Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2015
Good quality, as ever from Sony. Plays well and looks good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
Had this running for a few weeks now and it is a nifty little box with good output via Blu-ray, DVD and Internet Streaming. YES, you can get Amazon Instant Video, and very good quality too. It's almost like my old dead Fat PS3, but without the gaming ability; although the lightweight box does seem rather cheap. PS3 users will instantly recognise the user menu - which I like.
Netflix is also on there, though I don't subscribe so can't comment on its quality. In fact the remote control does feature a specific Netflix button, maybe for instant access. The remote (batteries included) is rather small but surprisingly easy to use as the few buttons on it are quite large.
There is also BBC I-Player with very good output, and lots of other TV providers which I don't really bother with. If you are into Radio then you will be pleased with a plethora of radio stations available covering all genres, but no Planet Rock?
Round the back are the usual ports, one HDMI out, LAN 100 in, Dolby Digital Out Coax and of course your power in.
The DVD tray is on the front edge and is auto controlled from the unit and/or the remote and resembles the hi-fi units of the 80's with it's pop out plastic tray to load your disk onto. The front face also supports a single USB port.
Overall I like it based on its output, but only 4 stars as it is lightweight and cheap looking. However, it will fit on top of another unit and is small enough to stash away into a small gap within your setup. Finally, it is REGZA Linked, so when connected to a Toshiba TV it takes over the screen as soon as you fire it up.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 May 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
You'll initially be a little surprised at the small size of this player, but you'll quickly learn it's a powerhouse of versatility.

After unboxing, it's literally a case of plug and play. You'll need HDMI cable, so order at the time you order the dvd player. If you're intending to use this unit for its streaming abilities (Netflix, etc) then you'll need to connect it to your router using an ethernet cable, so again, ensure you're able to connect the dvd player to your router by ordering the correct length of ethernet cable. If your router is too far away from where the dvd player will be situated then consider buying Sony BDPS5200 which has built in wifi connectivity.

So, once connected, follow the on screen prompts using the handset, enter your wi-fi password and the player connects. I sampled 'Up', 'Avatar' and 'Jurassic Park' on Blu-ray. As expected the results were noticeably superior than a normal picture. The colours and contrast are pin sharp (played via a Samsung 50" tv), the sound is of hi-fi quality (played through both headphones and an Onkyo amplifier). Boot up took around 20 seconds on initial insertion of the disc and around 6 seconds from stand-by (with the disc in). Operation is simple and straight forward using the supplied handset. I also tested the streaming abilities of the player using NetFlix and was very happy with the playback results - even in NetFlix HD the player handled the stream without any buffering issues, and again the picture quality was pin sharp and extremely pleasing.

So, all in all, Sony have produced a very competent, user-friendly, compact, and very well priced 3D Blu-ray player; the smart aspect is the seller for me, giving you access to BBC iPlayer, 4OD, and a multitude of other video on demand platforms. Another plus is the ability to playback movies, view photos or listen to music via a flash drive or a hard drive.

For the money it exceeds expectations and is pretty much all you need in a modern 3D Blu-ray player. A good all rounder and highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 March 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Upon unpacking this player I was surprised at just how small it is, as well as how sleek it looks. It's simple to set up too, with just the few necessary ports like HDMI, LAN etc.

Setup is relatively easy, but you'll need to update the software if you plan on using any of the online features. However, it doesn't take very long, and you'll be presented with the initial setup once you've updated. Interestingly, I didn't have to go through the initial setup when I first turned the item on - it was only after the new software installation that I had to do this. Either way though, it's a pretty straightforward affair.

Once you've gone online for the first time you'll get a list of all the online video channels, like iPlayer, Netflix, Amazon Prime Video and a whole host of others like YouTube and even a golf channel. When this player originally shipped, the Amazon Prime Video/LoveFilm app didn't work. However, this has since been updated and now works fine. Other apps like Netflix all worked perfectly from the start (I even signed up for a free trial within the player UI, which took just a couple of minutes).

The player is so packed full of features that it's easy to forget it's primary purpose as a blu ray player. In this regard it works superbly, with relatively quick loading, and crystal clear pictures. The player does claim to have a sub-1 second start up - please note that this only applies to loading the home scree, rather than discs themselves.

The UI is very simple to use, and is basically a standard XMB interface like on PlayStation 3/Bravia TVs. Most people will probably use the DVD/blu-ray and online video functions for the bulk of their time with this other player, but there are other functions too like a music player, which may be quite useful if you don't have any dedicated audio kit in your lounge.

The player also has HDMI link, though I've not yet been able to get this to work with my Panasonic surround sound and Toshiba TV yet - it certainly didn't work out of the box, even though Regza link was enabled.

This blu-ray player is feature packed despite its small size, and surprisingly slick. However, it does require a wired LAN connection, which is fine for me as my router is right next to my TV, but if you need a wireless connection you will need to look elsewhere.

EDIT: This review was updated to reflect the Amazon Prime Video app fix.
22 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2016
OK, atleast surround sound works on this (unlike a pos toshiba i had before) but the fun ends there.
It played amazon prime video for about a month then never did again, despite numerous firmware updates.
Ive not used it for 12 months, just got it out and it wont play any recent blu rays. And my firmware is the latest available. Itll play some things so its obviously working but the latest blu rays are beyond it.

So im not ever buying another sony blu ray player as this one is scrap. It does nothing i bought it for.
And to be honest im getting ticked off with blu rays. Why is it so hard to watch them? Maybe we should all just stream everything and be happy with our low bitrate lot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
Loads and plays quickly, excellent quality and a wide range of smart apps (BBC iPlayer, Amazon Prime streaming, Sony Entertainment Network, etc). Highly recommended, especially at this price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
The start up time is no where near accurate to what this model boasts and on first start up (and a couple of start ups since) the device has turn on and and after 20 seconds shut down and won't power back up for a similar length of time.
over all though the machine (once up and running) works great, menu (much like the PS3) is slick and the device itself is very stylish. its inside my television unit but would happily have this out on display. very capable device.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2015
It is ok. This is not the wireless Blu Ray player so be prepared to fork out extra for a Ethernet Cable. Good picture quality and it is very quiet when watching dvds/blu ray. When watching Netlfix or Amazon Prime you can get slow down sometimes. All in all it isn't bad, but it could be a lot better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2016
Wanted to upgrade my blue ray player and this device was ideal.

It is small and compact and also plays any type of DVDs and bluRays! What's even better is that it has apps so I can watch movies from Netflix!

Highly recommend this bluray as it has so many great features
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
A Good player which starts quickly but let down by the lack of codecs it can play - I use it to play from my NAS and it regularly fails to play some AVIs - a simple firmware upgrade would cure it but Sony don't seem to want to do that ... hmmm
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)