Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 3 July 2017
This is a real adventure which I read as a schoolboy over 50 years ago and again in 2017 when covering the area on a more comfortable cruise . We set off from the same port Callo in Peru and sailed to New Zealand via the beautiful Polynesian Islands of Easter Island ,Tahiti and Bora Bora. . The bravery of these men was brought home , but more importantly for the reader,it is brilliantly written and keeps the reader on the edge. The adventure on a balsa wood raft was a scientific experiment to see if it was was possible that people sailed from South America to the polynesian islands. The men did not have any experience of sailing and were warned of the dangers they would encounter,not to mention the limitation of the craft . They showed what could be achieved and that some of the problems of the construction did not turn out to be so. A great read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2017
Superb book. Don't let the romantic cover shot fool you, that's just because this edition has followed the film. Anything but romantic. A great tale of one man's obsession and determination. I have read this book 5 or 6 times and enjoyed it every time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2016
When I visited Norway I went to the Museum of Kon-Tiki. I found the true story cultivated my imagination and I wanted to learn more. The story captures the journey the first inhabitants took two unknown worlds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2017
One of the most exciting stories I have ever read. Plenty of clearly printed photographs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2017
As described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2014
great adventure story - read it as a kid and had to go back and buy a copy! Sharks, flying fish, whale sharks and unidentified creatures from the deep
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2015
Wonderful to read this book - I had just seen the film and interesting to see what the differences were (it was pretty close)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2017
Item arrived quickly and purchased at great price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2017
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2014
Bought to replace lost paper copy. Excellent book. I will be looking at Thor's other kindle books. It was like being on the Kon tiki with the crew
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)