Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
45
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2014
Relive the greatest moments of Jim during his impressive run at the top of the WWF/WWE. Matches and commentary galore alongside colourful interviews from those who knew him best. However I fear this may be a "watch once" kind of item unless you are a hardcore fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Brilliant service and a good watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
Bought this for a wrestling lovers birthday and he loved it. Watched a bit with him and the fights on here are pretty high profile in ultimate warriors career. Hulk hogan, Andre the giant etc...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
The power of nostalgia is strong in this one and I loved almost every minute of it. Guys like the Warrior are what got me into wrestling all those years ago as a young pup and this is an entertaining snapshot of that bygone era of four PPV's a year and the likes of Primetime Wrestling and Superstars on the tv.

One of the main selling points for this set is the contribution from the Warrior himself, he hadn't spoken on a WWE release for a long old time and it's good that he did eventually before his sad untimely passing. The interview he gave is spliced into smaller chunks and inserted along the way to introduce the matches and there's various interesting insights including observations on - Sting, Macho Man, Undertaker, winning and losing titles, jobbers, the origins of The Dingo Warrior, how he built the "superhero" Ultimate Warrior character and much more. There isn't much insight into how he left the WWF on the various occasions that he did but I guess that was to be expected (you can get the WWF's version of this on the (in)famous Self Destruction of the Ultimate Warrior DVD).

There's some cracking matches on this set. I reckon Warrior could handle himself better in the ring than some would have you believe and it helps that the other fellas on this set are some of the greatest in ring talents from the era - Savage, Rude, Dibiase, Race and Mr Perfect are all sheer class. Throw in the likes of Hogan, Andre and Taker and you've got an awesome who's who of wrestling from the late 80's to early 90's. As well as the main matches there's a few "squash" matches included also against the likes of Horowitz and Lombardi. They may not have much merit as matches but they're fun reminders of how wrestling used to be and how they used to get these characters over.

There's also various vintage interviews and skits to break things up a bit. The ridiculous "crash the plane" promo, the brilliant funeral parlour angle and a super stiff beat down of Brother Love are a few of the highlights. There's not much from Warriors WCW run, just a few promos which kind of makes sense, it didn't really work out for the big man in the ring in Atlanta.

The Blu Ray has a little over an hour of extra footage and I think that's the way to go if you've got the option. Overall, it's a cracking trip down memory lane and finally a suitable way for us to remember The Ultimate Warrior - one of the great characters of the WWF. I've listed the matches included on the set below with a few random comments for anyone interested in such things (I've not listed the tv squash matches, there's not really much to say about those).

11/04/86 - The Blade Runners v Perry Jackson and Shawn O'Reilly - A stiff, short beat down which is only still worth a watch to see Warrior and Sting on the same team.

08/08/86 - Dingo Warrior v Chris Adams - Short and a bit of a mess, it's really about advancing a different storyline.

05/03/88 - Warrior v Harley Race - An interesting, solid little clash of eras match up.

15/07/88 - Warrior v Bobby Heenan - Weasel Suit Match - The standard Heenan weasel suit match, always good value with his usual ridiculous big bumping style.

29/08/88 - Warrior v Honkytonk Man - Intercontinental Title - Yeah it's just a squash really but an explosive and exciting one.

17/12/88 - Warrior v Honkytonk Man - IC Title - Underwhelming rematch really. Due to some choking spots we end up watching more of the crowd than we do of the actual match. A fun effort from Jimmy Hart keeps things interesting though.

11/02/89 - Warrior v Macho Man - WWF and IC Title match - A fun champ v champ brawl but there's MUCH better to come from these two.

28/08/89 - Warrior v Rick Rude - IC Title - These two knocked up quality scraps together and this is a mini epic. Good stuff.

28/10/89 and 25/11/89 - Warrior v Andre the Giant - IC Title - The first is so short it's more of a chaotic angle than a match really. The second is longer but is from the late stages of Andres career so it's dominated by bear hugs and a lame finish. Fun curiosities though.

19/03/90 - Warrior v Mr Perfect - IC Title - Always loved Mr P and this is another big bumping masterclass in how to make your opponent look like a million bucks.

01/04/90 - Warrior v Hulk Hogan - WWF and IC Titles - A proper main event with great story telling. Exceeded expectations aided massively by a rabid crowd that hit fever pitch early and never let's up.

13/04/90 - Warrior v Ted Dibiase - WWF Title - This is relatively short but the Japanese crowd in the Egg Dome gives this a different feel. An entertaining curiosity.

