Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 14 May 2016
Saw this for the first time in years. It features two things I love Richard Harris and rugby league....Rachel Roberts is amazing as troubled Mrs Hammond, and the northern setting though bleak, not to mention the total lack of glamour in life and sport make this the type of reality fantasy of many a t.v. channel in 2016!. The contempt for the working man lifted out of the depths is so haunting, and the fickle hands from top down does still strike a raw nerve.....just simply an amazing film....quite long.....but magical and bold.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2017
One of the best films ever made, a memorable masterpiece of British cinema. This Sporting Life features uncompromising directing, profoundly human acting and a powerful story underpinned by interwoven filmic metaphors linking sport to social behaviour. It's the supreme movie about sport with a perfectly calibrated balance between the sporting sub-plot and the main plot based on the odd, moving love-hate relationship between the two main characters.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2015
A stunning version of the fllm. The restoration from the original print has been very well done. Compelling viewing. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2017
obviously a great film BUT the copy I was sent is virtually unwatchable. frequent stops
Unfortunately this system does not allow no stars!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2018
I honestly think it's rather overrated. Lacks the power and focus of other Brit films from the time. It's hard to discern what it's actually trying to say. Still, Rachel Roberts is great, and the northern location is interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2017
I really enjoyed this. A gritty classic from the great days of British cinema.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2017
A hard down to earth fine British film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2018
Great film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2015
A gritty tale set in the north of England, around the game of Rugby League. Given real authenticity by one of our greatest actors, full of edge and danger, Richard Harris, the like of which we don't see anymore
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2016
A classic film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse