Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
16
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 September 2004
'Asterix the Legionary' is the 10th of 31 adventures published between 1961and 2001; This adventure is from 1967.
Asterix and Obelix join the Roman Legion to track down a fellow Gaul who has been conscripted to fight in Caesar's African campaign. The Gauls make life insufferable for their Centurion and Drill Instructor as they go through recruit training and then on to Africa.
The story of the Gauls' army adventures are quite superb and their fellow volunteers are also wonderfully characterised; Accompanying the Gauls are a Goth, A Greek, a Briton, a Belgian with a Tintin-like haircut and an Egyptian who cannot speak the language and thinks he is on a package holiday (His speech represented by hieroglyphics). There is much to enjoy in this story, drawing on many stereotypes of army life, including army bureaucracy and army cooking. Of course the Gauls immediately impose their relaxed sense of order on the troops. This adventure is so successful because the strong story carries through without being forced or contrived, as in a few of the weaker adventures.
This re-inked and re-coloured edition does not improve on the original edition as the colouring is a little washed-out. Nevertheless, an excellent story; a classic. I would rate it in the top 5 adventures.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
Bought this for my 10 and 8 year olds. I had to read to them initially and I think I laughed the most. I loved these as a child but I think I was probably older as the puns and wordplay is often too subtle for a younger child. Now they are reading them to themselves!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 February 2008
One of the very best Asterix stories, all the way back from 1967, Asterix The Legionary is strong in every department - a purposeful story, superb drawings, marvellous secondary characters and - since the boys have joined the Roman Legion in their attempt to bring back the boyfriend of Panacea, who has been recruited into the ranks - there are plenty of Romans to both bash and endlessly frustrate.

The script and names are wittily translated, as ever, into English and there are good running jokes throughout - one at the expense of a hieroglyphic-speaking Egyptian unwittingly conscripted into the army believing the barracks is a hotel, the other around characters constantly breaking down into tears. Needless to say, the journey gives the boys an opportunity to get reacquainted with their old pals the pirates on the way to Rome and again on the return journey. What more can you ask for?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2011
This was the first Asterix book i bought as a child, i read this story SO MANY times at night in bed sometimes staying up until 2am on a school night. Thats how good this book it. Funny, well written and the art is second to none.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
My dad used to buy us Asterix books when we were kids and I bought these two for my son as they are not ones I'd read previously and also based on other reviews as amongst the best of the Asterix stories.

Really recommend - the illustrations are so clever and well observed, and carry the humour even without reading the speech bubbles. Much of the wit of these stories is the play on words of the characters' names, which some kids might not always get, but this is one of the reasons why they continue to amuse as a grown up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
This is more a complaint about the kindle version than the book itself. I downloaded the book but apart from the front page the content is blank. Emails to Anazon querying this are so far unanswered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
Good book, great to aid school Romans topic.
Full of info, facts & comic-style illustrations.
Very informative and fun to read for children between 7 and 11, I'd say.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
One of the best. It's classic Asterix from start to finish. They'd hit their stride by the time they wrote this one and the sheer class is evident throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
Fantastic books lived this as a child even more as an adult lol and the books prices are cheap too thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
A classic, my 8 year old loves these as I did at his age. He is now very interested in Roman history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse