Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
932
4.6 out of 5 stars
True Detective - Season 1 [DVD] [2014]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 September 2015
Gripping from start to finish, hard to watch in places, a set that takes you on a journey with the characters, a great climax at the end and humour all the way through as well, I literally have no complaints with this, which is why it gets 5 stars from me, it's the strangest of programmes there's no crash, bang, wallop stuff it's almost like nothing happens all the way through yet there is so much going on, as you can probably tell, I love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
You think you've seen it all, but you're wrong. It's true, this series builds on the experience of so many others. The serial killer reminds the viewer of the ones in "Dexter", the landscapes of those in Breaking Bad (I suppose an American might not think so - Louisiana is probably different from New Mexico, but not so much for us Europeans). The couple of the detectives ... so different, in everything, but they have to work together ... So, the "parts" we've seen before, but the "whole" sums up to something truly spectacular. Not a boring moment. Many "wow" moments. Plus food for thought. Great music too : always a bonus ! What more can someone ask for ?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
Saw it on sky excellent series in response to another reviewer got mine from a superstore beginning with
s and with nector points cost me less then the £30.99 asking price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
Bought as a present for my husband and both him and my 21 year old son loved the series. They would highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
One of the best box sets I have watched, for me this is up there with the Soprano's, one of my all time favourites!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
I don't write many reviews, but just had to after watching this. You will never come across anything as compelling as this on TV. It is hard to express the impact that this drama has on you. I watched the whole 8 episodes almost back-to-back.

Everybody would acknowledge that Matthew McConaughey has come a long way in his career in the last few years; but this performance is something above and beyond even Dallas Buyers Club. But for me the revelation was Woody Harrelson. Always somewhat overlooked, and never really given the chance to flex his acting muscles, he shows just what he can do. The chemistry and interplay between the two of them is pitch-perfect, and, at times, hilarious. The script is probably the most intelligent and quotable ever put to paper. They really are two extremely flawed individuals, which nevertheless, you will end or liking in equal measure.
The cinematography is awesome, making maximum use of sweeping shots of the beautiful Louisiana countryside. Even though you get a physical sense of the vastness of the landscape, this cleverly, only increases the isolation and confinement of proceedings.

This is actually something far more than just a hunt for a serial killer drama. You are not going to watch anything, even on the big screen, that is as well written, cast, filmed and directed, than this. Watch it, you will not be disappointed. You might even start to see things differently in your own life!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2014
If you like cinematic, style television, interesting characters and gorgeous photography, watch this! Brilliant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
I had to read the 1 star reviews to see what it was that some people weren't getting. OK, it isn't Dirty Harry. If you want a very fast paced action movie then maybe this isn't it. But as a psychological 'make me think' cop thriller this has to be the best TV series of its kind ever. Original, tense, gripping supreme acting and high production values. You will know whether or not it is for you after the first episode.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
Dark dark dark! Clever compelling and with stellar performances from all. Now where did I park that lawnmower !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)