Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
30
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2014
Address the nation was probably my favourite album of 2012 and have since been looking forward to seeing what H.E.A.T come out with next. This time round I would say the prodution is better. The first few songs take a slightly different approach for the band, a little heavier with hints of crashdiet and hardcore superstar in there and H.E.A.T. pull it off great. Keyboards are also a bit more prominant throughout the album which was welcomed by me and fits in well with the guitar parts. The second half of the album is more AOR orientated with big sing along choruses and Europe esque guitar solos. Great album from a band that deserves to be bigger.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
Well what can you say about the new H.E.A.T album only that i'ts a slice of pure melodic class from start to finish. On my
second spin on the CD and it's sounding even better. Good melodic chorouses with well crafted solos which fill out the
songs perfectly. The songs have elements of Europe in there but in my opinion that is definatley a good thing. H.E.A.T
deserve to be a lot bigger than they are so lets see what happens in 2014. A definite buy for all fans of melodic rock.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2016
If you like your hard rock of the classic variety then HEAT are pretty much as good as it gets from the new breed. I prefer Eclipse personally, however, HEAT tick all of the aor boxes with catchy choruses and tight guitar breaks.

This takes you back to the aor haydays of the 80s and is up there with giants of that era like Tyketto or White Lion.

If classic 80s hair rock is your thing then you are going to love it. If not you are looking in the wrong place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
Another great album from H.E.A.T. Production wise, this is a little harder rocking than previous albums and the sound is clear. Not quite as instantly catchy as previous album Address The Nation which gripped me from first play. This one may take a few listens but I'm sure these songs will come to life with more plays. Having said that, based on first listen, opener Point Of No Return is a great bombastic track and first single A Shot At Redemption is solid enough to have crossover appeal and get the band noticed by the mainstream.

Other highlights include Inferno, Emergency and Mannequin Show (which has has caused the loss of one star in the rating for using the same chord progression as very popular songs by Streisand/Gibb and Britney. It's hard not to hear those other songs!).

For me, the best tracks on the album are Eye For An Eye and Enemy In Me tucked away at the end of the album. Superb modern rock. Get these tracks in an action move and HEAT could bring AOR back to the masses.

One gripe, the gang vocals on Laughing At Tomorrow and a few others don't quite hit the mark. I can see their point. With reference to the cover art, they have gone for a 'Warriors' vibe on a number of songs which is fine, but HEAT can do better backing vocals. Layered backing vocals here (a la Def Leppard) would improve this song massively.

Overall, a strong album, not quite as instantly catchy as it's predecessor but well worth a purchase and in line for best AOR album of 2014 so far and in Erik Gronwall, HEAT have one of the best singers in the business.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
amazon and lost.fm having been telling me for ages that i should be buying this cd and they were right. more quality aor from scandinavia, how do they manage to write such perfect songs, catchy tunes with a big production but mostly rubbish lyrics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
H.E.A.T complete their transition from cult AOR act to true stadium rock contenders with a record that delivers 12 slices of pure hard rock bliss. This album is getting great reviews right across the board (even Metal Hammer were impressed) and for good reason. Tearing Down The Walls is, quite simply, a modern masterpiece.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
Infectious & Energetic. I have a feeling this album will be on repeat in my car for the next year or so. Much like Address the Nation was/is/continues to be.

Standout tracks so far...Emergency, Enemy in Me and Point of No Return. However, every track on the album is a notch above!

I hope these guys break big worldwide.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
What a fantastic album ! Heard point of no return on planet radio, thought it sounded great so got the album. Only let down in my opinion is track 6 (mannequin show),which while i was listening to it my daughter commented that it was almost identical to "oops i did it again by Britney Spears". I can now not listen to the track with out thinking of that song and it drives me mad ! lol. Top three stand out tracks for me are 1) Point of no return 2) A shot at redemption 3) All the nights .All in all though in my opinion this album is exceptional from start to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
I dont normally post reviews, but really wanted to write about Tearing Down The Walls

I was fortunate enough to discover H.E.A.T last year, and am really pleased i did, since then have seen them live and now own all 4 of their albums, I have to admit i slightly prefer the last 2 albums. But all are recommended.Address the Nation was brilliant, but I think i prefer Tearing down the walls even more.

All the tracks on the album are high energy, guitar driven gems,

Stand out tracks are:

Point of No Return, didn't think it was possible to get a better opener than Breaking the Silence but this is it!
Eye for an Eye
Laughing at Tomorrow

How this band are not bigger than they are is beyond me and really hope they get all the success they deserve.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
What can I say? Brilliant, and their best album by far. Every song a gem, from the fantastic opening track 'Point Of No Return' through all the other high octane tracks, slower ballads and in between.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)