Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
423
3.9 out of 5 stars
Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 18 June 2014
Perhaps I expected to much of this release that is why I have only given it 4 stars. It does not quite come up to the previous films involving Harrison Ford although there was plenty of action, but Chris Pine did not come up to the mark as Jack Ryan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
Not a patch on any other Jack Ryan film, wasted effort.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
A good action movie that gives the back-story to the character of Jack Ryan. Residents of Hatfield in Hertfordshire can have fun spotting the Hilltop shops and St John's Church in South Hatfield. Good performances by the supporting actors too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
Thankfully, Branagh directs a competent if uninspired reboot with a steady hand. The film amounts to a decent espionage tale with a few classy action scenes thrown in. The locations, score and cinematography are dripping with the class you would expect and the screenplay is marginally interesting. Ryan's first kill gives us echoes of Casino Royal, it is uncompromising, brutal and effective and the rest of the action is well staged even if it does conform to the 12a certificate. The actors get stuck into a half decent script and I found them convincing enough although Keira does look uncomfortable at times. Branagh does well as a stereotypical russian villian and the plot moves along at a decent pace. I saw this on a cheap "orange" ticket and might have been disappointed if I'd paid full cinema price.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
Always been a tom clancy follower got all his books ,this does justice to jack Ryan but in a modern way very up to date but very much at the beginning of his story ,action good and believable,and it flowed well ,definitely worth a watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2016
Nice addition to the Jack Ryan collection (forgetting the Ben affleck one).
Nice disc with great audio and visual clarity, another disc that can showcase rich colours, dark blacks and clean crisp scenes. Exactly what bluray is for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
Best movie I ve seen for months, yes I saw all those Oscar nominated movies etc and have been so disapointed. Some have said this is an old fashioned movie? It is! It actually has a story, suspence, holds you and never lets go. Filmed in cities I know well, London, Moscow and New York. Does not overdo the action, so when it does happen, it holds you throughout. Well acted and directed. I just hope we get more like this one.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
A very good film, but as big fan of the late Tom Clancy the ending to this film was a bit rushed. It came together too quickly after getting to know the character and then throwing him into the deep end to reach the climax of the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
Decent reboot of the franchise sticking to the spirit of the origins from the novels. Very watchable as long as you're able to engage a willing suspension of disbelief. Worth the rental fee. Streaming HD was excellent quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2014
Boy's in the house love it. Girls found it lacking shirtless action from Chris Pine. It does have a good plot, but my economics is quite dated and found the reasoning a bit hard going.................. less beer next time?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)