Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
61
4.6 out of 5 stars
9 Dead Alive
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 September 2016
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2017
The replacement also would not play, so gave up!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
I caught this duo some time ago on the Jules Holland show, and made a mental note..."Buy this album!". I didn't until recently, and it's been my loss. What a breath of fresh air it is. I can't say I was even aware of Rod and Gab until Jules' programme, but they've got a few albums out now, and they're hugely popular live performers all over the world. A quick look on Wiki confirms they've been together about 14 years, and started off busking in Ireland as they were told that's where street music is really appreciated. I can't argue with that.
Whichever version of "9 Dead Alive" you buy (I believe there are 2...the deluxe includes a vinyl version and specially commissioned "art" prints) it's fantastic value...I bought the basic one but it still includes a DVD which features quite a long "live" performance, studio performances of several tracks from the album, and some quite difficult, broken-english commentary from Rod and Gab. The only drawback is that the double gatefold cardboard sleeve is a bit unwieldy with the two discs AND the booklet containing the stories behind each track. Not enough to complain though.
The concept of the album is interesting...9 people (all dead) who changed the world and whose legacies will remain forever, inspired the tracks. Yes, it's a bit deep, and sometimes it's hard to pick up the link through the music, but it's a great idea, and it can even lead to some interesting Googling to learn more about the subjects.
Anyway, the music...
Well, if you like your guitarists to be blonde rock gods straddling the stage with solid body electrics strapped on, playing power chords through distorted pedals and amps, and singing dodgy harmonies, you're in for a shock. This is intimate, soulful, passionate playing, and it's incredibly addictive. Some reviewers have said it's "samey"...well, I can understand that, but I think you need to go a bit deeper than the surface with this music. Both artistes say they wanted a total collaboration on this album...normally Rodrigo produces on his own, but this time it's a partnership. And Gabriella adds that they wanted to create a contact with the listener...like an intimate "live" performance, not just an album.
The two guitarists have separate roles which come together so powerfully. Gab supplies the engine... she attacks the guitar in a percussive way I've never seen before, shaping chords while she slaps and batters out the foundation of the song across the entire front of the instrument. It can be quite violent and she's visibly exhausted at the end of some songs on the DVD. Rod's role is to form the melody, but it's no less physical work, but with a dexterity, speed and, yes, SUBTLETY that is intoxicating. Guitarists will watch both performers and wonder how they do it, particularly live, night after night. This album is just a sample of those skills, and I do wonder whether it would have the same impact without the accompanying DVD...I have to say in my case it may not, because these people are LIVE performers. You really need to watch them to appreciate them, and the chemistry between them is quite moving.
The album though, is still a masterpiece of virtuosity, passion and expression, and it would still be, even without the DVD.
With it, it's a fantastic package and a must-buy.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
Good, but a little bit 'samey' in some numbers as previous recordings, but, still a very good album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
Having seen them in a very enjoyable concert at the Royal Albert Hall I ordered this album the following day.
It's good - Gabriela's 'percussion' technique on her guitar is pretty much unique, but ultimately all the tracks on the album feel a bit 'same-y'.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
This album is amazing, very deep in the way songs were written and played. Yo can hear rock riffing but on acoustic guitars and with the touch and flavour of two great musicians. It is very different from previous albums but add another item to their excellent catalog. Highlights are the soundmaker, misty moses, sominium, and the russian messanger
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
Astoundingly good, a refreshing change from "pop" and some of the heavier music out there. The take on 9 compositions (from dead composers - hence the album title) and their interpretation of them works exceptionally well. This is currently, with the earlier Rodrigo Y Gabriela album, a regular on my sound system.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Never heard of this duo before catching them on a Glastonbury broadcast last month. Fantastic guitar, including quite unbelievable percussion sounds using the body of the guitar. Will buy more, and attempt to see live at some point..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
First cd of Rodrigo Y Gabriela I've bought and extremely pleased with it. From the beautiful and mellow to headbanging heavy metal, this is a must own cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
A bit different and good for Saturday night listening to in our conservatory. And booked to see them live ,in Manchester ,in December. So fingers crossed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

11:11
£7.99
Live In Japan
£9.38

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)