Her voice is clear and as beautiful as ever. The only slight criticism I have is that, apart from her piano playing, the rest of the instrumentation backing her is generally fairly bland. Whilst this allows you concentrate on her voice and the words, I would liked more variety, again as per "Fumbling...." Nevertheless, a beautiful album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2014
I love Sarah McLachlan's voice and her songs. They have a haunting quality and this is a CD that stays on over and over. She doesn't seem to get much coverage in the media as far as I can see and she is definitely worth listening to.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Surfacing
£3.98
Wonderland
£5.58
Touch
£14.06

Need customer service? Click here