Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
16
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2014
Following the immaculate series of the expanded 2CD+DVD reissues of last year, Edsel now releases the ultimate career-spanning anthology of the gorgeous Belinda Carlisle, one of the most iconic figures in recent pop culture. Simply titled "The Anthology", it collects 3 CDs and 2 DVDs of hits and rarities from BC's solo material, all the way from 1986's "Mad about you" to 2014's "Goodbye just go". The first 2 CDs are devoted to all singles released from her solo debut "Belinda" up to her last English studio album "A woman and a man". Every single hit song is present, including those that are absent from recent compilation "The Collection" (ie. "I feel the magic", "Always breaking my heart", "Lay down your arms"). CD 3 features 5 non-LP tracks, among which "Dancing in the city" from the film "Burglar", and "I won't say (I'm in love)" from Disney's "Hercules" (unfortunately, the much sought-after "In my wildest dreams" is not included, as a master for the track is still untraceable), and a live set from Tokyo in 2013. DVD 1 offers the promo videos to all singles, and DVD 2 features promo material and live performances on various UK TV programs.

Presented in a glossy 48-page 12"x12" hardback casebound book, featuring an array of pictures (she has had stunning photos taken over the years being the beauty that she is!), it is an absolute must-have item for BC lovers, guaranteed to become a true collectible (a possibility that makes its high price seem rather reasonable considering it is such a high quality product). Regardless of who both "The Anthology" and "The Collection" are aimed at, both items are a true delight for any BC fan. Previous compilations failed to present nothing more than a list of hits and rather poor booklets. This time around everything has been well looked after, doing justice both to her music and image. Belinda has been consistently delivering exciting songs and videos from 1987-1997, and both of these releases showcase her immensely successful trademark pop-rock profile, back in the days when pop music was meaningful, and pop artists were worshipped by their fans. She may have been relatively quiet since the late '90s, however, in recent years she seems to slowly finding her way back to pop music. I wish that these retrospective collections mark a very welcome return with new material.
review image review image review image
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
I just received mine in the mail today, I'm in the book (my real name), and everything about this is stellar. Not only are there a more than generous amount of "hits" and fan favorites on here, but all the songs are beautifully remastered. The dvds are fun too. It's great to legally own all the videos, plus interviews, TV appearances, and bonus features of album ads! Also, the book is beautiful! Great photos from throughout her career, commentary, and a long list of fans who pre-ordered this anthology. Belinda and the Demon Music Group, you're the best!!! Thanks for recognizing this star in a truly classy and deserving way.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
The BEST Belinda Carlisle compilation ever released to be sure. After so many years to finally have all of the very hard to obtain video clips, rare tracks, remixes, fabulous hits and new tracks together and in excellent quality is a dream come true for long time Belinda Carlisle fans. The large format LP size photo book is truly beautiful and very high quality as well with some amazing images of Belinda over the years. Well worth the price indeed! Great packing as well for international shipment. Thanks Belinda and thanks Amazon!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
Belinda Carlisle has had a fair few Greatest Hits or budget compilation releases over the years but due to the politics of different labels owning different songs there has never been a definitive collection. Until now. CD1 and 2 cover all the hits (Heaven Is A Place On Earth, Leave A Light On, We Want The Same Thing, Circle In The Sand, In Too Deep, Live Your Life Be Free, the not quite hits (Lay Down Your Arms (making its first ever appearance on a Belinda compilation), All God's Children), the singles that were released only in the U.S. (I Feel The Magic, Band Of Gold, I Feel Free) and the intended hits that never made it past promotional release/ planned release (I Plead Insanity, A Prayer For Everyone, Valentine). Even a track from her 2007 French album Voila makes an appearance (ironically in English format! - I Still Love Him). The quality of the songs is undeniably great and makes you question why she doesn't continue to record. A minor niggle is that it is the album rather than single versions of In Too Deep and Always Breaking My Heart on this release (the version of 2013's Sun on here is also the full length version rather than the radio edit, but given this is the first time the full length version has been released in the UK we can overlook that!).

CD3 is a slightly disappointing mash of rarities and live tracks. The rarities include two soundtrack singles (Dancing In The City and I Won't Say (I'm In Love) and three other tracks - all which have been previously released but are hard to track down. Unfortunately there are no rare unreleased recordings that truly warrant the 'rarity' tag.The rest of the CD, a live recording from a Tokyo 2013 gig is largely filler given Carlisle released a live CD/DVD only last year containing almost all of these songs from a different gig. The only notable inclusion is Emotional Highway.

DVD1 contains all the videos (bar I Won't Say (I'm In Love) which could not be cleared due to it containing Disney excerpts) in an almost chronological order (another minor niggle in that Love In The Key Of C and California are the wrong way round). DVD2 contains an interesting mash of clips from BBC appearances (including unfortunately a lot of mimed performances) though it all seems a bit too mish mash for an Anthology.

The book itself is beautiful - presented in a 12"x12" hardback book with lots of large photos of Belinda. However, this is where the product really falls down in that it only covers imagery from Carlisle's albums that were owned by Demon Music Group at the time (Heaven On Earth, Runaway Horses, Live Your Life Be Free, Real and the A Place On Earth era). Unfortunately there is nothing from Belinda's early years (Belinda), later years (Voila) or any of the stunning photos from the A Woman And A Man era which is a real shame and makes this product seem a little rushed.

The price will out off casual fans (who would be better off with The Collection, but hardcore fans should have plenty to be happy about here. The real hardcore fans might be a little disappointed though.

Still, as previously stated, Carlisle's back catalogue is fantastic and it's great to hear it all in one collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
If you love Belinda and you don't have this, your collection is not complete. Obviously compiled by folks who love this lady as much as I do, this collection is amazing (with new songs to boot!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
I have just about every Belinda Carlisle commercial record collection and this one still was a must for me. I love that it compiles a lot of single and alternate versions of the songs from the albums and offers a few rarities. And the addition of (possibly) all solo videos is a must have - including the videos for the latter albums.

The book packaging is gorgeous with an array of photographs. It's not just an album anthology - it's a coffee table book!

Can you tell I am pleased with it?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2014
It was an amazing collection of Belinda Carlisle songs and her videos. It's one of the finest collection and is a must have for a Belinda fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
This is a great idea for a product the only problem is that the CD holders make a circular imprint throughout the book and I returned the first one only to get a second one sent to me that was in worse shape than the first. I have sent several emails to amazon UK with no reply back. I have tried to send the book back but the postage was 1/2 the cost of the book so I have requested Amazon UK to send me a shipping label several times and still no response. I am at a stand still and now have two damaged books that not only have the imprint throughout but also one has a nick in the front and the other the spine is messed up.
77 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
I just love pop music from the 80's.
here you have all Belinda hits, plus some gems & rarities.
Please, come back to Buenos Aires, Miss Carlisle
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
Awesome collection of the songs and videos of belinda carlisle's career! The hits and also other songs that haven't been released!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.60
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)