Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
76
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2014
As you'd expect from Seth, another very classy album indeed. Many good songs and a couple of excellent. If you have never listened then starting here is as good a place as any. Very classy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
love it some wonderful songs as usual from Seth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I enjoy all of Seth Lakeman's albums, but his seventh solo record makes for a particularly enjoyable listening experience. If, like me, you enjoy this poster-boy of contemporary folk music the most when he's not encouraged to be too commercial, and doing what he does best, just telling his intriguing stories about ordinary people from days gone by, then 2014's 'Word Of Mouth' is for you.

Here we have twelve original songs, opening up with the dramatic, high-energy track 'The Wanderer', and from then on, an equally captivating roll-call of quality material follows. Fans of Seth's traditional folk tales will enjoy 'Word of Mouth', as will his other followers, those who only really caught onto him when he started to make albums with a full-band and a bigger sound, like this one often has, ensuring that both audiences will be very pleased with it.

The softer tracks allow Seth's soulful, Passenger/Ryan Adams-isque vocals to shine, especially the melancholia standout 'The Saddest Crowd', which recalls the arrival in Plymouth of survivors from the Titanic, and two acoustic style ballads, the beautiful 'Labour She Calls Home', and the stirring 'Bells'. In contrast, 'Last Rider' is a great upbeat track, where Seth plays along with his signature fiddle. 'Portrait of My Wife', the final song on the standard edition is sung with such sincerity, that you would be forgiven for initially believing that the dead wife he sings of in the lyrics, was in fact his own.

For those of you who are already familiar with Seth Lakeman's work, then there are no surprises here, or any attempt at doing anything different, but there is a lot of quality music which should please every converted fan. Contemporary folk music at it's finest!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
Seth Lakeman proves once again that he is a master at what he does. 'Word of Mouth' contains 15 original songs, each tells a tale of a chapter in the history of Seth's beloved Devon and Cornwall. The second disc contains interviews telling the tales which inspired the lyrics for the songs, songs such as Tiger, which tells the tale of military disaster during the training for D-Day. Labour She Calls Home, tells the tale of Rowena Cade and her tireless job improving the Minack open air theatre. Bal Maiden, tells a story of female labourers in the mines of Cornwall. There is also a bonus dvd of the making of the album. The whole package is housed in a hard backed book which has the lyrics printed inside and a selection of photographs.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
Seth Lakeman is one of a generation of young musicians, including his own brothers, who have shown an encouraging ability to build on traditions in English music and create a sound and a style which, if they might have seemed strange and alien to the collectors of folk music of a century ago, demonstrate the continuing strength and persistence of the music of our forebears. There is nothing really innovative in this new recording that will seem unfamiliar to those of us who know his earlier work, but he maintains his high standard with interesting and clever arrangements of attractive songs, using excellent musicians.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
After being slightly disappointed with his last album 'Tales from the Barrel House' This for me is Seth at his best again. If you are a fan of the up beat ballads like 'Cherry Red' or the more haunting melodies, this album has both. As always high quality lyrics and outstanding musicianship are a given. After hearing it for the first time I booked tickets to see him in Northampton via the ticket master website (Fifth row!) Even my 17 year old daughter is coming- what more can I say...fantastic
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
We collect Seth Lakeman CD's in this house so were pleased to see this released.

Seth Lakeman has a full band put together in Word of Mouth which is a lovely contrast from the CD he released in 2012 called Tales From the Barrel House. Both are lovely but the contrast is big. The only (slight) difficulty with Word of Mouth is that it seems slightly too smooth - as though all the basic raw edge of the folk style has been edited out. For me, that is part of the charm of this type of music. However, the new songs are really good and I love the fact that they are based around interviews with local people (Devon and Cornwall) giving them authenticity and meaning.

I've been really pleased with this recording and would recommend it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
I just love Seth Lakeman & his music. Was lucky enough to see him in concert in Cornwall recently. This album delivered in all respects. Obviously songs from this album he performed.
He has a rare talent for story telling so together with his musical abilities, combined to make an album worth listening to. Plus the DVD with the album made the listening all extremely enjoyable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Love the songs, the lyrics, the story behind this cd, the book style case. Highly recommend it. Thanks Seth Lakeman.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
This is an incredible album which goes back to the 'real Seth'... He's dabbled with more commercial records in the last few years, but with Tales From The Barrel House and this new album Word of Mouth we see a return to what Seth has always been about: telling real stories in an earthy, real way. Beautiful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)