Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
17
4.3 out of 5 stars
The Werner Herzog Collection [Blu-ray] [1967]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£53.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 April 2017
Bargain for whats included - I had only seen "Fittzcarraldo" prior to purchase so it has been an adventure. Great transfers and extras. Some films left me cold (Nosferatu/Heart of Glass) while others are genuine masterpieces (Stroczek) - recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
Superb, although some significant films are missing, unfortunately.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2015
A fantastic collection of powerful and inspirational films. From faithful documentary to triumphant depictions with subtle performances.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
This review is for Lucas. Due to the substandard transfer of Heart of Glass the set only deserves 4 stars. I haven't watched everything in the set, there is a lot of it, but this review is to counterbalance the lies and misinformation spread by Lucas in his one star review. There really isn't any clear winner here between Shout Factory and BFI. Your decision should be based solely on the films available in each selection. There are many professional reviews that note problems with overly digitized images in the Shout Factory transfers, but then again, the BFI set isn't perfect either (see Heart of Darkness). The extras and features are extensive throughout the set. Herzog's commentaries are a highlight. He has great anecdotes regarding on-set events, and is generally very witty and insightful. The packaging is perfectly serviceable. While it's not desirable to have one disc in front of another, I've never had any problem removing the discs. Overall, the package is great. This is probably the best looking transfers of these films you are going to see outside of a projected print. Please make an informed decision when purchasing this set. Read the reviews and comments carefully, but remember. anyone that actively censors descenting opinions clearly has something to hide.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
This is one of the best box sets I've ever owned. Granted, the packaging is kind of flimsy and the disc holders are unusual, but overall the content is what's really important; the transfers are beautiful, the sound is great, and the subtitles are poetic. I own the Shout Factory set as well, and the BFI blows it away in terms of picture quality. The only reason to get the Shout set is for the films not included with this release.

Bottom Line, 6 stars for the content and it's quality, 2 stars for the packaging.
99 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
Excellent item, timely shipment. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
I'm going to begin by admitting I'm on dangerous ground, for I haven't yet received the BFI set. But I feel the need to correct what seems to be a major fallacy in two of the other reviews on the site, i.e., that this will be of major interest to people without HDTVs or Blu-Ray players. The "event" here is the Blu-Rays - few of these films have appeared in the format and they're long-awaited. I'm in California, USA, and don't have the budget to buy both sets. I decided to spring for the BFI (as opposed to the Shout Factory) for a couple of - I think crucial - reasons:

1.) This set digs deeper. There's nothing on the Shout Factory! set that hasn't been around for a while in some form, whereas here you find extravagant rarities like "God's Holy Man."

2.) Still more important, both of the big Blu-Ray review websites identify the BFI transfers as brilliant and the Shout Factory! transfers as sub-par. Here, for example, is bluray.com's review of "Nosferatu" - first the UK, then the US version:

http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Nosferatu-the-Vampyre-Blu-ray/96015/
http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Nosferatu-the-Vampyre-Blu-ray/82210/

Here is dvdbeaver.com on the same film:

http://www.dvdbeaver.com/film4/blu-ray_reviews_61/nosferatu_the_vampyre_blu-ray.htm

Title after title, a pattern emerges. Although not every film on each box has been reviewed so systematically (the sets are too new), it is clear that the Shout Factory! discs suffer from excessive digital enhancement, while the BGI transfers reflect a greater respect for the source material (see also, reviews of Woyzec and Aguirre on the same sites). It's hard to be a purist when it comes to digital transfers, obviously, but In my experience, people who are interested in art films like these will appreciate the grain as a sign of fidelity to the cinematic experience. For the scrupulous critics of dvdbeaver and bluray.com (and for prestige labels like Criterion and Masters of Cinema), the more print-like the movie looks on Blu, the better.

Now, the packaging stuff referenced by the other reviewers sounds obnoxious. It would be nice if the BFI had put more attention into the housing of the discs and supplied a better booklet (usually their booklets are good). But my main interest is in the movies themselves (there are several good books about Herzog out there, including one or two by the man himself) and I'm very excited to receive what looks to be a beautiful set of beautiful movies.

UPDATE JANUARY 7th: Note that the BFI set - not the Shout Factory set - topped dvdbeaver's critics poll for Blu-Ray of the year: http://www.dvdbeaver.com/Blu-ray_and_DVD_of_the_Year_2014.htm#blu-ray-of-the-year
1818 Comments| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
As a long time follower of Herzog this is pure manna from heaven.
Beautifully packaged by BFI it is surely a welcome collectors item, and a bargain to boot!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
Superb collection - wonderful transfers. As ever, well done BFI!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
My grandson loved it
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)