Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
9
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2014
My first love is classical/orchestral music but as a kid I grew up on first the Beatles then Abba. Both were enormous in Australia so
to find an orchestral Abba was something I had to try. The object of any music is to enjoy and this recording is hugely enjoyable.
The Philharmonia Orchestra (one of Britains oldest & trusted orchestras) under Carl Davis is excellent and is obviously having a good time playing this music. As a side note Carl Davis & Royal Liverpool Philharmonic have a recording of The Beatles music also 5 stars in my opinion. ENJOY
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
The orchestral interpretation of the ABBA songs are very well arranged and played. Carl Davis did a very fine work and the orchestra kept very closely to the songs original tempo, making it a pleasure to listen to. The album is ideal for relaxed or serious listening enjoyment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
simple songs done really well with a twist in the arrangements turns out even better than the beatles trearment nobody could dislike the way it has been put together love it lets have more there is a market for this yes yes yes
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
This is certainly the best Abba cover album produced to date.The recent Bond for Orchestra by the same personal was brilliant this is outstanding.Be shocked anyone who are used to listening to the Philharmonia Orchestra in its more traditional music role for they really let their hair down on this album.The second track Voules Vous is magnificent a disco dance track !! Most of the arrangements work as the music of Abba can easily be adapted to symphonic form but this album has real guts!!.I shudder to think what Carl Davis will come out with next!! Anyone who likes crossover projects will love this.Nothing wrong with a symphony orchestra going well outside it's normal box!! The Philharmonia have surpassed themselves here.A must but especially for Abba fans you won't be disapointed!
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
I wasn't sure at first if I should get this, but I'm so glad that I did!!!

This is by far the best "Tribute" cd for ABBA!

I would pay to see this orchestra perform ABBA live!...and I'm sure I would not be the only one!....

this is a must cd for any ABBA fan!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
I t didn't do anything for me on first listening. Maybe if I play it a second time It might. Carl Davis is one of the best ,so it should have been the very best, but failed .That's just my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
Fantastic to hear these great tunes by a superb orchestra, send shivers down my spine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
was a bit disappointed with it. Orchestration not as good as I had hoped.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
A different outlook on ABBA
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.99
£8.99
£10.99

Need customer service? Click here