Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2014
What the other review, helpful though it is, fails to say is that Charley, during his rise to stardom, sees the nastier side of showbiz alongside its glamour. His partner, Harold Armytage (played by the wonderful Dennis Price), is kicked off the stage during rehearsals for daring to criticize the script of a panto in which they appear, and less lovable aspects emerge of other characters who Charley has befriended as they try to claw their way to the top of the tree. It's this that makes this film different from the usual "rags-to-riches" showbiz fantasy and places it above most of them. One of the musical numbers included is "Out of Town" which was a very big British hit in its day.
When I was a boy I saw this film on its first release at the cinema and I've always retained an affection for it. It's nice to have it available in a commercial release.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
A colouful slice of fifties nostalgia, not one of the great musicals but it gave a good depiction of life in the vareity theatres of old. Charley Moon did spawn one memorable song "Out of Town" which as well as being a hit for Max Bygraves was also used as the theme to a TV nature programme. It is always nice to see an old British movie in colour as so many were in black and white. Max Bygraves gave a convincing performance as the unknown entertainer who becomes famous and then lets it go to his head, also I liked the fact that his character is occasionally not particularly likeable. Also in the cast is lovely Patricia Driscoll who TV fans will remember from Watch With Mother's "Picture Book" and playing Maid Marion in "The Adventures of Robin Hood." Charley Moon is a colourful musical, not great but entertaining.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 August 2014
This is a wonderful evocation of the innocent days of 1950s entertainment, depicting how Charley climbs the greasy ladder of showbiz, only to find that after you've got want you want, you don't want it. Max gives a good performance, not only with the songs and corny jokes, but shows his tougher side as well when he's taken advantage of by sleazy agents - in fact just about everyone! However, for me, the incomparable Denis Price is the real star, playing a down-on-his luck 'has been' actor of the hoity toity type, who helps Max up the ladder, only to find himself discarded by the fickle hand of theatre land. Eric Sykes is also wonderful in a cameo role of a heckler in the audience during Max's debut in a talent show. Then, towards the end, a ten-year old pigtailed Jane Asher turns up driving a circus caravan (as you do) and lights up the screen. The Eastman colour is perfect, not too glossy, but very realistic for those days. And then there are the kids - loads of them - watching enraptured as the entertainers go through their corny acts. Innocent days, indeed, and a lovely reminder of how it was!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Max Bygraves - in spite of a post-sixties era spent being a mother's (then, a grandmother's) favourite causing laughter among all the other generations - was always an easy presence, and this picture from British Lion's era of mostly populist films with the Common Touch (after Korda's largely upper-bracket gentility) is really rather like Anglo-Amalgamated / ABPC's TOMMY STEELE STORY: a quick-off-the-mark biopic. Here, rather than being a screen biography, the film charts a similar journey to Bygraves' rise to top-liner and household name.

British Lion foresaw three pictures starring Our Sing-a-long-a-Max, the result being the usual in that Lion was suddenly enjoying so many new lines of income (up, year-on-year, until it was decreed by Sidney Gilliat in 1961 that they were being 'too profitable'!), that the board went cold on Max. He was originally part of their star line-up for JET STORM (1958), but showing the fickle pop scene, was dropped in favour of the younger generation in the form of Marty Wilde. British Lion finally gave Max a second picture, SPARE THE ROD (made 1960), which was only one of their part-investments via Bryanston. But Max did get to be loaned out to Eros, and then 20th Century-Fox, who have him a Fox vehicle - BOBBIKINS (1958).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2015
I saw this film when it came out. We all used to go to the Pictures on a Saturday afternoon and Max Bygraves was always a favourite of mine . I loved the song Out of Town, I believe the Girl in the film was Patricia Driscoll. I saw Max in a Summer show at Paighnton in 1967 my sister and I thoroughly enjoyed the Show he was really worth seeing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
Great to see this 'feel good' piece of nostalgia available. A unique little film which is part musical, part comedy and part drama. The whole thing has a wonderfully nostalgic feel to it of an England that has long gone. Leslie Bricusse wrote the songs including the lovely 'Out of Town' which is probably the musical highlight. Bygraves is at his 'likable' best in this film. A lot of well known faces from the period can be seen including a ten year old Jane Asher. These type of films from this era often have a lightweight story line, but this one is better than most with sufficient story to keep one's attention.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
I purchased the Charlie Moon DVD because I was an extra in this film when I was at primary school. I gave it five stars because it is has a good storyline. A boy and a girl grow up together in a village with a mill. He leaves the village but returns years later to find his girl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
This another film I hadn't heard of but I'm glad I bought it. Good film good music, I'm glad I found it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
A trip down memory lane for the over 60s, a "more innocent" time, a pleasant film of a young man finding fame in the world of the theatre but then remembering what used to be!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2015
you cant beat the old movies its a pity you cant some American movies on region 2
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)