Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
9
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2014
Penelope is summoned to London for a season against er wishes. She would much rather stay behind and with her botany specimens. Drake is told to take Penelope under his wing for her first season. Even though Penelope is described as social inept, Drake is still intrigued.
Drake tells her he needs a wife of social importance and should look for a suitor elsewhere. He regrets it immediately and sets out to win her heart.
I enjoyed reading as the spark of sexual tension turned into a inferno of desire and the discovery of true love.The book was a combination of steamy romance and old fashioned comedic romp. You will not be disappointed with The Duke's quandary.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
Really enjoyed this easy to read story. The characters were fun loving and Penelope allows us to see an independent young women of the times being able to think for herself. I like both Penelope and drake.

A nice lighthearted read,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
Great story, able to hold your attention, different from the usual romance. The author shows great skills when developing the main and sub characters.

Loved the people involved, interesting, they were so real,human with flaws and you felt great empathy for the hero and heroine.
Loved the humour between the main leads in the story, the alpha male who tried but,could not help himself, he eventually surcomes to our leading ladies charms , her innocence, yet she had strength he admired. Loved it!

You should buy this book, it's easy to read and pure escapism, most uplifting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
this is the second book i have read in the entangled scandalous series and i have to say it is the best the humour will have u laughing out loud and the romance will tug your heart strings this book was engrossing and i hope the next book will be as well written as this one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
I liked it because Penelope wore glasses and had a brain and managed to attract the alpha male who was also really lovely. A good book filled with characters that were grey rather than black and white.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
Fairly enjoyable read, characters were ok, heroine was a bit annoying. Story bit far fetched. It was a disappointment after how good the elusive wife was. Shame this was not as well written and characters not as believable. Felt a bit rushed. Not bad though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
I wasn't sure I had read any books by this author but her name was familiar to me so decided to dive in. Part of the way into the book, there is a character that I found very intriguing - Lord Coventry - so decided to search out his story only to realize I had read it. It's The Elusive Wife (Marriage Mart Mayhem Series Book 1) and I did enjoy that book a lot.

In this book, we have Lord Coventry's friend Drake, now a duke since his father's passing, realizing it's time he chose a bride. He wants the "purrfect" lady partly because his father chose a marriage based on love and Drake's mother turned out to be somewhat of a hoyden. Drake doesn't want to make that mistake so sets his eye on a lovely lady he believes will suit him. But, when fate lands the cute little bluestocking, Penelope Clayton, in his arms - he may not have much to say about the matter.

His mother has taken Penelope under her wing for The Season hoping to help Penelope find a husband. But... Penelope's way more interested in learning about plants and writing papers on her discoveries under a male pseudonym. Yes, it's all been done before, but here we have it again in this story. One of my favorite storylines is that of the bluestocking and the handsome hero who all the ladies are after. I thought this story was fairly one dimensional and not nearly as well written as "The Elusive Wife."

Still, I pushed forward to the end and found some enjoyment out of the book. All in all, Drake was more interesting in "The Elusive Wife" and not enough was made of Penelope's character. She was just "too" much of everything - a bit too clumsy, a bit too awkward, a bit too muddy. I would give this book 2 1/2 stars, but upped it to 3 stars for the review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
A well written book a good read if you like historical light romantic stories that you can get lost in and escape
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)