Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 16 February 2014
It's very hard to write anything like an objective review of this CD, as it is only last month that Abbado passed away - but even despite that, this is very very special music-making. The peerless interpretations, the amazing clarity and sensitivity of the playing (from soloist and orchestra) and the infectious sense of JOY in engaging with two of Mozart's greatest piano concerti (and in K466, some would argue, the greatest) swept me away entirely...and it was only as the breathtaking and exhilarating end of K466 arrived, and the applause and cheering began, that I remembered that Abbado is no longer with us... This is a worthy memorial.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2014
Whatever you have so far read about this recording being good could not possibly be an exaggeration. This is truly lovely playing by both Argerich and Abbado at the helm of his orchestra. I've known the C major concerto for more than 40 years but I have never heard it like this before. The grandeur is there as it should be but Argerich knows just how to melt into an altogether more sublime mood, especially in the slow movement and Abbado is right there with her. What gorgeous wind solos to accompany!

As for the D minor concerto, it has all the qualities of a sombre baritone deep in questing thought; delicious! This is dark chocolate music. The scherzo passage in the slow movement may not bite as much as in some recordings but it is all of a piece with the rest of the performance. As for the final few bars with that witty little trumpet riff in the major, it brings out the sunshine as it always should.

Now that Abbado is no longer with us, this is a treasure that I hope will never be out of the catalogue.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2015
Bought this CD after hearing a recommendation on BBC Radio 4. I am by no means an expert, and instead my enjoyment of these concertos is as someone who simply appreciates Mozart very well delivered. I am delighted that I followed the recommendation and made the purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2014
With Abbado's death this will never be repeated....I've never been totally sold on Argerich's Mozart, but 2 of the century's greatest musicians combine here in 2 unforgettable performances. Even Mozart would have loved to hear these 2 at their finest. Not to be missed, even if you've already got several CDs of K466 and K503
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 July 2015
I only have a half a dozen or so classical cds and at a push I would say that i do like both Bach and Mozart. I heard a radio review about this CD and bought it and its excellent. Sound is rich and you feel like you are there. A great piece to relax too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2014
These recordings are astonishing. Though very well known Concerti Martha Argerich establishes the authority of her absolute mastery of these works and the orcestra respond appropriately. Listening to this disc takes pleasure to a new level. They are simply wonderful and unique recordings.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2014
I can only echo what the other 5 star reviews have stated. My expectations were more than fulfilled. This is first class playing with an intuitive understanding between conductor and soloist. Exceptional orchestral playing as well. A recording to listen to repeatedly and to cherish.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2016
Altogether this isa mss enjoyable recording of two favourite concertos and an excellent tribute to Abbado and Agerich.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2015
fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2017
Excellent recording!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Mozart, Schubert & Stravinsky Piano Duos
£8.99
Mozart: Great Piano Concertos (2 CDs)
£5.99
Favourite Mozart - Piano Concertos Nos. 20, 21, 23, 27 etc.
£3.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)