28/07/90 - Warrior v Rick Rude - WWF Title - More fast paced fun from these guys.

23/11/90 - Warrior v Ted Dibiase - WWF Title - A slightly longer chance for these two to put on a show. Pretty formulaic but still fun.

07/01/91 - Warrior v Sergeant Slaughter - WWF Title - Shorter, more pace and less chaos than the match they'd have a few weeks later at Rumble 91. And probably better.

21/01/91 - Warrior v Macho King - Steel Cage Match - Relatively brief but fun blue barred brawl. In the post match, things get pretty chaotic and a little bit saucy.

24/03/91 - Warrior v Macho King - Career Ending Match - One of my all time favourite singles matches. Brilliant story telling, I love just as much now as I did all those years ago as a lad.

02/06/91 - Warrior v Undertaker - This is the early career, slow moving Undertaker so it was never gonna be a classic. Worth watching for the novelty value though.

14/11/92 - Warrior and Macho Man v Money Inc - Tag Title Match - Not much of a match really, more of a set up for the next PPV main event (which sadly never actually took place).

31/03/96 - Warrior v Hunter Hearst Helmsley - Poor old Tripper, treated like a jobber on the grandest stage. Wonder if he thought that was best for business......

23/06/96 - Warrior v Jerry Lawler - Another brief, high energy bout. Lawlers audience insulting entrance is probably the highlight though.

The following are Blu Ray exclusive......

24/10/86 - Dingo Warrior v Matt Bourne - Ok but not much more. Interesting seeing the future Doink though.

24/07/88 - Warrior and The British Bulldogs v Demolition and Mr Fuji - Decent stuff, bit sloppy towards the end. Always good to see the Bulldogs though.

23/02/90 - Warrior v Dino Bravo - IC Title - Another short showcase of the big mans move set which includes a bit of a set up for Wrestlemania 6.

30/03/91 - Warrior v Sergeant Slaughter - Back in Japan for this one with Japanese commentary to boot. A fun chaotic opening then a pretty standard match.

28/04/96 - Warrior v Goldust - IC Title - Shame to end like this, I've never liked this one. Possibly due to a knee injury to Dustin, this is a complete non match. Not sure it belongs on this set but it doesn't sour the overall mood.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
I got to say I never thought this dvd would come out with the WWE logo on it. The Warrior has always been my favorite wrestler. This DVD is the way I would like to remember the Worrior. I did meet James Helwig at the Wrestle-slam in Manchester. Lets just say I was not such a fan after the meeting. However I am happy he buried all his hatchets. Like I said this is the way I would like to remember the Unlimate Warrior. Explosive, adrilinin pumping, and just the right touch of crazy. The only way I can describe the Warrior's impact on wrestling in his time period was like watching disney cartoons then suddenly been introduced to Munga and anime. Thats who the warrior character was a cartoon/comic character come to life. True his style probably would not fit into style of wrestling of today. However there are a number of things todays wrestlers have taken from the Warrior's style. Todays wrestlers are not just big and in shape but neet the speed and agility to go along with it. The there are moves like the People's Elbow, which is a slowed down version of Warrior's big splash, and Goldberg's spear is a ground version of the flying shoulder block.

The DVD is done in the same style of Bret Harts dungeon collection with The Warrior introducing each match and segment. The first disc is Warrior's career. Then a number of squash matches. The thing you have to rember is at the time there was no RAW to feed into the soap opera that is wrestling, the Superstars would squash the non superstars. Now you are a superstar by getting into the WWE and the superstars fight each other. Back then I had to wait for the main events for this to happen. The biggest matches on this disc where a couple of matches against Randy Savage, Ravishing Rick Rude and Andre the Giant.

Disc 2 contains, Warrior's setup to Wrestlemania 6, good match with Mr Perfect, the title for title match match with Hulk Hogan, Rick Rude, and Sargent Slaughter. These are probobly the biggest matches of the Warrior's career. The time he was at the top of the business.

Disc 3 starts Warrior fude with Randy Savage ending with their career ending match. Then Warrior's many dissappearences and returnes including his WCW segment. I am glad Warrior was inducted into the hall of fame, being a former world chamipon it is only right. Terrible news about his death. I wish his family all well and my humble prayers. I really hope this DVD collection goes towards the Warrior being remembered in a good light. I hope this reminds people of his legecy, and make atlest a financial contabution to his family.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 May 2014
Yet another of wrestling’s greatest and most-beloved legends has departed for that glorious ring in the sky. When I heard about the Ultimate Warrior’s untimely & premature passing, I was like every other wrestling fan; absolutely shocked and deeply saddened.

