Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
31
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2017
This opening volume introduces us to Titus Pullus who, as an old man and retired from a glittering career in the army, recollects on his life and that of his boyhood friend Vibius who go off to join the Legion. They pass through a brutal "basic training" and go off to war. The writer makes the reader feel close to the boys as they experience the hardships and brutal experiences of army life; you are a fly on the wall joining in the rough humour, arguments and successes of their lives. Brilliantly written and looking forward as ever to the next volume
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
A tremendous read. Previously read the Conn Iggulden Emperor series and this series is certainly on a par if not better! Now on third sequential book of Marching with Caesar and overall these are five star reads. If you enjoy historical fiction then go no further
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
I nearly didn't buy this as it covers a lot of ground that appeared in the 1st book, even to the extent that a lot of the text is the same, but I still really enjoyed it. This is how I imagine the author would have possibly liked to have started the series as it expands on Titus' childhood and formative years. If you have read the rest then this is a must. Bravo Mr R.W., Bravo.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2015
Having read a few American authors of Roman historical fiction and being totally underwhelmed by their style of writing, I was pleasantly surprised by this author. A most excellent engrossing read which to me puts him up there with the likes is Sidebottom, Scarrow and Turney. I am now on the second novel in Gaul. Thank you Mr Peake.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
Only wished i had started reading the series at this point,right from the beginning.Childhood dream,apprentice legionary & then living the nightmare of battle!
What more could a story tell of one mans life with his friends & the people he met along the way.Enjoyed the series tremendously
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
I like the whole concept of early roman life in the army as told through the eyes of a soldier. The nuances come across so well and give a whole dimension to the story that brings it to life with more colour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
Excellent book - well written and being a Roman Army fan it fulfilled my expectations. It had the facts plus a story and I didn't want to put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Being an ex soldier this strikes a cord with me, training etc ifiend this a very good book to read, looking forward to reading his following books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
So full of life in minute detail of what life in the legions could have been ,the battles so vividly described ,can't wait to read the rest .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
Great to read about the young Titus Pullus and his teenage escapades. Adds to the whole Marching with Caesar experience brilliantly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse