Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
25
4.8 out of 5 stars
Carter Girl
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£19.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 June 2017
soper cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2016
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
Loved all Carlenes Music nice to see her back great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
"Carter Girl," Carlene Carter's first new album in six years, is a tribute album to the legendary country Carter/Cash family, Carlene being the daughter of June Carter Cash and her first husband, honky-tonk singer Carl Smith. This makes June's third husband Johnny Cash her stepfather, while her grandmother was Maybelle Carter, from the renowned Carter Family, who played an instrumental part in the birth of country music. This album covers material from the music of three generations of the Carter family and was produced by Don Was.

On this 12 track album, Carlene revisits songs that are Carter Family classics and/or have other family ties. And it's not her doing just a blue-grass album with covers of these century-old classics. While staying true to the originals, she revamps them and makes them her own, bringing music history to life for a modern audience. The songs can be divided thematically into three sections (or generations, if you will):

Her grandmother's generation, the Carter Family, is covered in the following songs: the bluesy, stomping "Little Black Train," the hauntingly beautiful "Give Me The Roses," the more traditional "Gold Watch And Chain" and ballad "I'll Be All Smiles Tonight." There's also the fun "Blackjack David," a duet with country-legend Kris Kristofferson and the feisty "Blackie's Gunman," a duet with Elizabeth Cook, who is a honorary Carter girl and ended up singing on six of the tracks.

Her mother's generation is explored in the ensuing songs: the Carter Sisters track "Poor Old Heartsick Me," which was one of her Aunt Helen's ditties, and mother June Carter Cash's murder-suicide ballad "Tall Lover Man," a very catchy foot-tapper, while the organ-tinged pulling-on-your heartstrings "Troublesome Waters" is a stepfather Johnny Cash piece done as a duet with Willie Nelson.

Her own generation is included on this album by one original and one semi-original track: The evocative "Me And The Wildwood Rose" was first recorded in 1990 for Carlene's album "I Fell In Love," but appears here re-recorded in a more sedate acoustic version, and recalls the life of the Carter family at home when Maybelle was still alive. And there's another old Carter Family piece, but with added personal verses: "Lonesome Valley 2003," on which Vince Gill can be heard harmonizing, and in which she sings about the deaths of stepfather Johnny "The Man In Black" Cash and mother June Carter Cash.

All family connections come together in the boisterous album closer "I Ain't Gonna Work Tomorrow," another Carter Family classic, but amazingly, done with backing-vocals by Anita Carter, Helen Carter, June Carter Cash and Johnny Cash. For this, Carlene used the masters of recordings they made together around '86 and '87, so that's why there are the posthumous voices of John, her mom and Helen and Anita on this track, as is the guitar of the late "Cowboy" Jack Clement.

With the very personal "Carter Girl," Carlene Carter has proven how powerful a tribute album can be when done right. "Give me the roses while I live . . . Don't wait till death to speak kind words," Carlene sings on "Give Me The Roses." As a young child, she was charged to always carry on the legacy of the Carter Family music and keep it alive. Well, I know no kinder words or higher praise than to finish by saying that this Carter girl has done full justice to her family's history. Recommended!
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 7 April 2014
Every song on this evocative album bears the imprimatur of the first family of country music, The Carter Family. Eight of the twelve songs were written by Carlene's grandfather, Alvin Pleasant Carter, and after at least 75 years his words and music have not been diminished by the march of time.

You can sense a special resonance as Carlene spans the generations with her peerless interpretations of AP classics such as "Give Me The Roses", "I'll Be All Smiles Tonight" and "Gold Watch And Chain".

"Troublesome Water" leads off with the unmistakeable voice of Willie Nelson in a dramatic duet and she is joined by another elder statesman of country music, Kris Kristofferson, on a fine reading of the traditional "Black Jack David". There is a poignant performance of "Lonesome Valley" with Vince Gill harmonising, that has been adapted by Carlene to include lyrics relating to the deaths of her mother, June, and her stepfather, Johnny Cash.

These may be songs mostly dating from the earlier years of the last century but with producer Don Was at the helm, and featuring session superstars Greg Leisz and Jim Keltner, they have been invested with a sound that is both fresh and vital. Indeed, Carlene's take on her mother's "Tall Lover Man" is a triumph.

The album is a fine tribute to the legacy of the Carter Family and, for Carlene, an album that ranks with "Little Love Letters" her 1993 classic.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
very traditional old timey songs given new life with modern production by a singer whose inheritance they were. A standout album in an age of dross.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
No doubt that Carlene is a Carter Girl, the first few notes will tell you. I don't think this is one of her better albums, with a little duplication, but it is fantastic to hear from her after so long, hence the 5. I had the pleasure of seeing her perform live a few years ago, and that was an experience. For anyone new to Carlene's music, may I recommend 'I fell in love', my favourite album of hers by some way. Great to have you back, Carlene.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
I bought this CD on the strength of a magazine review and the guest appearances of artists I know and love.( Elizabeth Cook, Willie Nelson, Vince Gill, Kris Kristopherson and various Carter / Cash family members. I am pleased that I did, It's a terrific CD and Carlene is now on my list of favourites too.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
A wonderful collection of songs with many brilliant musicians, but sadly let down by some appalling recording quality. The distortion on Blackie's Gunman for instance is really bad and is clearly audible in the car let alone on a decent hifi system.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
A bit dissapointed with song content. Some of the songs were a bit over the top in the music side. A bit too blue grass for my liking.
Some of the songs were nice though
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

I Fell In Love
£6.53
Cest C Bon
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)