What made the death of Jim ‘Warrior’ Hellwig so unfathomable was that the weekend prior FINALLY saw him take his rightful place in the WWE Hall of Fame, make his heroic return at WrestleMania XXX, and then address the WWE Universe (or rather his ‘Warriors’) the following night on Raw, delivering a heartfelt (and eerily ironic) speech, thanking his fans and saying that the spirit of the Ultimate Warrior would live forever.

One thing to take solace from this heartbreaking loss is that after years of fighting, Vince McMahon and Warrior were finally able to make peace and the 2014 Hall of Famer’s legacy has been honoured and celebrated the way it SHOULD be. The Warrior’s story has received the happy ending it deserved, so it’s with that content attitude (and desire to pay my respects) that I too purchased Ultimate Warrior: The Ultimate Collection.

Now, everyone doubtless remembers the LAST DVD based on this man; 2005’s infamous Self-Destruction of The Ultimate Warrior. It was without doubt one of WWE Home Video’s most shocking and controversial releases, certainly its most shameless, which saw Vince, Jim Ross, Ted DiBiase and Bobby Heenan (among others) tear down Warrior with such profanity it was unbelievable! However, the DVD was one of my favourites due to its presentation, special-features and summary of Warrior’s career accomplishments. Yes, it was NOTORIOUSLY one-sided, but nevertheless outstanding.

THIS TIME round, Warrior was finally given the chance to tell his side of the story, and before & after the main-programme, he addresses his fans in typical Warrior character. Throughout the feature itself, Jim Hellwig recounts his life & career in a humble, respectful & (ultimately) grateful tone; certainly NOT as the psychotic, disrespectful & self-centred rogue DiBiase and Heenan (for example) labelled him several years back!

The presentation, format and insights from Warrior himself, certainly make this Ultimate Collection feel MUCH more honest & gratifying than its ‘Self-Destruction’ counterpart, but what makes the experience truly positive is that Warrior takes the time to praise all those who worked with him to help get the Ultimate Warrior over; not just legends like Rick Rude, Andre the Giant, Macho Man Randy Savage and (of course) Hulk Hogan, but all the various jobbers who were fed to him to build-up his character. The level of Warrior’s gratitude to those who helped him, his honesty regarding his limitations and the remarkable thought-process behind the development of his character…it all speaks volumes about Jim Hellwig as a person, a talent and a creative genius.

One of the concerns I had about this 3-Disc DVD (admittedly) is if there would be enough material to spread out across the entire set. Warrior being the kind of performer/wrestler he was, technical fanatics obviously won’t find the same depth of rich viewing you’d expect from Ric Flair/Bret Hart/Shawn Michaels DVDs. But while this Ultimate Collection isn’t an overall masterpiece (compared to say the CM Punk and Chris Jericho sets), this production has nevertheless been very well compiled. You’ve got a variety of Warrior squashes, some thrilling matches, some classic ones, all interwoven with some fantastic Warrior promos and segments (amidst the discussions with Jim Hellwig himself). The balance & structure is superb overall, making this set not only a positive portrayal of the Warrior’s legacy, but a worthy one as well.

Matches range from terrible-to-enlightening-to-thrilling-to-legendary. There are many squashes included here (the majority being against jobbers to build-up the Warrior), but the most prominent of these is a fascinating UWF Tag Bout featuring the Bladerunners Tag Team (with Sting) and the spectacular domination of Intercontinental Champion, the Honky Tonk Man (from SummerSlam 1988). Of course, there are much meatier bouts which showcase the potential the Ultimate Warrior had, and how awesome he could compete given the right opponent.

A rare match against Harley Race is a fine example of this, and then the first Warrior classic comes in the form of the fantastic Intercontinental Title Match from SummerSlam 1989 against Rick Rude. Other legendary wars include the epic Career-Ending Match against Randy Savage (perhaps Warrior’s greatest in-ring rival) from WrestleMania 7, and (of course!) the Ultimate Challenge against Hulk Hogan from WrestleMania 6; a spectacular battle-of-the-titans which sees Warrior become the only man to hold both WWE and Intercontinental Championships.

