Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
19
4.1 out of 5 stars


on 14 May 2017
I first met John Waddington-Feather when he taught English at Keighley Boys' Grammar School in the 1960's. Always positive and with a permanent smile he kept our attention by telling all manner of stories. After he left Keighley I heard nothing further of him until recently when I discovered he had sadly passed away. I had no inkling he was such a prolific writer. I chose The Dance-Hall Mystery as the front cover depicts the old Grammar School and Mechanics Institute which are now both demolished. I enjoyed the book immensely. Much shorter than the average detective novel but packed a lot in and demonstrated that John had an active mind and an aptitude for this type of writing. Having spent almost 50 years in the West Yorkshire Police I can relate to all the characters depicted and the way in which they will have communicated. I am now looking forward to reading the other titles in the Blake Hartley series. Thank you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
What will follow now that the team seems to be moving on to pastures new. Will there be a turn of events?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
I'm from Lancashire but I still like the picture give about local live in Yorkshire.
I love detective novels & these keep you on your toes till the end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
I chose the four star rating rather than five star because it didn't move as sickly as I thought it could
However I still recommend it to other readers
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
Plot was predictable as this author has used it several times. Didn't leave anything to the imagination twist at the end wasn't impressive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
Another very good mystery
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
I like all the Hartley novels.I like the combination of priest/detective! I also enjoy his side kick Khan.The combination is good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
These books are exciting and unputdownable. Can't wait for the next one. Have read all of them and enjoyed thenm all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
Love these books. If you like Peter Robinson or Stephen Booth you will like these
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
I have all read all Blake Hartley books and have enjoyed all of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse