Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
51
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

From out of Atlanta, Georgia comes this Country Rock band, Blackberry Smoke. We are treated to three great tracks here, and as this is currently on promo this won’t cost you a bean. I don’t know how well known this band is over here, but if you haven’t heard of them before I am sure you will enjoy this.

‘One Horse Town’ is a lovely ballad, which is slow and thoughtful. ‘Six Ways to Sunday’ is a more upbeat track and is quite catchy, whereas ‘Ain’t Much Left of Me’, the longest track here is probably something that you would normally think of as very Country Rock.

All these tracks are great to listen to, and with this Blackberry Smoke are bound to get more new fans. This is well worth downloading especially whilst it is currently on promo.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
A 3-track EP:

1 ~ One Horse Town ~ 3:56
2 ~ Six Ways to Sunday ~ 3:39
3 ~ Ain't Much Left of Me ~ 5:12

♦ Earache Records/3rd February 2014
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
Fantastic introduction to the band and as a free Amazon download too. Three great tracks including the excellent 'One Horse Town'. A live offering and a good recording. Blackberry Smoke are badged under the 'Southern Rock' banner but seem to me to be more 'Country Rock'. Whilst certainly not being original they are certainly excellent at what they do. As a result of listening to this I bought the excellent album 'The Whippoorwill' which is also a great listen. They are touring the UK later this year (2014) - may well be worth watching too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
Enjoy this a lot....Never heard of them till Amazon, and a free download too!
First track reminds me of a chilled REM....
Six ways to Sunday an addictive 'Country rock' song, with catchy chorus.
Finally 'Ain't much left of me'...Not the best track on here, but still a 'listenable' tune, with powerful vocals.

Yep....Very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
i had read about this band, so when Amazon posted this free Live In Session download I grabbed it to have a listen for myself. They are really good and if this is a sample of their music then go out and buy some. I know that following this introduction I will be looking for and listening to more of their stuff.

Do yourself a favour and do the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
Sorry wrong group and album, this album promises a lot and it delivers, Blackberry Smoke are the real deal and this album recorded live, the way groups did it in the 50's and some have attempted to copy, delivers like you wouldn't believe. Take a listen and if it doesn't do what it says on the tin then I'll eat my hat
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
Absolutely love this band and made up to receive this free EP download. Can't wait to see them on tour in the UK. If you love Southern Rock and don't mind a bit of Country thrown in then this is perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
Discovered Blackberry Smoke several years ago. Have always been a big fan of all things southern after discovering Skynyrd in my early teens(not yesterday!) & I can honestly say the 'Smoke are up there with, if not, the best purveyors of the Southern Rock genre EVER. Managed to obtain their back catalogue via Amazon's external Seller service from a company in the US. Have actually had a copy of 'The Whippoorwill' since Sept 2012 thanks to Amazon. The 3 tracks here are an excellent taster for anyone who have not heard the album/band. Get yourself out there to see Charlie & the Boys later this month when the Fire in The Hole tour hits the UK. They have toured relentlessly in the US for many a year & one of the best bands I have ever witnessed playing live. Got my ticket for Glasgow as soon as it was announced & they are now playing a larger venue there which is brilliant news as the last gig they played in a tiny London venue sold out in seconds. I can certainly feel a 'Good One Comin' On'!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
Blackberry Smoke are a country/southern rock band who have been going for a while in their native USA, without their music crossing the Atlantic to here in the UK. Finally it's going to be available over here, and this live session is a great introduction to the band - and as it's free, you can check it out without spending a penny.

These three songs are off The Whippoorwill album, two mellow songs and an upbeat one, and the songs fit in well with the country rock tradition and aesthetic Blackberry Smoke are clearly a part of. Hopefully the band and sound will translate to a non-US audience.

Recommended if you like Lynyrd Skynyrd, Molly Hatchet, Lonestar, Toby Keith etc.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
The Blackberry Smoke guys have recently hit my radar with some force, what a fantastic band!
This live collection has a beautiful warm feel, the sort of experience I am hoping to have when I go and see them in Nottingham on the 1st March!
I have already pre-ordered the album and am thoroughly looking forward to seeing them live.
I strongly recommend checking them out, you won't be disappointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here