Other highlights include an absolutely thrilling WWE Title defence against Ted DiBiase from Main Event, a lively brawl against Sergeant Slaughter, a hilarious/effective ‘Weasel Suit’ match against Bobby Heenan and some rare, interesting bouts against Andre the Giant and the Undertaker. With regards to promos & segments, some of Warrior’s finest moments are here-to-be-found. Such as Warrior’s intense ‘Crash the Plane’ promo, his shocking WCW Nitro debut, ending Brother Love’s career with decimation, a sinister (and now doubly disturbing) appearance on Paul Bearer’s Funeral Parlour, and absolutely terrific segments with Goldust and Jerry Lawler from 1996.

Alas, it’s not all good. The infamous WrestleMania 12 squash against Hunter Hearst Helmsley (Triple H) is somewhat unnecessary, and the Jerry Lawler bout from King of the Ring 1996 is unfortunate in that it’s a lacklustre affair that fails to live-up to such brilliant hype. A return bout against the Honky Tonk Man drags badly, the classic WWE title match against Savage from SummerSlam 1992 is missing, and it’s disappointing that Warrior doesn’t go into detail over certain issues (i.e. his departures and falling-outs with Vince).

Although a notably flawed release, Ultimate Warrior: The Ultimate Collection remains a terrific collection for fans, and a positive tribute to a man who will be sorely missed. To Warrior’s family, I give my deepest condolences for their loss. To Warrior fans old and new, purchase of this DVD is essential.

