Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
556
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2016
Certainly has its fair share of wooden acting. Paul's ability to pull a face which makes it look like he is doing a little poo in the car when engaging in a hair raising moment is particularly special. Its a bit of fun though and has some nice cars in it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The film is based on the highly successful 'video-game' series 'Need for Speed''
first introduced in 1994 by 'Electronic Arts'
Street Racer 'Toby Marshall' has inherited his fathers business, they build high-
speed cars, trouble is the business is in debt, when former partner 'Dino Brewster'
(Dominic Cooper) who 'Toby' (Aaron Paul) has historic issues with, offers 'Toby'
a job to complete the construction of 'Dino's' 'Ford Mustang' for 25% of the sale
price, a return that could give the business a $500.000 minimum lift
Reluctantly 'Toby' and his friends accept the proposal...........when complete, 'Dino'
challenges 'Toby' to a race for the 25% fee......'Toby's' friend 'Little Pete' wants in
on the race, despite reservations 'Toby' agrees, sadly during the three car race
'Pete' is involved in a fatal crash.
'Toby' is held responsible by the law, despite the fact he wasn't responsible for his
friends death.
'Toby' out on bail hears of a Cross-Country-Race called the 'Del-eon' which sets
off in 'San Francisco'
'Toby' faces a long drive to meet the sign -in deadline he is joined by 'Julia' (Imogen
Poots) who he'd met earlier with 'Dino' during the 'Mustang' deal, she wont take no for
an answer even though the parolee tries to scare her with his high-speed driving skills.
'Dino' gets wind of 'Toby's' intention to join the race, he places a bounty on his rivals
head, whoever stops him - collects.
This a a high-octane adrenaline rush with plenty of car-chase action along with intense
high risk racing sequences..........'Bears in the Air' ......'Smokey giving chase'
The film has been underrated in some quarters, visual content '5' -dialog '4'
(Don't miss the outtake during the credits)
( If you enjoy this one you might also want to take a look at 'Non Stop' another 'chase'
movie worth a spin.
Special Feature -
* Ties That Bind.
* The Circus is in Town.
* Monarch and Maverick.
* Deleted Scenes.
* Feature Audio Commentary with director - 'Scott Waugh' and 'Aaron Paul'
* Capturing Speed-Making an Authentic 'Car-Movie'
* Need for Speed -Rivals Trailer.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2016
An enjoyable translation of a racing game into a movie. The plot isn't exactly Shakespeare - but it does work for a movie that is all about fast cars and spectacular crashes.

Anyone who has ever played the game Need For Speed will be pleasantly surprised. Everyone else - you'll enjoy the ride too.

Like Smokey And The Bandit - but modern and without the racism or misogyny!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
"Need for Speed" makes the Fast & Furious franchise seem polished and gripping. Perhaps being tied to a video game imposed too many constraints on the film makers: the plot is thin and there are many long sequences of driving shot from behind the wheel that appear to mimic a video game (but which actually lessen the sensation of moving at speed). None of the characters are well-developed (Imogen Poots is wasted in a role that requires her to screech most of her lines and Michael Keaton tries really hard to add some colour to the proceedings) but, in the end, I just couldn't escape the feeling that I should be watching "Vanishing Point" instead (the one starring Barry Newman, not the dreadful 1997 remake starring [gasp!] Viggo Mortensen).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
I'm glad that I never listen to film critics! This film got a bad Critical response from Rotten Tomatoes but then again if we only watched films that critics like, the world would be a very dark place indeed... Now onto the film... this isn't a fast and furious wannabe, I found the film fun, creative and had a great concept of speed (something I always hated about the NOS filled early F&F franchise. The only thing better than the camera angles is the sound track... from Marshal Motors to Switching Seats, the music gives the film real personality.

The cast is again brilliant, every actor nails the character they play.. Tobey's crew gives an impression that they really have been lifelong friends way before the film starts.. The love interest of Toby is Julia Maddon played by Imogen Poots, again hats off to the producer, 1) because I fancy her and 2) because her character actually brings a personality to the film as well as just a pretty face..

The clothing department might have been picked out by a guy straight out of a media course (bad guy wears black and good guys wear white right?) and some of the stunts do stretch the laws of physics.. I'm not talking about the grasshopper stunt, but rather the police car axle trick.. But that's the movies and I wouldn’t have it any other way...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2016
It's fine, tho don't expect anything groundbreaking or as good as the Fast series. Also the empty lifeless female character leaves little to be desired, he has to teach her how to drive in a 'romantic' scene like she is a learner driver even tho she drove the hyper car to his house like a boss, before he's even drove it himself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2016
Lots of fancy cars and action all the way. It's no Fast & Furious, but is a decent alternative and worth a watch, especially if you are getting tired of the same old, same old format and story line of Fast & Furious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2016
When I saw the trailer, I thought it looked like a decent film to buy. Upon watching though, it's clear that it's more suited for teenagers to watch. Not my cup of tea. Arrival of the film was before expected and in good condition though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
I am not giving 5 stars as a movie in general , but as a movie as this type.

Now, I am not this sure if this is fare or not but I am going to compare it to the other most successful car series Fast and Furious . I.'ve just seen the 7th part yesterday and again it was a very big disappointment . What I hate most at F&F is that they used already the normal idea of car racing so in order to sell more cra-p to people they invent all kind of aberrant scenarios . In F&F 12 they will probably race on the bottom of the Ocean or in another galaxy . Just ridiculous . On the other hand NFS I think it succeeded pretty well in recreating the drive feeling and atmosfere of racing. Some of the pictures are really beautiful with really nice contrast .
F&F is 90 % computer animated and the driving scenes look like a stroboscopic manga cartoon . NFS is just the opposite , almost all the movie has been composed of real old school stunts and with real sets ( no need to show 6 different exotic cities to make it look good ) .
The dialogues of F&F are so kitschy an fake made up just to bling-bling (as the background actor - babes are ) . In NFS this part is more human and they look more natural .

All in all its an ok movie and a good one if you're into car racing genre
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
I play this game on consoles and loved it. Then I watched the film and I loved it even more than the game. I think the cars are fantastic but think it ends in a sad way. I think it is one of the best and is worth the money to buy it. I found it quite amusing and funny.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)