Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
54
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2014
There is a sizeable number of compilations available tracing mid-20th century girl group pop. This 60 song effort - which is comprised of A- and B-sides released between 1960 and 1962 - adds to that list. It boasts a few of the very best and most well-known examples of that oft-derided genre: The Crystals' 'He's A Rebel'; The Marvelettes' 'Beechwood 4-5789'; The Chiffons' 'He's So Fine'; The Shirelles' 'Soldier Boy'; The Chantels' 'Look In My Eyes', and The Cookies' 'Chains'. They offer compelling evidence that sweet harmonies, intelligent musical arrangements, and emotionally simplistic lyrics can sometimes be a winning combination. He's A Rebel is also graced with a smattering of half-forgotten gems as well, like The Ronettes' 'Silhouettes', The Donays' 'Devil In His Heart', and The Ikettes' 'Trouble On My Mind'.

But this cheap-looking, cheaply-priced compilation doesn't convince often enough. That is reflected in the fact that many artists aren't represented by their best material: The Paris Sisters, The Supremes and Martha Reeves & The Vandellas are better than 'You Bet I Would' 'Let Me Be The One', 'Time Changes Things', and 'I'll Have To Let Him Go'; as their big hits 'I Love How You Love Me'; 'Baby Love' and 'Dancing The Street' - which aren't included here - prove. Whilst the presence of so many indifferent B-sides - like 'No One Ever Tells You', 'Too Strong To Be Strung Along', 'The Things I Want To Hear (Pretty Words)' and 'You Should Have Told Me' - spread out across this unwieldy 3CD package also doesn't aid much matters either. Issues with playing the CD's through media player's, difficult-to-read liner notes and occasionally very poor mastering solidify the feeling of a brilliant opportunity maybe only half-realised.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Ok for the price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
EXCELLENT
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
A lot of vague music and some gems!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
Music from the sixties. Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
Excellent price makes it a must for both afficianados and those new to the genre. Its worth buying as a present for someone yet to discover this era and style(s) of music.
It's an interesting range of big hits from the best known groups (He's a Rebel by the Crystals & Tell Him by the Exciters) through lesser known tracks by the same big groups (Let Me Go The Right Way by the Supremes or Doctor of Hearts by the Chiffons), includes some well known tunes from lesser known groups (I Sold My Heart to the Junkman- The Blue-Belles) and best of all includes some obscure tracks that you might never have heard before and will then wonder why they aren't standards.
For me A Little Tear by Linda Martell & The Anglos would be reason enough to purchase this collection on its own. Although Linda went on to be the first African American hit country artist with a later album (soon to be rereleased on CD), this track is not available anywhere else and is a gem that should be in collection of the genre. If you purchase this its hard to believe you won't discover a similar track yourself.
As another reviewer has indicated this is all public domain material and although the packaging is quite attractive-who could complain about Ronnie & the girls, and all their hairdos gracing the cover-it is certainly not of Ace, Varese or Bear standard in terms of the almost non-existent track or artist information.
But who cares, for this price you get an eclectic set of 60 great tracks that include some stuff thats just not available anywhere else. Anyway, if this turns you on to the girl group sound you can always find out more on the web, and if you are already hooked, you'll just be thrilled to have added some hard to find tracks to your library.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2015
good cds and it was a used 1 to
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
If you're a sixties soul or girl group fan you'll probably have a lot of these tracks already. But in my opinion this set is worth getting for the one track My Dream by The Sharmettes. I'd never heard this before and it's an absolute classic doowop song. (Up there with Little Darlin' by The Diamonds etc). If you like doowop, soul and sixties pop you should buy this.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
At the time of writing this review there was no track listing given.

I put the tracks on to tell potential buyers what's on the CDs.

I think most reasonable people would agree that if you thinking of buying a compilation set then it is important to know what is on the Cds?
But Amazon finally get around to putting the track listing, and in this case the ability to hear snippets of the tracks.
This makes my original listing look silly.

