Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
3,188
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.48


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2017
My review of Sleep Tight, written by Rachel Abbott

This is the second book I’ve bought in as many months called Sleep Tight. The other is written by Caroline Mitchell. So far, I’ve only read Rachel Abbott’s book, which I bought primarily because I was going to a meet-the-author event at Oldham Library, where she spoke engagingly alongside two other authors. I thoroughly enjoyed both the event and reading her involving psychological crime thriller, Sleep Tight. I was born in Jersey and lived there for eighteen years, so I particularly appreciated that another Channel Island, Alderney, was one of the settings for the story. I’d visited Alderney as a child and it's now one of the places where Rachel lives.

I found Rachel Abbott’s style easy to digest, so I had no problem being immediately sucked into the story, which centred around Olivia’s problems with her husband Robert’s dangerous, creepy obsession with her. DCI Tom Douglas and his officers are set on protecting her and her children from deranged Robert, who is equally set on destroying everything to do with Olivia, including her children after she runs from him. The tension mounted satisfyingly and there are a few unexpected twists, but I’m not going to say more in case I spoil it for anyone. I’m looking forward to reading more thrillers by Rachel Abbott, especially as I have a signed copy of The Sixth Window on my bookshelves begging to be consumed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
This was a really good book with a strong and very clever plot. I really liked the characters and as this was a trilogy the lead character was consistent throughout. I like to follow a series but in this case you don't necessarily have to read all of them (or in order). This is one thing that frustrates me though because until you've read them all you discover this fact.
I don't have time to sit and read for any length of time SO when I had to stop, I had to re-read a a page or more to get back into it. This is the third book I have read by the author and I did find this a problem with the others also.
The story did just end and when I flicked the page (ipad reader) it went straight to now you've finished....... Write a review!
The thing is I'm not a 100% sure that it could of ended any other way so maybe I just wanted a different ending.
I do like to write an honest review but I would like to confirm this is a good book and I will be reading more from this author.

Karrie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2016
This book was probably one of the best murder mystery thrillers I have read in a very long time! The characters were really interesting, the storyline was excellent with so many twists and turns, what you're expecting to happen usually shocks you, as it's not what you expect at all ( & it was set in my home town of Manchester - not far from Saddleworth Moor?! ) I've enjoyed reading this story so much, that i've just downloaded the next book of Rachel's "Strangers Child" & I can't wait to get started!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
I would definitely recommend this book to those who like a mystery and police drama. I found I could hardly put it down .I worked most of it out as the story went along but not the end. That did not spoil the on going story though because you needed the conclusion and by that time you had become so interested in the characters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
This book has me hooked from the start, great characters and was addictive reading with plenty of drama and moments where I held my breath eager to know what was next.
The end was a total surprise and really was a great finale. Will be reading more of this author's books now as l loved they style of writing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
Having read the other two books, I couldn't resist reading this one. The author continues to develop central characters and leave a few threads around that you hope will be picked up in future volumes.
As before, the pace and plot wind together tightly and I found myself reading into the small hours, not wanting to stop. Well drawn characters, satisfyingly twisted plot lines and characters with depth and good back stories, what more could you want?
I recommend this and the other novels, they all stand alone but you might enjoy reading them in sequence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
This is the 3rd Rachel Abbot book I have read. Each one including this I just could not put down and read in a couple of days.The story is standalone, but it is nice to revisit the poiceman Tom, from the other novel and see how his personal stroy develops. The author has a cast of 3 dimensional characters and there is a really interesting game of whodunnit as the reader tries to guess who the criminal is....

Highly recommended (especially for the 99p I paid for the kindle version.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
First part (up to Oliviias story) is very good and keeps you guessing as to 'whodunnit', I could not put it down and it gave my imagination free reign as to what had happened and why. However, once you get onto part 3 it is very boring as you basically know what has happened and who the crime is committed by. It is a book of two halves indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
This was my third book by Rachel Abbott she is a truly talented writer another brilliant story keeping me awake till late in the evening unable to put the book down ! Read this book you will love it thank you Rachel for another fantastic read 10/10 xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2016
More from Rachel Abbott, if you haven't read any of her books and you like unpredictable thrillers that keep you guessing and on the edge of your seat all the way through, I would recommend her. She's now one of my favourite authors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here