Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
52
3.8 out of 5 stars
Dizzy Heights
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


on 2 April 2014
After listening to this record at least a couple of dozen times since its release, I find it an enthralling piece of work. Initially like some other listeners I was slightly underwhelmed, but as usual with Neil Finn and, as has been pointed out in some other reviews, it takes a little time for the songs to work their magic.

It is certainly one of Neil Finn's more leftfield releases, but this experimental approach is not too surprising compared with his earlier solo albums (Try Whistling This and One Nil), plus the recent Pajama Club record. The production on Dizzy Heights is many layered, with intricate soundscapes and interesting sonic textures, that compliments the songwriting very nicely. The production treatment on the album also reminds a little of the vision expressed in another great Finn album, Crowded House's masterful Together Alone.

But most importantly Dizzy Heights is a fine set of songs. The stomping Pony Ride and wall-of-sound of In My Blood are standouts for me. I was unnerved by the divisive Divebomber at first but now find it the centrepiece of the record. Strangest Friends is a typical Finn earworm that repays repeated listenings and the title track Dizzy Heights is like a lost soul-pop classic (that incidentally gets my two year old niece dancing along!)

This album is absolutely worth checking out if you want to hear classic tunes with an evocative production. If you tend to steer clear of Neil Finn's more experimental output then your ears might not take to it straightaway, but there is a lot of rewarding listening to be had here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
Excellent service & product, thanks! +++++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
Different style to previous solo releases and very enjoyable. Particular favourites are White Lies & Alibis, Better than TV. Liked after first listen but it grows on you more with each listen
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
album arrived a couple of days earlier than stated, and was well packed. all i need to say about the album itself, is it's neil finn,,,,,,,, what a song writer. dean from warks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
I've enjoyed Neil's music since his days in Split Enz, although this is enjoyable it didn't have a stand out track for me.
One for the collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
never heard of this guy? give it a go melodic folky bluesy mix unusual and earthy, wonderful lyrics and passion
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
I first saw Neil with Split Enz in London in 1977, replacing my hero, Phil Judd. No easy job.

Bought everything him and / or his brother Tim have produced since Mental Notes. So no surprise I bought this on release. And I love it.

Track by track, it starts with Impressions, which is a slow, moody track that has Beatles overtones.

Sequences into the title track, which is pure Neil pop, and worthy of any great pop writer. Could have been any time in the last 50 years, but also very current. Terrific.

Fly In The Face Of Love is more up tempo and has echoes of so many great pop songs. Great single material. Very infectious and has great hook.

Divebomber sounds like an attempt at a Beatles circa Revolution No. 9. Not convinced.

Better than TV. Return to form and another pop classic in the making. Hooks. Infectious. A hit.

Pony Ride. Strange title. Sounds like a late period Split Enz song and would fit a Brit Pop revival album. No bad thing. Nice guitar.

White Lies and Alibis is less pop and more experimental, which is why it's here and not on a Crowded House. Love it.

Recluse. Great track that has interesting a compelling lyrics and a piano led hook that would fit on a Beatles album.

Strangest. A grower in the Beatles mould. Great guitar. Lovely chorus.

In My Blood is the most Crowded of any song here. Pure pop.

Light Of New York. Fairy tale of New York more like. Can imagine Shane McG sing / slurring this. Weak last track. Average at best.

So four stars. Next? Album with Tim. Crowded. Split Enz uk tour. Please
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
Love all Neil Finns work and this CD does definitely not let me down, the man can do no wrong.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
This album has already got what they call mixed reviews what i cannot understand is people seem surprised that Neil has made an album that's a bit off the beaten track have they not heard his other two solo albums or his first "Finn" album that he made with his brother Tim all of these works contain some quite odd but very satisfying music,what has surprised me most after reading reviews before i listened to Dizzy heights is i was expecting something totally whacked out someone described it as fuzzy noise really just which track might that be?only the track Divebomber goes seriously into weird territory with it's screeching Stuka siren,i suppose some people would prefer it if Neil just went on churning out "by the numbers"hit records i am glad he has made this album it improves with repeat listenings a sign of a really great album in my experience,the title track being the obvious choice for next single after "flying in the face of love".I think Neil Finn is probably one of the greatest song writers the world has ever known and has not even peaked yet "Dizzy heights"could be the start of a truly dizzying upward spiral.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
FAB CD with great seller, many thanks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Goin' Your Way
£10.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)