Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
28
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
21
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2014
Genuinely enjoyable comedy with Robert Morley and Michael Redgrave. The script is tight and fast-paced, the actors are uniformly excellent and the overall result is a gentle and very funny comedy. I cannot recommend it highly enough. If you enjoy British comedies from the 1940s and 50s, you will probably like this one a lot.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
Both Michael Redgrave and Robert Morley shine in this gentle comedy which is typical of the type of film that British studios excelled in. Just sit back and enjoy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2010
well realy i bought the film for my parents which they were delighted with the video. it stars mickael redgrave which is about a ex-crook desperate to keep his lawyer son from finding out about his wicked past. Sounds like the plot of a po-faced melodrama, but it's actually a joyous comedy.made in 1958
the star cast are- Jeremy Burnham, Elizabeth Sellars, Ronald Squire, George Coulouris, Joan Hickson, Lionel Jeffries, Harold Goodwin, Meredith Edwards, Brenda Bruce, David Hutcheson, John le Mesurier, Michael Trubshaw, Reginald Beckwith, Moultrie Kelsall, Mary Kerridge, Irene Handl, Allan Cuthbertson, Sam Kydd, John Hewer, John Warwick
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 December 2014
I was beginning to get concerned about Network soundtracks (eg "INVASION"), but this release is very good. Excellent B/W clear picture 16.9 ratio, with good sound. Extras are a trailer and Images. No subs. The film is very much an Ealing style "British" comedy firmly rooted in the fifties. None the worse for that of course, and it is well acted by a huge cast of good character actors (Hickson/Jeffries/Kydd/Le Mes etc.) but the film is stolen by Morley who sets the bar very high in irascible judges. I wasn't very comfortable with Redgrave, but that's me. A gentle family comedy. Recomended
44 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In 1956 Michael Redgrave starred with Audie Murphy in THE QUIET AMERICAN and returned to London to play in this exceedingly well-made picture with the cast which persuades one to add it to one's collection. After this year, two decades of screen stardom, Redgrave began to take a back-seat from filming due to the onslaught of ill-health, and much of the remainder of his appearances would be welcome guest-starring roles.

One thing never said about this picture is that Hotspur Films Ltd., its maker (with British Lion) and a company headed by its veteran producer Paul Soskin, was controlled by Hammer: on the up from its classic touch on distinguished horror, it began to spread its re-investment across many different types of film subject. Hammer had briefly been in merger with British Lion before the war, when still under its founder S.Woolf Smith.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
great oldie from the past,a crook keeps getting sent to prison,when he comes out he always tells his son he was abroad,when the son grows up he wants to became a judge,the dad retires but just can't refuse to do another job.great fun
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2016
Delightful, light-hearted, beautifully plotted caper movie, with a swarm of familiar faces from the fifties and sixties in small roles; Irene Handel, Sam Kydd, Lionel Jefferies, Brenda Bruce, Joan Hickson and many more. A real treat , right up with the best of Ealing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
Another great black and white film, gentle humour lots of well known actors, no swearing, fun for the family.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2016
A wonderful comedic farce in a very particular English way. Michael Redgrave and Joan Hickson (the best Miss Marple) headline this brilliantly amusing Charles Crichton 1958 directed film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2016
I remember this from my youth. Great film. So glad that I can watch it when I like, from the comfort of my armchair.
Thanks. Pfjc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here