Rest in Peace, Ultimate Warrior. Your spirit will indeed live forever.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
It's a good set to get and the matches are nearly correct. Always was the biggest star in the business
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 April 2014
Watching this in the days after the tragic news of The Ultimate Warrior’s death was in itself an eerie experience  It’s not uncommon to sit down and watch the career highlights of a dead wrestler on a format like this, but rarely is the gap between release date and tragedy so painfully short.  It’s therefore hard to be totally impartial about this collection.  After the WWE’s inflammatory “Self-Destruction” DVD many years ago it was hard to ever imagine a day when Warrior stepped foot in a WWE ring, never mind the day that we saw a “sympathetic” release like this dedicated to him.  But if there is one thing we’ve learned in the past few decades, time can heal a lot of wounds in the wrestling business.  Thankfully these wounds were healed whilst Warrior was still with us.
Warrior always did spilt opinion, and few will be coming to this collection for two/three discs of five-star classic wrestling action, but it does do a good job of capturing the energy and excitement that the Warrior could bring.  The set is a series of what the man himself calls “Warrior Moments”, interspersed with a sit down interview with the man himself.  Warrior is candid, as you might expect, but it would also be very fair to say that there are a number of things he doesn’t really get into, such as the real reasons behind his departures from the WWE.
Other than the two opening matches, a very short Bladerunners squash from UWF and a Dingo Warrior match from WCCW, all bouts on here are from his WWE stint. Of course the first highlights Warrior’s team with the man now known as Sting so its an interesting thing to watch.   Moving onto WWE.  Squash matches with familiar faces Barry Horrowitz and Steve Lombardi are followed by an interesting bout with Harley Race.  Warrior is as complimentary to the “jobbers” as he is to Race.  Far from being the “ungrateful” star you might have been led to believe he was, Warrior is more than willing to give credit where credit is due.
Then it’s arguably the greatest squash match of all time from SummerSlam 1988, as Warrior relieved Honky Tonk Man of the Intercontinental Title.  Simple, but effective.  And boy, was Warrior over.  We get a sneak-peek at what was to come opposite Randy Savage in a February 1989 World Vs IC Champ battle, before another stellar battle with Rick Rude from SummerSlam 1989.  That Warrior had to be “carried” is perhaps inarguable but he still has to get credit for hanging in with the likes of Savage and Rude when he worked with them.  And without his genuine connection with the crowds, none of it would have been possible. Warrior says that he had great times wrestling both of them and tells some funny stories about the “intensity” of Savage throughout this collection.
From there we get a look at his feud with Andre The Giant.  Again if you believe Bobby Heenan from the “Self-Destruction” DVD, Andre hated Warrior.  Here Warrior suggests that the two got on well and notes that if Andre DIDN’T like you, you know about it pretty quickly.  Then we move to his World Title reign.  Seeing the “Crash The Plane” promo is always great fun and for two supposedly “limited” workers, the WrestleMania VI main event against Hulk Hogan is an entertaining spectacle, even today.  We don’t get his good Steel Cage match from SummerSlam 1990 against Rude, but we do get other matches against Rick Rude and the likes of  Ted DiBiase and Sgt. Slaughter before getting to WrestleMania VII, where The Ultimate Warrior “retires” Macho King Randy Savage in an excellent bout.
Warrior is then seen on the Funeral Parlour and in a subsequent bout with The Undertaker before we touch on the Ultimate Maniacs team of Warrior and Savage, complete with a match against Money Inc.  The 1996 return is covered with his squash match victory over HHH from WrestleMania XII and a terrible King of The Ring 1996 bout with Jerry Lawler. We finish with a brief look at his WCW run, with his debut promo being shown.  Warrior admits that once he got there he felt “disgusted” that he had basically gone there for a pay-cheque and soon realised that the only reason he’d been brought in was for Hogan to get his win back.  He ends with another eerie speech, telling us that this is not the end of the story and that there would be more to tell in the future.
Even if you are a “work-rate” fan it would be difficult to dismiss the sheer popularity and excitement that the Warrior could generate in his prime.  Whilst this match misses out some of his finest moments, (such as the SummerSlam 1992 match versus Savage) it’s a comprehensive enough look at the man and the character to make the experience very worth while.  And whilst it is indeed terribly sad that he has passed away so soon after recording this, there’s also the pleasure of at least knowing he got to tell his story the way he wanted to tell it before he passed.
The BluRay extras add five more bouts dating from 1986 to 1996, including a match from WCCW and a six man where he teams with The British Bulldogs to take on Demolition and Mr Fuji. There’s also contract signing segments for WrestleMania VI and VIII as well.  As normal with WWE releases, the extras are probably worth the extra few pounds if you have the technology.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
I was shocked to hear of this wrestler's untimely demise, he was only inducted into the wwe hall of fame last week and was on wwe raw. This dvd set, I see as being a tribute to the ultimate warrior and what a tribute! the man himself came across well, he wasn't without a sense of humour and told his story with candour, insight and intelligence. I enjoyed the matches, there were about a dozen matches or more that I hadn't seen issued on any format and are gladly welcomed into my wwe wrestling dvd collection.
The first dvd has the warrior talk us through how he got started in the business and showed how young and green he was when his career began. the matches are mainly excellent, with the ones with Andre the Giant and rick rude being amongst the best.
The second dvd was a bit brief but I enjoyed the warrior's matches against Mr. Perfect, Rick Rude, Sgt. Slaughter and Ted Dibiase. classic matches every one of them!
The 3rd disc was a little disappointing, I thought the warrior should have given his version of events as to why he left the company in '91, '92 and '96, especially after the ear-bashing his reputation received in that infamous documentary, "the Self-Destruction of the Ultimate Warrior."
As this set stands, I am mainly satisfied with it and enjoyed seeing more matches from wwe's golden age, when the company had both great performers as well as great characters.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
So after almost two decades of acrimony between Warrior and the WWE, broken bridges were mended and he was finally welcomed back to the company. First came the 2K14 video game and later in April 2014 the blu ray, the hall of fame induction & his final public appearances at WMXXX and Raw. The timing of his death was erie, almost as if once he had finally got the recognition he deserved and the right story had been told his mission was over; It was time to load the spaceship with the rocket fuel and return to parts unknown.

After the smear campaign 'Self Destruction' DVD of 2005, a true career retrospective that did UW justice was long overdue and 'The Ultimate Collection' does just that. What we've got here is about 30 matches, all remastered looking much better than they do on youtube, interspersed with a new interview with Warrior filmed at his home in January of this year as he gives introductions to certain matches or reminisces about other legends such as Macho or Andre. All of UW's greatest matches are here and with a running time of over eight hours you will not be left unsatisfied.

My only gripes were that they could have included a few more promos (They were a big part of what defined UW, I think there are only about 5-6 in total throughout) and that some noteworthy matches are strangely absent;- Rude v Warrior (WMV), Losing the belt to Sgt Slaughter, The Papa Shango feud, Macho v Warrior SS 92, more of his 1996 matches and the admittedly crap yet still iconic WCW Hogan rematch etc etc. It would be nice to see a volume 2 that had this stuff & the HOF speech perhaps narrated by Dana Warrior?

Overall this is an Awesome collection packed with some of the greatest wrestling matches of all time. Ultimate Warrior was a true wresting legend and icon;- an absolute beast in the ring, underrated in his in-ring abilities and with more charisma and intensity in his little finger than half of the current WWE roster. Rest in Power ULTIMATE WAARRYAAARRRR!!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)