So please excuse this duplication?
Here is the review.

This is bound to be one of the more popular releases in the fabulous run of old record labels.
Simply put ther really isn't a bad track on here.

These sets really are a steal at this price.

The simple reason that these sets are as cheap as chips is that the tracks are public domain.

That means the rights to the music has gone and any old Dick or Harry can release them.

The bad news for the previous rights holders means good news for us, the buyers for if the price is too high we will not buy.
So the sets are at a more than reasonable price.
Next year the law changes to fall in line with the Americans and the 50 year rule will be finished.

Now these sets really are a mixed bag.

Some tracks and artists you will know- others not.

But that is the real joy- you just might discover some tracks you have never heard and enjoy if not then the FF feature is just for you-but I really don't think you'd want to miss a single track.

The set is excelent BUT really recommend that you get this collection while you can.

Enjoy.

CD1

1. He's A Rebel - The Crystals

2. Tell Him - The Exciters

3. Beechwood 4-5789 - The Marvelettes

4. Soldier Boy - The Shirelles

5. Let Me Go The Right Way - The Supremes

6. Don't Hang Up - The Orlons

7. Look In My Eyes - The Chantels

8. Over There - The Bobbettes

9. Hard To Get - The Blossoms

10. The Duchess Of Earl - Bobbie Smith & The Dream Girls

11. You're A Hard Guy To Please - The Contessas

12. I Sold My Heart To The Junkman - Patti LaBelle & The Bluebelles

13. Come On Let Me Try - Linda & The Del Rios

14. Let Me Be The One - The Paris Sisters

15. Silhouettes - The Ronettes

16. Doctor Of Hearts - The Chiffons

17. You Should Have Told Me - The Angels

18. He's Sure The Boy I Love - The Crystals

19. Everybody Loves A Lover - The Shirelles

20. My Dream - The Sharmettes

CD2

1. Chains - The Cookies

2. Son In Law - The Blossoms

3. My Baby Won't Come Back - Martha Reeves & The Vandellas

4. Mama Said - The Shirelles

5. What A Nice Way To Turn Seventeen - The Crystals

6. I'm Blue (The Gong-Gong Song) - The Ikettes

7. Playboy - The Marvelettes

8. You Bet I Would - The Ronettes

9. Cry Baby Cry - The Angels

10. Summertime - The Chantels

11. Mr Magic Moon - The Kim Sisters

12. Your Heart Belongs To Me - The Supremes

13. You're Gonna Pay - The Neevets

14. Never Never - The Chiffons

15. Joey Baby - Anita & Th' So-And-So's

16. The Wah-Watusi - The Orlons

17. The Things I Want To Hear (Pretty Words) - The Shirelles

18. No One Ever Tells You - The Crystals

19. Are You Satisfied - The Bobbettes

20. Believe Me My Angel - The Veneers

CD3

1. Uptown - The Crystals

2. Time Changes Things - Diana Ross & The Supremes

3. Too Strong To Be Strung Along...- The Marvelettes

4. Tonights The Night - The Shirelles

5. On The Wagon - The Charmaines

6. A Little Tear (Was Falling From My Eyes) - Linda Martell And The Anglos

7. The Search Is Over - The Blossoms

8. I Don't Like It Like That (pt. 1) - The Bobbettes

9. Still - The Chantels

10. Trouble On My Mind - The Ikettes

11. I'll Have To Let Him Go - Martha Reeves & The Vandellas

12. Hard Way To Go - The Exciters

13. Pop Pop Pop Pie - The Sherrys

14. Mighty Fine - O'Nita Hammond & Group

15. Tell Me - The Sharmettes

16. I Don't Think So - The Shirelles

17. No More Tomorrows - The Chiffons

18. Stranger In My Arms - The Cookies

19. My Love - The Shondells

20. He Knows I Love Him Too Much - The Paris Sisters

21. Cookies -Stephanie D'Or And the Dockers
44 Comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
Got for my husband and he is very happy chappy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)