Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
41
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.91+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2014
Delain is an incredibly good band fronted by a charismatic and uniquely gifted singer, Charlotte Wessels. You have to see them play live to see her in action, she is incredible and the band supports her in a set of beautiful memorable songs. This new album brings another list of winners to their repertoire. I suggest they remove the grunts and male singing, because Charlotte is a treat to listen to. THis sweet voice, amazing. Must buy, no reservation.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
With their 4th album, Delain manages to recreate the epicness of their first opus Lucidity while giving it a modern aspect, continuing the approach developped in the 3rd album We Are The Others.

The violins and classic keyboard are still here, as well as some choirs, but there are also a few electronic incursions, really heavy guitars (more than usual) on the 9 songs, even those that are mid-tempo (no ballad on the main CD), and just a very contemporary atmosphere coming out of the songs, as opposed to the classic atmosphere of Lucidity or even April Rain. Still, the epic is here, with some great orchestrations, and this is really symphonic metal, not watered down symphonic metal.
I think this modern side makes The Human Contradiction stand out among all the albums of this style.

It's great to have two new collaborations with Marco Hietala, who was missed on the 3rd album. Your Body is a Battleground and Sing to Me are the most epic songs on the opus with Here Comes the Vultures and Army of Dolls.
The single Stardust is simpler but quite efficient. Tell Me, Mechanist lets us hear again the powerful growls of George Oosthoek. My Masquerade and Lullaby are sweeter, but still really heavy, and have seriously catchy choruses (actually, I found the 9 songs very catchy right from the 1st listening). Last but not least, the beautiful duet with Alissa White Gluz (The Tragedy of the Commons), reminds me in a very good way of the song Shattered from Lucidity.

The 2CD version offers 2 new songs, a mostly piano-voice ballad (Scarlet) and a very energetic title (Don't Let Go), 5 live songs, and two orchestral versions (the duets with Marco).

In short: an highly catchy, heavy and modern symphonic metal album with great collaborations, both familiar and new. Really nice work from an underrated band.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Seen this band 3 times now. Have all their albums. Although I like what they do, especially Lucidity (the first album) they really have not progressed. If compared to for instance Xandria, here one see or rather hear how their music has matured. Would recommend it solely for the fans who like the complete set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
Very catchy and entertaining music. The album presents as more "pop" oriented than some of the European gothic -like genre, but that should not be taken as something ill. The lyrics are extremely clever at times. I discovered this quite by chance and am most pleased that I did.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
As a recent convert to this genre of this music via Within Temptation and You Tube!. This band supported WT at a gig i attended and thus the research via the web. All i can say is to have found WT 3 years ago was good fortune to say the least but to find and see these live with WT. Good fortune x 2..Bought this album and three others by Delain in the last 7 days and cant stop playing them. Enjoy!
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
What a return to form, with Lullaby my favourite song of the year, an absolutel melodic slice of rock perfection, especially when the end kicks in. Intelligent, twisting songs which sometimes can take a few listens, this feels like a leap forward to me, a natural evolution and has firmly planted them as a band who should stick around for quite some time. My only very VERY slight criticism would be that sometimes I wish Charlotte would let rip a little more, she has a lovely melodic voice but occasionally I'd love to hear her really put everything into it. My favourite album of last year possibly, here's hoping Nemesea's impending album lives up to it :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
I bought this with a little hesitation after being put off from the latest releases from other bands being so-so.

Delain have delivered a superb album yet again. Their songs are charged with social-political messages often shied away from by others. With strong riffs and powerful vocals this is certainly a gift.

Their overall sound has changed again from their last album but still sounds like Delain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
Really happy that my pre-order arrived on time.

This is a great looking package. It contains 2 cds and an integrated lyric booklet.

The first cd is all new material, and unlike We Are the Others (which i couldn't get into at all) pulled me in straight away. The song-writing structure has more variety and better hooks than the last album and is very close to being as good as April Rain in my opinion.

The second disk has a couple more new tracks, some live recordings from Delain's back-catalogue and two orchestral versions of songs found on disc 1. The instrumentals, especially, are damned good.

All in all, i'm very happy with the album and i am glad i stuck with the band after my disappointment with their last offering. Much better than Within Temptation in my view. The only disappointment i have is that the tour supporting this album is as support for Within Temptation.

Come on guys, surely you rate a tour all of your own? Get it done!
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
I was apprehensive before I listened to the cd as I doubted Delain could produce three classic full cd's in a row. But the have, proving Delain have the best composer and female singer in heavy rock. This combined with a great rhythm section and production makes the cd sound great. More metal heavier gtr sound than their previous cd The Others, but the songs still remain melodic.
The special edition has extra studio, live and orchestral tracks with a nice double digi pack making it worth the extra cost.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
If you don’t already know Delain–or maybe even if you do- then check out two clips on their website “Stardust ” and “Your Body Is a Battleground”, between them they give a great sample for the feel of this new album overall, carrying forward from ‘Interlude’ a heavier, “truer-to –live” sound , with Otto’s bass cranked up to max in the mix.

Like all three previous “all-new” albums before Interlude, “Human Contradiction” though not a “concept “ album in any contrived way, works very well as whole through having a theme or three weaving in and out of its lyrics (all now credited to Charlotte this time round –and unlike “WATO” all printed with the CD) -well worth looking up Charlotte’s on line interview in “Sonic Cathedral” for anyone who wants the full picture on what inspired much of the album .

Every Delain album has its guests, this is no exception – Marco Hietala makes a welcome return duetting on “Sing To Me “ and “My Body Is a Battleground”, George Oesthook grunts on “Tell Me Machinist”, on “The Tragedy Of The Commons” Alissa White-Gluz, (Ex The Agonist (nowArch Enemy Sweden)adds both growled and sung vocals dueting with Charlotte.

The Bonus CD2 with this version also looks very promising...but I’ll save that until after I’ve got to the bottom of CD1 !!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)